• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lau Peng Becomes Pauper. WELL DONE, PAPE

Feb 4, 2010

Help hubby with job that pays enough

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->MY HUSBAND is 50 this year. We had a comfortable life until he was retrenched a few years ago. He has been trying to get a job as a driver for the past two years, but lacks the experience.
We have two teenage children and my husband's current job in the security sector does not pay enough.
My husband is willing to learn and similarly, employers must be willing to offer opportunities and reasonable salaries. My husband may be 50, but he still has a lot of good years left in him and is able to contribute to society.
Mary Wee (Mrs)

<TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: kokoobird at Thu Feb 04 10:39:32 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>my husband's current job in the security sector does not pay enough.

We must not lose sight on what the writer's indeed desire, a 'decent' pay that can support his family, 2 kids, bills, 3 meals on table, housing loans...

Our ministers and employers must understand that the 'pittance' once received working as a cleaner or security guard may not or rather will not be 'sufficient'. A 'minimal' income is necessary for a household to stay 'above water'.

I had ever overheard a conversation while waiting for my hair cut, the conversation evovled on how they can 'trick' the banks to provide business loans, and run away with it. And they said 'anyway it is worth taking the risks, nevertheless if get caught it would be just 'putting behind bars' for few years, and one can study to get a degree or master while in it.'

If you ever play Monopoly, you still realised that at times, it will be better to stay in jail rather than 'post bail'.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: iamgoondu at Thu Feb 04 10:26:18 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

>My husband may be 50, but he still has a lot of good years left in him and is able to contribute to society.

Mary should go see the Fujian man aka Wooden, who claimed "more good years", and "Helvetia standard of living", sorry!, Fujian man is with the camel lovers...sipping arabian kopi & smoking the hookah, with his 'peanuts' friend... ha ha ha :D or she hould go see, "mee siam mai hum", and ask about, the "nobody's behind..." oops!, I mean..."nobody will be left behind"...also the GST to help the poor...:D

why complain...do something about it...after all her, husband, still have "more good years"...psst the other "goodyear"..had resigned!;)

<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->MY HUSBAND is 50 this year. We had a comfortable life until he was retrenched a few years ago.

That's the problem with "a comfortable life". It breeds complacency and results in the inability to bounce back when the chips are down. :rolleyes:

Not everybody is lucky enough to find a niche market involving the sexual depravity of women and live comfortably by it. Like a sex forum.

Niche markets don't fall out of the sky. In order to "find" something, you need to conduct a thorough search and then put in a lot of hard work to make things work. Luck plays a very small part.

A good time to make contingency plans for ones future is while a "comfortable life" is being enjoyed. People should be aware that the free and easy times don't last forever. I have always advocated that everyone should plan for financial independence by age 45. A 50 year old who has not secured his future is simply asking for trouble.

More good years, Helvitia standard of living...her husband has more good years...one good year already left.. ha ha ha ha

That's the problem with "a comfortable life". It breeds complacency and results in the inability to bounce back when the chips are down. :rolleyes:

1. agreed with you.
2. many a times, sinkies do not factor contingency when the chips go down.
3. expecting everyday is some rosy moment too.
4. when hit a crisis, gets clueless and totally unprepared.
5. "comfortable life", i am wondering what she meant by that.
6. life is more than just comfort, climb up and materialistic stuffs, it is also downs and hard-knocks too.
7. sheep are still sheep, spoilt and pampered by its "master".

Dear samLeong

It's not that I disagree with your comments all the time but it is at times like this, when you make a comment that is truly unjustified.

How to bounce back when the Sinkies in those lower skilled category are being replaced by FTs?

Take it that, even I , don't pity this Mary Wee for screwing herself and her hubby for decades by not waking up and still support the PAP and have still not learnt the truth, as to why they are in such a predicament, it is really not their fault entirely, for blindly believing that their own gov will 'take care' of their basic needs.

