• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lemon Limp to Use GPS to Track Your Car

Jun 30, 2010

2nd generation ERP system

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
ST_16123656.jpg
The Land Transport Authority (LTA) will soon call for tender to invite industry players to submit technical proposals for a second generation Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system. --ST PHOTO: JOYCE FANG

<!-- story content : start -->
THE Land Transport Authority (LTA) will soon call for tender to invite industry players to submit technical proposals for a second generation Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system, Transport Minister Raymond Lim said on Wednesday.
He said LTA has been studying various technology applications and has identified a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) as one of these which makes use of satellites to determine the position of a vehicle.
Announcing this in his keynote address to the World Urban Transport Leaders Summit 2010 on Wednesday morning, Mr Lim, who is also the Second Foreign minister, said: 'The LTA will be conducting various technical tests to evaluate if the latest technologies available in the market today are accurate and effective enough for use as a congestion charging tool, especially taking into consideration the dense urban environment in Singapore.
'We expect the development and testing of new ERP technologies that are suitable for Singapore's conditions to take some years, before it is ready to be launched and implemented.'
Mr Lim said since the ERP system was implemented in 1998, it has been functioning on a gantry-based system, which charges motorists as they pass under these gantries when they are in operation.
'This system has served us well. However, as the number of vehicles on our roads increases over the longer term, congestion will become more extensive. It may become impractical to continue installing ever more physical gantries to manage congestion.
'We will therefore have to explore other solutions that would enable a more effective approach to implement congestion pricing which will help reduce the dependence on physical gantries.'
In his speech, the minister added that the government is also looking into the development and use of green technologies in Singapore, and is test-bedding clean technologies in the transport sector.
Examples include energy efficient lighting for traffic and street lights, recycled materials for road pavement construction, and construction methods that minimise the impact on the environment.

These FAPee TRAITORS are always thinking of ways to milk Sporns instead of spending time of solving real problems. Are Sporns united enough to see them out of power in the cumming GE?

HAHA

now they are going to charge drivers per KM driven!

good luck Sinkies

The only question is, what took them so long to realise that gantries are not the way to go. No more COEs after this is implemented.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) will soon call for tender to invite industry players to submit technical proposals for a second generation Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system. --ST PHOTO: JOYCE FANG

Pay as you go, nice, using a car is like using a mobile phone now. By the minute, KM, off-peak, peak.

These FAPee TRAITORS are always thinking of ways to milk Sporns instead of spending time of solving real problems. Are Sporns united enough to see them out of power in the cumming GE?

the real problem, sinkies earn too much money, lower their pay, increase price of car.
problem solved

Then what different from take taxi ?

Probably the same. Probably worse.

You will also be charged when your car is stationary, like taxi. Charge even more if it is stationary in an expensive zone, like CBD.

There is no escape.

Instead of using their brains and technology to earn revenue for the country they use it to tax citizens.
For that we vote them in and pay them millions.
How stupid can Sinkies go.

Well done PAP! Another first in the world! Even Kim didn't think of this in N Korea! Keep it up and we will continue to Pay and Pay. Three cheers for PAP! Might as well make it mandatory to submit our monthly pay checks to you! Increase utilities, screw ups and import FT to ensure low salary, Increase price of HDB, ensure inflation. Don't worry, you will still win the election because we can only bark and we can't bite!

The only question is, what took them so long to realise that gantries are not the way to go. No more COEs after this is implemented.

I rather keep the gantries.

With GPS tracking, now you can be billed for anything and I dun think that would be a good idea.

Really, might as well dont have car as its not the billing that worries me, but someone is now really tracking my movement.

I dun like it.

I rather keep the gantries.

With GPS tracking, now you can be billed for anything and I dun think that would be a good idea.

Really, might as well dont have car as its not the billing that worries me, but someone is now really tracking my movement.

I dun like it.
You scared your wife track your movements isit? :)

Motoring @ AsiaOne

Next: ERP in the sky

Satellite system could replace gantries. -myp
Thu, Jul 01, 2010
my paper

By Pamela Chow

ELECTRONIC Road Pricing (ERP) gantries - the steel gates that levy tolls on motorists using crowded roads - may become history.

In the near future, ERP fees may be charged using a satellite system, called the global navigation satellite system.

This system uses orbiting satellites to track moving vehicles, the technology behind the global positioning system.

It is already being used to collect road tolls in other countries, such as in Germany, where the toll for trucks using expressways is based on distance travelled.

Transport Minister Raymond Lim said yesterday that Singapore is looking at switching to such a system, because traffic congestion is expected to become more widespread in future, making it impractical to install more ERP gantries.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) also said that making the switch would save funds which would otherwise have been spent on constructing gantries, which cost about $1.5 million each to build.

Singapore has 66 operating gantries. Another 14 along the Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway are not in use yet.

The LTA will soon call a tender for technical proposals from industry players, and will conduct various technical tests to evaluate if the latest technologies are suitable for use here, Mr Lim said.

Such trials include simulations of vehicle formations - such as heavy vehicles alongside motorcycles, or cars under various weather conditions - and high-speed tests, on routes that include expressways and underground tunnels.

Mr Lim added that he expected the development and testing of the technologies to take some years before a new system could be launched.

He was speaking at the opening of the two-day World Urban Transport Leaders Summit yesterday, where more than 300 delegates from over 25 countries gathered to discuss ideas and ways of transforming urban transport.

One of the speakers, Professor Anthony May, an emeritus professor of transport engineering at Britain's University of Leeds, suggested that drivers can be charged based on the distance they roam within a congestion hot spot, instead of being charged a flat fee upon entry.

This method of charging makes it fairer for drivers as they pay for their mileage, he said.

For road users such as management assistant Firdaus Ramli, 24, their topmost concern is whether more ERP points will pop up, with the implementation of the new system.

He said: "For people like me who don't travel to the city much for work, it's an inconvenience if ERP points appear along more roads.

"I'd have to fork out an extra dollar or two, even though I work in the heartlands."

[email protected]

For more my paper stories click here.

Copyright ©2010 Singapore Press Holdings Ltd. Co. Regn. No. 198402868E. All rights reserved.
Privacy Statement Conditions of Access Advertise

ditto that and who benefited from the cascard/ERP tender??? :eek::eek::eek: