• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'Leave election to another time'

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,195424,00.html?

Q: IS IT A GOOD TIME TO HOLD GENERAL ELECTION NOW?
'Leave election to another time'
The New Paper poll of 200 S'poreans aged 21 and above
By Lediati Tan

March 12, 2009

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_LTPOLL.jpg

TNP INFOGRAPHICS: JONATHAN ROBERTS

FOCUS on the economy.

Now is not the time for politics.

These are the views of an overwhelming number of Singaporeans polled by The New Paper.

With all the talk of the possibility of snap elections, the street poll of the 200, all aged 21 and above, showed that nearly three-quarters were not in favour of a General Election (GE) this year.

The reason: They want all heads focused on getting Singapore out of the downturn.

The sentiments reflect what most observers and politicians have said in the last few weeks: That a snap poll would distract the Government from focusing on the economy.

The next GE is due in February 2012.

But talk of an upcoming election arose when the Elections Department moved to update electoral registers and alter the boundaries of polling districts.

The Elections Department was quick to add that both moves were routine exercises.

But that did not stop speculation that polls could be round the corner.

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew also said last week that he saw 'no purpose' in holding polls before 2011, though he stressed it was up to Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong to decide when an election will be held.

In The New Paper poll, Singaporeans appeared to agree.

Undergraduate Lee Ting Jun, 24, said: 'The economy is very unstable now. A GE could possibly destabilise it further.'

The second most common reason given by those not favouring a GE now is that it would be a waste of money to hold elections during such times.

The money should be used on more urgent needs such as measures to save jobs.

Others thought the Government is currently doing a fine job - and holding polls now might jeopardise that.

Marketing executive Peggy Hong, 48, said: 'Citizens face pressing problems of job security, rising cost of living and bread-and-butter issues now.

'The People's Action Party (PAP) is already in power. (They) should take (the) opportunity to ride through the crisis together with the people of Singapore.'

Still, some want a snap poll. Why?

An election might spur those trying to win voters' hearts to work harder at solving the economic problems, they say.

Some even suggested that a new government may be more capable of leading Singapore through the recession.

Mr Matthew Koh, 37, a cook, was one of the minority who supported the idea of having an election this year.

'It's good to find out the (sentiments) of the people now towards the economic situation.'

Upset

As for the majority who thought now is not a good time for an election, we asked: When would it be a good time?

Most - 64 per cent- said only when the economy recovers.

Said student Kenneth Leong, 21: 'The election should be held when the economy recovers because having a GE now will upset the whole government.

'At this point, the Government is the only thing that can and is supporting the economy.'

A fifth wanted a GE to be held only when it is due in February 2012.

Said Mr Abd Hamid Hadzir, 28, an environmental health officer: 'A good time will be in 2012. So far, the PAP is doing well. They have handled a couple of recessions very well.'

Fourteen per cent said that if there should be any polls, it should be held at least a year from now.

Among them is logistics coordinator Jason Khoh, 28, who said: 'We should wait for things to settle down.

'Now, we're quite caught up with the downturn.'

Additional reporting by Joanna Hor, Geraldine Yeo, Michelle Tay, Julian Lee, Bernice Huang, Pearly Tan, Darren Foong, Han Su-Ying, Audrey Tan

commoner

either the interview is very biased or something,,,,

these people actually read newspaper, sammyboy or not? they expect the economy to recover? PAP is a good government? they realised the more than $100bil loss by GIC/temasick or not?

The government doing a good job? wait till your loved ones kena retrenched and with 3-6 months buffer savings,,,,,

GE will destabilise the economy? wow,, like that,,, they probably thinks that PAP has a good chance of losing votes if held now,,, and I hope they will lose more if the GE is held later,,,,

Vote WKS out

The_Latest_H

SPH is just applying the blindfolds- like just what they usually do as 'reporters'. Nothing in this poll results suggest anything that is surprising.

