• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

KNNBCCB why didn't he volunteer before Gerald Ee submits his report?

rusty

By Elgin Toh

President Tony Tan Keng Yam has volunteered to take a 51 per cent pay cut.

He has accepted the proposed annual salary of $1.54 million for the President.

A statement from his office on Wednesday said he had informed the Prime Minister 'he will adopt the President's salary as recommended by the Review Committee backdated to 1 September 2011'.

His medical benefits and access to an official car, however, remain unchanged.

The move by Dr Tan is entirely voluntary because under the Constitution, the President in office must agree before Parliament can change the Civil List.

The President's salary is provided for in the Civil List, which the Constitution states 'shall not be diminished during the continuance in office of the President'.

As President Tan took office on Sept 1 last year after the presidential election in August, Parliament can amend the Civil List only with his agreement, which he has granted.

Source:http://www.straitstimes.com/The-Big-Story/The-Big-Story-1/Story/STIStory_752078.html

What you posted is correct. No committee recommendation can take anything away from the President unless he agrees. Anyway, it's clear that he's not in it for the money. He's already wealthy beyond your wildest imagination, wealthier than LKY.

Really KNNBCCB. Makes my blood boil to see dumb sinkies worship these lot like they are demigods. Tan Keng Yam could lose 41.6 billion USD in one year despite having a hand in the lucrative trade of drug trafficking. Pathetic. Fucking jiak liao bee. I'll cease to be a Sinkie in June. I sincerely wish for Sinkies to suffer under the PAP for decades to come! :mad:

Anyway, it's clear that he's not in it for the money.

can i be his God-son? i'm not in it for the money too, just put me out of the reservists cycle :o:o:o

I thought the President can only act based on the PM's advice. So how could he be volunteering any official thing as volunteering means initiating something? At most he could say the PM proposed and he accepted.

What you posted is correct. No committee recommendation can take anything away from the President unless he agrees. Anyway, it's clear that he's not in it for the money. He's already wealthy beyond your wildest imagination, wealthier than LKY.

I thought the President can only act based on the PM's advice. So how could he be volunteering any official thing as volunteering means initiating something? At most he could say the PM proposed and he accepted.

The PM can't take any power or privilege away from the President. That's in the Constitution concerning Elected Presidency.

Now you know why he must be installed as a president? Money to him is nothing but he needs to hold the key.

The key to the GIC. How much CPF were used?

Actually the one that laughed all the way to the bank for 12 years was SR Nathan. He was totally hopeless and useless president and yet escaped this salary cut and gets to keep all the millions he was paid. You can really say he got the ass luck in this world.

So much hypocrisy by the pap ministers in enriching themselves obscenely n secretly with
salary n various types of bonuses for the past decades.
If they got any sense of shame,return all the overpaid
salary to the state treasury.
These pap ministers will squeeze every drop of blood
from the people without any conscience.
The core of the pap govt was rotten n contaminated the
parts around it n will eventually lead to breakup n disunity
of Singapore down the drain.
Knnccb to the corrupt pap !!!

Actually the one that laughed all the way to the bank for 12 years was SR Nathan. He was totally hopeless and useless president and yet escaped this salary cut and gets to keep all the millions he was paid. You can really say he got the ass luck in this world.

the smart guy quit when ahead and knew the good days were over after the ge results.

So can gahment collect lesser tax from Sinkies this year...

Of course life is about $, food and enjoyment but to make use of someone's else money to gamble is questionable.
The winnings are locked and the losses are distributed by way of tightening the citizens' belts and asking them to bear with the government due to external uncertainties.

the smart guy quit when ahead and knew the good days were over after the ge results.

Yes, he and LKY walking side by side all the way to the bank laughing. He's no more a cabinet minister so he's not affected at all by the cut and get to keep his ill-gotten millions based on a method he conceived (as only a MP, the cut is negligible). Looks like these two can always get away with the evilest of things, don't forget both of them once worked for the Japanese Imperial Army betraying the thousands that were slaughtered by the Japs.

despite the 51% pay cut, its still more than his last drawn pension prior to the PE. getting that kind of salary & doing what ahmeng does best... he still is overpaid.

Yeah over paid and under cover to hold the key to GIC.

The next time you see an ah neh run rings round every coconut tree in Botanic gardens, that's the Prata man. All the wealth he's amassed, fuck can you imagine how many life times of prata he can feast on before his belly bursts?

can i be his God-son? i'm not in it for the money too, just put me out of the reservists cycle :o:o:o

u should pick pinkie loong. at least he is still much younger and won't be in hte coffin so fast unless something unfortunate happen