• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Khaw: Transport fares will go up to improve service

bobby

crowd1.jpg

As public transport service standards improve in the coming years, commuters can expect fares to rise as well.

This is because the improvements come at a price as the Government invests more in buses and trains, said Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan.

During the debate of his ministry's budget in Parliament yesterday, Mr Khaw said that improvements to public transport services had pushed up operating costs by about 60 per cent over the past five years.

"This huge cost increase has been borne by the Government. Namely, taxpayers. Against such rising cost, fares have gone down by 2 per cent over the same period," he said.

While underscoring that transport fares must remain affordable, Mr Khaw cautioned against pricing it too cheaply as maintaining Singapore's top-notch transport system requires resources.

He agreed with Miss Cheng Li Hui (Tampines GRC) that the current fare formula was inadequate, and there had been an alarming spike in public transport subsidies.

Mr Khaw, who is also the Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure, said: "Cheap fares are popular, but they are not sustainable."

Over the next five years, Mr Khaw said the Government will spend about $5 billion on public bus services subsidies and $4 billion to renew rail operating assets.

Another $20 billion will be invested in infrastructure to further expand the public transport network, he added.

Mr Khaw said: "The Government will continue to subsidise public transport to keep fares affordable. However, every dollar spent on transport is a dollar less for other expenditure like schools, healthcare and security."

The Public Transport Council is currently reviewing the fare formula.

Commuters must expect more early closures and late openings (ECLO) of train stations on the North-South and East-West lines (NSEWL). These will continue beyond June, said Mr Khaw.

Last December, service hours on these lines were shortened to allow for maintenance and repair works.

The Land Transport Authority and SMRT said yesterday that this move had sped up the installation and testing of the new signalling system along the East-West Line by six months. But more time was needed to rejuvenate the NSEWL lines' critical rail systems.

Responding to Mr Melvin Yong's (Tanjong Pagar GRC) question regarding this issue, Mr Khaw said: "ECLO will continue, especially for old lines where we have to juggle limited engineering time between maintenance and the renewal of ageing systems."

Pay more, more cock up.
So increase price again means increase cock up?:D
Why dont you improve first?
Parent love to say to a kid, prove your result before we buy your toy.

If the constant breakdown and the need to "improve" is due to its over capacity..then the gahmen should look at how many of the actual 3.5m Singaporeans are the root cause or is it due to the over usage by non citizens?

Same principle applies to the airport....the need to "improve" and build bigger and paying for it, is the result of the constant usage by 90% of non Singaporean travelers.

Same principle again applies to COE...bidding should only applicable to Singaporeans.

chao cheebye, poor service no refund?
Fuck Penang Khaw and his mother's smelly cunt.

my uncle say to cow..hehehehe. you are the best talk cock king.

What about implementing a claw back clause against the Saw witch who caused the problem n executing her for treason for destroying infrastructure?

We pay u millions in salary does the service and logistic provided by your gahmen has improved??? No! it's all down the drain!! Dare to increase fare??
and promised of better service ??Please lah!! we pay you million this is what peasants get???

Right they say...wrong they also say.

To improve train services. This was uttered 20 years ago and what has improved?

current fare formula was inadequate, and there had been an alarming spike in public transport subsidies.
Should I be anticipating such statement as a standard phrase when they want to raise prices of water, education, housing, and even airport levy?

Don't worry folks...based on Cow's logic, if and when the service improves and breakdown becomes less, the fares will come down.

According to PAP 101 logic, you pay more for the best, best clowns in parliament, best breakdowns in train service, best 'palm greasing' in Keppel Case & so forth. That is the logic, not to mention, best paid volunteers, who does not improve anything but come to the best logic of increase fares to improve.

In other words, you are the users, the commuters, the voters...you get f#$%^d...that's about it.

my uncle say to cow..hehehehe. you are the best talk cock king.

Tis JiuHuKia only dare milk money from Sinkies. Tats why he cabut to Sinkieland. Try tcss like tat in Msia lah. See wat he get from the rakyat.