• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Khaw Boon Wan: Even without the casinos, people are going gambling anyway

iamtalkinglah

Written by Our Correspondent

With the Resort World Sentosa casino set to open next Saturday, some Singaporeans are worried if it would lead to a rise in the number of gambling addiction problems.

According to Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan, it is “hard to say” because Singaporeans are going to gamble anyway without the casinos:

“Whether with the opening (of the casino) there will be more gambling addiction problems is hard to say, because even without the casinos, people are going gambling anyway. Genting Highlands is not far away. So it is still ourselves, looking at a practical way to make an honest living, and do not try to think that you can beat the odds against the casino operator,” he was quoted as saying in Channel News Asia.

Mr Khaw, who was visiting rental flats in Sembawang GRC, sent a reminder to Singaporeans that gambling is not a way to make a living:

”…if you think that through gambling you can make a living, make a killing or beat the odds, do not do that. Whether there will be more problems, whether there is a casino or no casino, people still want to gamble, and people will still want to get into trouble.”

The two integrated resorts with casinos are part of the government’s plan to diversify Singapore’s economy and to attract more visitors to Singapore.

During the parliament session on 18 April 2005, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced the Cabinet’s decision to allow the development of integrated resorts (IRs) with casinos in Singapore.

The decision to allow casinos to be built in Singapore was made hastily without much of a consultation with the people. In Taiwan’s Penghu County, a referendum was held for the people to decide if they want a casino to be build there which was rejected in October last year.

The National Council on Problem Gambling (NCPG) was appointed by the government in August 2005 as part of Singapore’s national framework to address the issue of problem gambling. Its functions include raising public awareness of problem gambling. It also has the authority to bar certain people from the upcoming casinos under the Casino Control Act.

Though a hefty $100 entry fee imposed on Singaporeans is likely to discourage those from a certain “economic class” from entering the casinos, it is unlikely to deter chronic gamblers from doing so.

Mr Khaw appeared to have placed the onus on Singaporeans to exert “self-restraint” themselves in anticipation of possible social ills arising in the future with the opening of the two IRs.

In the event that there is a rise in the number of chronic gambling addicts, Singaporeans can be expected to be blamed again for not wanting to find practical ways to make a “honest living”.
Last time when Sushi is only available in Japan, do you think you eat more Sushi now or last time?

Without MDA blocking porn sites, people are going to watch porn online anyway.

:eek: :o :eek:

Without MDA blocking porn sites, people are going to watch porn online anyway.

:eek: :o :eek:

People are also going to GEYLANG not just for the food there. Funny why KHAW's logic does not permit legalising brothels and collecting income tax/GST revenues from the PIMPING business.

I know a relative who works for the "U"supermarket, was introduced to the 'entertainment' by the "U" club...became addicted to 'one arm bandit', lost S$10,000 of her savings, playing that, & soon went on board ship to gamble.....

Isn't "U" encouraging gambling too?...;) or the endless "Q" who want to make it big, by 'donating' to SINkingpools...??:o

You do not need the caSINoeS...Cow is right!:rolleyes:

Yes, people are going to gamble anyway, and an alcoholic is going to drink anyway, but do you put a bottle in front of an alcoholic?

Why keep apologising or justifying the casino??? Its so irritating! Just let it happen!! To hell with this place!

To Minister Khaw

So if people are going to gamble anyway and gambling dens are illegal because the Government can't manage and tax them, why not open mini casinos in all HDB housing estates? There will no reason for the existence of illegal gambling would it?

And why not use the government control media to continuously highlight to the masses that the odds are perpetually in favour of the house? That you will always lose in the long gambling run? That a lucky streak is just that a lucky streak, like striking the first prize in 4D?

I know a relative who works for the "U"supermarket, was introduced to the 'entertainment' by the "U" club...became addicted to 'one arm bandit', lost S$10,000 of her savings, playing that, & soon went on board ship to gamble.....

