• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LHL Baby Bonus Killing Singaporeans

Loofydralb

Isn't it such wonderful news that we have a caring govt willing to fork out money to citizens to have babies?

Isn't it nice to know that our world class society is so caring, that time a way from work is more impt than work itself?

Where else in Asia does the govt extend itself backwards to accomodate these issues? No wonder every Ah Kow, Pandian and Joe is clamouring to get in?

Well, look again people. Now lets just put ourselves in the shoes of an employer. What will you do in light of the new legislation?

For me, simply, I will stop hiring women workers. Period. Why go through the hassle? Why disrupt your operations? Why demoralise other workers when you load them with maternity leavers' work?

Just as NS has discriminated Singaporean men by first making them look less attractive as employees and second, getting not recognised for the contribution to the company when they go for reserve service.

So what will the gross effect of Singapore families soon?

Basically they will be poorer, angrier, stressful and resentful for taking the wrong course of having more babies.

LHL, thank you for downgrading the lives of our citizens.:mad:

It won't workout, would it? A sly attempt to justify more imports of FTs perhaps?

Its a sad but unacknowledged fact that the previous carrots did not tempt the citizens to bite at all!!! What makes them think that these further measures will work? I say it won't.

Don't these Pap clowns realise that? Are we just throwing good money after bad? People want babies because it is one of life's most important decisions. Money is next to nothing when its time to consider this. Wheter or not there are carrots, people will have babies regardless.

For those who have babies because of these perks, are the wrong people, in the first place, that we target! They are in it for the money, not for the enjoyable experience. These are the same people too that will abandon (maybe a little too harse a word here, but my vocab not so good) the baby when the money and the honey runs out. Then its back to the state to care for these people?

The cream of idiocy is the carrot of IVF. WTF? Evolution/nature does not want you to have a baby. There is something wrong with you,so why force a pregnancy?

There are too many negatives and the effort of increasing the birth rates has been so far focused on the wrong solution.

If these are the solutions that bright young scholars can think of, then I say throw them out or tell them to come back when they are at fifty with a few grown up children, then they they know what are the problems families face. LHL, hear that?

Isn't it such wonderful news that we have a caring govt willing to fork out money to citizens to have babies?

Isn't it nice to know that our world class society is so caring, that time a way from work is more impt than work itself?

Where else in Asia does the govt extend itself backwards to accomodate these issues? No wonder every Ah Kow, Pandian and Joe is clamouring to get in?

Well, look again people. Now lets just put ourselves in the shoes of an employer. What will you do in light of the new legislation?

For me, simply, I will stop hiring women workers. Period. Why go through the hassle? Why disrupt your operations? Why demoralise other workers when you load them with maternity leavers' work?

Just as NS has discriminated Singaporean men by first making them look less attractive as employees and second, getting not recognised for the contribution to the company when they go for reserve service.

So what will the gross effect of Singapore families soon?

Basically they will be poorer, angrier, stressful and resentful for taking the wrong course of having more babies.

LHL, thank you for downgrading the lives of our citizens.:mad:

I love it we are on our way to the likes of Japan and Taiwan ! Men will be put on the frontline ! Chauvinistic at best !

Sorry hor. As I mentioned, Singaporean men are already NOT wanted.

FT will have a field time snatching our jobs away.

----------------------------

This new Baby Bonus is but a half-hearted attempt to pacify parents’ anger against the government for the rising costs. It is nothing but a cheapskate shot to score some political points with minimal costs. Most Singapore employers are stingy and pragmatic. The easiest and obvious solution would be to hire cheaper FTs to replace all the women staff.

Thank you PAP for more good years!! Keep these excellent policies coming so that your downfall can be accelerated. Singaporeans can take more pain than that.

----------------------------

This new Baby Bonus is but a half-hearted attempt to pacify parents’ anger against the government for the rising costs. It is nothing but a cheapskate shot to score some political points with minimal costs. Most Singapore employers are stingy and pragmatic. The easiest and obvious solution would be to hire cheaper FTs to replace all the women staff.

Thank you PAP for more good years!! Keep these excellent policies coming so that your downfall can be accelerated. Singaporeans can take more pain than that.
What the use of giving more maternity leave ? I really don understand. 3 months is good enough. If they really want, just foot the wage bill of the female staff during their absence and the cost of hiring temp staff to the company.

Thi is really going to kill the local female work force.

Financial incentives are important as they go some way to reduce the cost of raising a child. Its success will depend to some extent on whether couples can earn enough to enjoy the full tax deductions and rebates.

Removing obstacles to child bearing will certainly help to boost the birth rate.

Sorry to burst your bubble but the previous measures did not work. What makes you think throwing more money will?

What the govt is currently doing is to skew the economy in a way you put in false obstacle and subsidies that will distort the natural workings of an economy. In the short term you have KPIs that you selectively and wrongly apply to show these measures work. But in the long run it truly hurts the economy as when these policies are no longer working/feasible, its almost impossible to remove and our next generations pays for the mistakes. Too many wrong policies exists which have not been put right due to weak political backbone.

With these latest measures bottom lines gets squeezed, incomes drop, child-bearing women excluded from job market, companies closing/moving out. What we will have left are low grade entrepreneurs as the higher quality ones depart. Then it will start another cycle of lower birth rates. The vicious cycle then continues.

But all is not lost. There are solution out there. They only have to get the right people to formulate it. Young, life-inexperienced scholars just don't cut it.

becuz he is up there, talks simply too easy for him.
sumtime also have to be worried of wat is his ulterior motive.

nw economy is slowing and you talking abt longer maternity leaves?
then the co's productivity how?

letz say really kana retrenched/ask to leave from the co, garmen will compensate the women meh?

wat he says, listen tio ho.

maybe he is trying to prepare peasants for being allowed to stay home longer......I mean recession already is in...more to be retrenched...just giving the excuse to have more time at home to do the vigorous activities...

if make more babies...more time to spend at home...no need to work lor...gahmen save in long run

I was disappointed that LHL dis not address the fact that there are abuses by employers recently highlighted by ST. These loopholes must be shut off permanently, otherwise the whole scheme falls flat.

One of the loop hole is that they are able to terminate staff who are pregnant without any reason at all. Even though the law states that unfair dismissal is illegal, but who is to enforce this? How is this going to be proven? MOM has so far not been able to prosecute ofending employers.

Lower income will in effect be the loser as they are the ones easily replaceble.

LHL you just screwed us again.

i think s'poreans tulan PAP... thats why purposely dun give birth to spite them..:D

One of the loop hole is that they are able to terminate staff who are pregnant without any reason at all. Even though the law states that unfair dismissal is illegal, but who is to enforce this? How is this going to be proven? MOM has so far not been able to prosecute ofending employers.

Employers can just serve notice period to terminate the service of employees in accordance to the employment contracts signed with the employees.

The only safeguard now is this termination if executed within the last 6 months of the pregnancy of the employees, the employers still need to pay for the maternity benefits.

Dismissal, on the other hand, requires valid reasons. Employers need to hold inquiry and give the employees concerned a chance to defend themselves.

So if it is termination of contract not within the last 6 months of the pregnancy of the employees, there is nothing MOM can do.