But to say so, would not have matter much becos the damn Sinkie will still keep on voting for the PAP!

They deserved to be screwed but not by you rather by their own actions.

How to bounce back when the Sinkies in those lower skilled category are being replaced by FTs?

If her hubby had gone through the school of hard knocks instead of enjoying a "comfortable life", he wouldn't be in the shit he's in today.

People who have had to fight tooth and nail to be successful come out the other end a lot more resilient and much better prepared to conquer adversity.

I never enjoyed a "comfortable life" when I was working in Sinkieland. I always assumed that every payslip could well be my last and planned for the future accordingly.

when u make it, luck plays small part. when u fail, it is because of no luck.:D

People make their own luck. :rolleyes: I've been through a shit load of disappointments. I didn't blame bad luck. I blamed myself and moved on.

If her hubby had gone through the school of hard knocks instead of enjoying a "comfortable life", he wouldn't be in the shit he's in today.

People who have had to fight tooth and nail to be successful come out the other end a lot more resilient and much better prepared to conquer adversity.

I never enjoyed a "comfortable life" when I was working in Sinkieland. I always assumed that every payslip could well be my last and planned for the future accordingly.

Dear Samleong

The adversity you faced is not the same as what these ppl now face.

The CB kia who took over his father role, has totally no management skill, let alnoe good judgement to run a place he call his own , had flood his god damn place with FTs, when there was none or not so many in your days.

It is not that these local Sinkies 'can't pick up a shovel and dig' when they have to.

Now, it is a case where there are no longer anything for them to shovel and they can jolly well dig a hole with their bare hands, to bury themselves for good.

Serves the Sinkies right for voting the PAP in, time after time.

The adversity you faced is not the same as what these ppl now face.

The adversity I faced was a hell of a lot worse. I had to deal with racist Chinese Sinkies on a daily basis. :rolleyes:

The racism you face is nothing! Wait till you get curry-bashed, then you know what racism is.

Feb 4, 2010

Help hubby with job that pays enough

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->MY HUSBAND is 50 this year. We had a comfortable life until he was retrenched a few years ago. He has been trying to get a job as a driver for the past two years, but lacks the experience.
We have two teenage children and my husband's current job in the security sector does not pay enough.
My husband is willing to learn and similarly, employers must be willing to offer opportunities and reasonable salaries. My husband may be 50, but he still has a lot of good years left in him and is able to contribute to society.
Mary Wee (Mrs)

Reasonable salary? S$2000, S$3000, S$5000?.

With FTs coming into Singapore in droves, Mary Wee's husband don't stand a chance at all. If the husband is a Singaporean, at 50, he has served his NS and completed his reservist cycle, all for what. Protect Singapore?, protect the FTs?.

Only to find that, the country he has been serving and protect, has failed him.

Reasonable salary? S$2000, S$3000, S$5000?.

With FTs coming into Singapore in droves, Mary Wee's husband don't stand a chance at all. If the husband is a Singaporean, at 50, he has served his NS and completed his reservist cycle, all for what. Protect Singapore?, protect the FTs?.

Only to find that, the country he has been serving and protect, has failed him.
u guys would be surprised some of these FTs are actually earning quite big salaries, rented out my apartment to these FTs...some of them looks like the bangla labourers but they earn 5000 pm, i accidentally saw their employment contract....

fuck PAP to hell

u guys would be surprised some of these FTs are actually earning quite big salaries, rented out my apartment to these FTs...some of them looks like the bangla labourers but they earn 5000 pm, i accidentally saw their employment contract....

fuck PAP to hell

S$5000 per month??. I am sure, with salaries like these, Singaporeans will gladly take the job anytime, no need FTs.

Perhaps at S$5,000 is what Mary Wee mentioned about reasonable salary to enable she and her husband to raise their family and children in Singapore. Not that theS$5,000 is the threshold or minimum, but at least a minimum amount, for a decent living standard.

Is that too much to ask? if you are a Singaporean.