Isn't "U" encouraging gambling too?...;) or the endless "Q" who want to make it big, by 'donating' to SINkingpools...??:o

You do not need the caSINoeS...Cow is right!:rolleyes:

Give half info!

"U" Supermarket - NTUC Supermarket
"U" Club - NTUC Club
What is so worry others know?

Want to know what is the favour of the day ? Just read the States Times to see what the MIW is talking (cocks ?)

They will say anything depending on what their position at that point in time is going to be.............one day casino is good for the economy, create jobs.........next day, it is not good as it jeopardise the 'peaceful, cohesive, happy' environment.......third day, anyone is going to gamble regardless it there or not.......fourth day, I didn't saw it coming..........

Khaw is branded as a super duper ministar with buddhist calm.

Bullshit.

He was scared out of his pants during the last elections when news leaked he was supporting Means Testing for stupid local peasants.

Apparently he lied and told stupid local peasants that he will think about it.

After the elections, he implemented Means Testing within 12 full moons.

He went for an inspection tour of a Peasantpore style retirement home in JB. He liked what he saw and was dumbfolded when an idiot ask him why Peasantpore retirement homes are so expensive, he cleverly told Spore Parliament that peasants should send their parents to JB. Indeed, his parents are living like Kings and Queens in Penang.

He is certainly a vermin in disguise.

Give half info!

"U" Supermarket - NTUC Supermarket
"U" Club - NTUC Club
What is so worry others know?

I shy lah!...:D U tell them they are no good!.."U"...hmmm!, "U" tell them :D

psst no NTUC Supermarket... U behing time... it "U" Fairprice... & le "U" Club....

Khaw is branded as a super duper ministar with buddhist calm.

Bullshit.

He was scared out of his pants during the last elections when news leaked he was supporting Means Testing for stupid local peasants.

Apparently he lied and told stupid local peasants that he will think about it.

After the elections, he implemented Means Testing within 12 full moons.

He went for an inspection tour of a Peasantpore style retirement home in JB. He liked what he saw and was dumbfolded when an idiot ask him why Peasantpore retirement homes are so expensive, he cleverly told Spore Parliament that peasants should send their parents to JB. Indeed, his parents are living like Kings and Queens in Penang.

He is certainly a vermin in disguise.

A 'worm' eating vegetable....if you know worms...place them, near plants.........wow!..ommmmmmm! :rolleyes:

Spore already doing laundry business, selling arms to pariah states,..& who knows what else.

The casinos are an attempt to upgrade from peddling 4D/TOTO /slot machines.

With the mentality of the PAP its obvious that its the party of $$$greed. They would peddle drugs if they could get away with it. Maybe they are already doing that with their Burmese friends :eek:

Casino is a great way to launder money from illegal arms sales.

Spore already doing laundry business, selling arms to pariah states,..& who knows what else.

The casinos are an attempt to upgrade from peddling 4D/TOTO /slot machines.

With the mentality of the PAP its obvious that its the party of $$$greed. They would peddle drugs if they could get away with it. Maybe they are already doing that with their Burmese friends :eek:

Casino is a great way to launder money from illegal arms sales.

True but Ho Ching/Temasek has been loosing money. So they must be hoping for dirty foreign money but there are many alternatives.

I'm sure the PAP received kick backs, directorships fees,.. but they don't need to go through Casinos because its all been Leegalised.

Not many realise that dirty money is already being laundered by investing into Temasek. However many crooks must be unhappy at the loses :rolleyes:

I think is a staunch Buddhist and may have objected to the casino idea but order came from top, perhaps.

So he is just saying what he feels from the heart.

feel n say is 1 ting ... do is another ... as long as got million $ 2 collect ... buddhism dun teach u dat, does it? ...

Now my tea break and after reading this....lost my appetite. If what is said holds water, then why the SGD100.00 dollars entrance fee for sinkies and PRs? What was the rationale given when they wanted to collect the SGD100.00 ?????? Contradicting principles...... Sigh........