I mean, its pretty obvious to most government insiders that having a poll in a recession year is bad for them politically. What other reason they stated here are simply false really; much like propaganda nonsense.

After all, the recession happened under their watch, and unlike the recessions in 1997-98 and 2001-2002, this recession isn't gonna be any easy recovery. For one, we cannot export our way out of trouble. The other two was relatively easy because Singapore exported its way out of trouble quickly, and slashed corporate, income and estate taxes for foreign companies investing here, many which were western or chinese, or Indian. Over consumption in the West is what cause the export boom(and quick recoveries in the past 2 recessions), and which is also the one that cause the crash now.

funglung

either the interview is very biased or something,,,,

these people actually read newspaper, sammyboy or not? they expect the economy to recover? PAP is a good government? they realised the more than $100bil loss by GIC/temasick or not?

The government doing a good job? wait till your loved ones kena retrenched and with 3-6 months buffer savings,,,,,

GE will destabilise the economy? wow,, like that,,, they probably thinks that PAP has a good chance of losing votes if held now,,, and I hope they will lose more if the GE is held later,,,,

Vote WKS out

Come on!

VOTE ALL AND EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS IN WHITE OUT

IF THEY ARE NOT ACTIVELY RAPING AND FUCKING ALL OF US, THEY ARE HOLDING US DOWN FOR LEE KUAN YEW TO RAPE US

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TIME
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.
THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

LKY AND PAP HAVE BEEN USING THEIR KANGAROO COURTS TO TRY TO BANKRUPT THEM TO SILENCE THEM.

IF YOU DO NOT STAND WITH THEM AND STAND BY THEM, CAN YOU STAND ALONE AGAINST LKY?

SINGAPOREANS MUST UNITE AND SUPPORT ALL THE OPPOSITION PARTIES.

DO NOT JUST WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TO VOTE

VOTE OUT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Already 400-500++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC.
HOW MANY OTHER BILLIONS GOT SUCKED AND USED BY THEM IN GLC WHERE THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS AND MINISTERS AND BASTARDS IN WHITE ARE CHAIRMAN AND CEOS?

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

You will fear them only if you allow yourself to fear them.

Just because THEY want you to fear them, must you fear those fucking bastards?

THEY ONLY CAN RULE YOU , AND BLED YOU , THROUGH FEAR AND INTIMIDATION.

SINKIES,

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM.
THEY WILL THEN FEAR YOU.

AND YOU REGAIN YOUR MONEY AND YOUR FUTURE AND YOUR CHILDREN FUTURE.

DO NOT LET OUR MONEY GO TO FUND PAP DOGS FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

DO NOT DIE IN OLD FOLK HOMES IN JB.

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM

LEE KUAN YEW LOST AND LOST DUNNO HOW MANY BILLIONS IN TEMASICK AND GIC

EVEN MORE BILLIONS HE THREW AWAY TO HIS DOGS AND COCKROACHES SO THEY CAN TAKE FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

LKY NEED MORE BILLIONS FROM SINKIES WHO VOTED FOR HIM AND FROM THOSE WHO VOIDED THEIR VOTES

EVEN IF YOU VOTE AGAINST HIM, NO DIFFERENCE.

COLLECTIVE PUNISHMENT AS SINKIES DID NOT TRY HARD ENOUGH TO KICK OUT THAT VAMPIRE BASTARD LKY

SO EXPECT EVERYTHING IN SINGAPORE TO GO UP AND UP

BASTARD LKY NEED YOUR $$$$$

HE SCREW YOU AND DEMAND THAT YOU THANK HIM FOR HIS FUCKING 'SUBISIDIESD BULLSHIT' AND 'AFFORDABLE' CON-TALK.

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM

You believe the printed press here, you will believe that, there is Chang Er, and she is still waiting for her cowherd on the dark side of the moon.

Ooooh!.."Chang Er" had landed on the moon, and is looking for the rover, Neil Armstrong parked there .. (:-