• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Hsien Loong VERY IMPRESSIVE!

Singaporeans are very lucky to have such an impressive PM!

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/politics/news/article.cfm?c_id=280&objectid=10544853

ON SPEAKING STYLES
"It tended to be us, the Australians, the Canadians, George Bush, we all spoke without notes and tended to talk about a couple of issues we wanted. Others were more prepared in their notes. Lee Hsien Loong from Singapore was very impressive, very impressive. In the end everyone has their own style and I have my own style and I think its best to let that reflect your personality."
...John Key - NZ PM.

LoveSingFade

Most people have the thought: "The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence"

But this is not always true, even when a angmo repeatedly say: "very impressive, very impressive" , it is time to give our leader some credit.

Whether you hate or love PAP, but we give credit when it is due, anyway, though I dislike some of his ministers, but overall PM Lee is a good man, I believe so, even if forumers here does not agree.:smile:

Dan Now

When someone over emphasize a compliment its usually a polite sarcastic remark.

And taken in cotext of the paragraph, John Key is in fact mocking Ah Loong la.

Wah piang eh.

Dan

Whether you hate or love PAP, but we give credit when it is due, anyway, though I dislike some of his ministers, but overall PM Lee is a good man, I believe so, even if forumers here does not agree.:smile:

I have met PM Lee before when he was a BG, and I have talked to him before. He may be a nice person and he may be down to earth. But that does not mean he is an effective leader and any kind of a good PM. Speeches are written by speech writers for the PM to utter at this meetings, and just because he was well prepared with his notes means nothing. He is paid millions of dollars, he goddamn well should be impressive. The proof of ability is in the way he handles the current economic situation and that has been abysmal. If he had fired his own wife after she lost all those money at temasek, that would have been impressive.

Dan Now

I have met PM Lee before when he was a BG, and I have talked to him before. He may be a nice person and he may be down to earth. But that does not mean he is an effective leader and any kind of a good PM. Speeches are written by speech writers for the PM to utter at this meetings, and just because he was well prepared with his notes means nothing. He is paid millions of dollars, he goddamn well should be impressive. The proof of ability is in the way he handles the current economic situation and that has been abysmal. If he had fired his own wife after she lost all those money at temasek, that would have been impressive.

After Mas Selamat escape, he went into hiding for over 2 weeks with no official statements leaving his croon kings Wong Can't Sing to cover his behind.

When he appeared, all he can say is "What to do ? It has happen."

Else, on many occasions, daddy come to his rescue and I wonder at his age, why does he still need a mentor.

But I have to agree, he is impessive. We are the only country in the world, to be able to put an entire family at the top of our government and government related companies. Wonderful achievement indeed.

Dan

After Mas Selamat escape, he went into hiding for over 2 weeks with no official statements leaving his croon kings Wong Can't Sing to cover his behind.

Else, on many occasions, daddy come to his rescue and I wonder at his age, why does he still need a mentor.

Dan

He is a sinkie. what do you expect.

DrPanacea

A speech is just empty talk if the promises are not carried out. It would be at best equivalent to a fart in public if one doesn't walk the talk as is usually the case with politicians.

theblackhole

even the best speakers in the world ( including obama in his victory speech) come prepared with notes and written speeches by professionals.

i think we should not be so petty.please give credit where it is due. i think pm lhl did us proud at the meeting.majulah singapura!!!

theblackhole

if angmoh wants to be sarcastic let them be. why should we bother at all?

they're professional con men all the way - a big smile with a brute heart and evil intent.

etherc

He's our Omni talent, he has to be impressive. In war he can lead our troops to victory, in times of peace he administrates and in times of economic woes his wife takes a pay cut. He can do no wrong!:biggrin:

But I have to agree, he is impessive. We are the only country in the world, to be able to put an entire family at the top of our government and government related companies. Wonderful achievement indeed.

Dan

I think he is impressive because he produced an albino child. That is no mean feat. he is also impressive because he can sleep with and procreate with a wife that looks like a cross between a horse's face and a donkey's arse. He is also impressive because he slapped dhanabalan. A real man would have punch him in the face, than punch him in the stomach, than kick him in the balls while he was lying on the ground.

newyorker88

When you meet him as A BG? Hahaha, let me relate you a story I heard from my collegue in NS times.

That was when he just got promoted to a BG. There was a dinner or something, a cook carrying the food in and so happen to see BG LEE. The cook while holding food should not salute, but being new, dono, just salute. Lee Charge him 40 days DB, just for that.

Case 2. The slapping incident, Dharnabalam, when Lee flipped Richard Hu office looking for something. Tony Tan was around too, Dhana quarreled and kena slap. Richard, tony and Dhana wanted to resign. LKY came in, gave BG LEE a good scolding. Lee Jr. Got home kena a more harsh one from his mother.

So you say he is nice?

LoveSingFade

When you meet him as A BG? Hahaha, let me relate you a story I heard from my collegue in NS times.

That was when he just got promoted to a BG. There was a dinner or something, a cook carrying the food in and so happen to see BG LEE. The cook while holding food should not salute, but being new, dono, just salute. Lee Charge him 40 days DB, just for that.

Case 2. The slapping incident, Dharnabalam, when Lee flipped Richard Hu office looking for something. Tony Tan was around too, Dhana quarreled and kena slap. Richard, tony and Dhana wanted to resign. LKY came in, gave BG LEE a good scolding. Lee Jr. Got home kena a more harsh one from his mother.

So you say he is nice?

How true are these stories? You never have a single doubt before??

The_Latest_H

1. LHL's stage management by the PAP means that he's not impressive.

2. Sam is trying to play Devil's Advocate again. He has shown a few times on his views about the PAP overall here.

3. LHL's rumoured bad temper is legend within private circles and in the internet. This means that his temper can become a liability if it becomes public after his ah-pa is gone.

4. Compared to his overseas counterpart, LHL remains but an extremely poor shadow. The foreigners have not seen his private side yet.