• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious KF Seetoh exposes stupidity of govt scheme to support hawker food

“THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD STAY OUT OF THIS”

One would think such efforts to keep the hawker trade alive would be lauded by advocates like Mr Seetoh.

I’m surprised when he says otherwise.

“I think the Government should stay out of this. They are not fit. They are not qualified,” he says definitively.

I ask him to explain his statements.

“Because they’re only throwing money at you. Hawker work is tough. Just because the Government wants to incubate you, doesn’t mean this job is easy. You have to cook well, know how to reach people, know how to cook a hundred portions an hour and so on. A short course is not enough and pumping money into the industry to fire this up may not be helpful. It gives people the impression that it is so easy. They say, ‘Let's go and do a ‘try, try’ thing’. It’s easy to walk out when you are funded by somebody else’s money, but if it’s your own and you realise that this is good, this is what you really want to do, it’s a different story.”

I suggest that if the Government stopped these initiatives, it would be even harder to keep the trade going. Even the ones who currently try may not consider it.

“Let’s attract the real ones. I'd rather encourage you to come out on your own because that will be more organic and you will be in it not because you got funding. It’s your own money. It’s your own belief. Go and learn as an apprentice. Go and work for a hawker for one year. The hawker may or may not teach you everything, but if you have slightly more than half a brain, you will be able to figure out the entire story and do it on your own later.

"If you just take some funding and go for some Government programmes, you will still wind up with not much. The more successful newer-generation hawkers are those who came out on their own and they are still around despite the failures. They took time to learn. They didn’t fall the minute they came across the first wall."

What would he suggest to encourage more such hawkers then?

It’s the same story as in the past. People went into the hawker business back in the day because they were desperate. Today, I think there’s more reason for you to be desperate again. A lot of jobs are going to the machines, the computers and Artificial Intelligence (AI). Maybe food is something AI cannot fully take over because people are spoilt with the pleasure of artisanal food.”

But even though consumers enjoy hawker food, in some quarters, being a hawker is still seen as a profession that lacks status.

“If we enjoy food, we can’t see it that way. It’s a very noble profession today. If you can think about it: ‘Wow, hey, maybe I like to dredge up this food that I believe in and love and I know that I’ve got a story to tell about this food and I want to sell and tell. And I want to go out and do it because it makes me happy and because I know I can generate some money from this'."

“LET THIS FOOD CULTURE DIE”

I’m sceptical about whether enough people will realise this on their own, but he reiterates the Government should “stay out of this”.

"Just give people very good, reasonable rents and tell them where to get their supplies. Let them figure out on their own how to be good, how to be better."

Often, the issue of rent is raised as a hurdle to hawkers’ success. However, the NEA has taken a few measures to stabilise rents. This includes disallowing subletting and not setting a reserve rent when tendering out vacant stalls.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...-singapore-hawker-food-on-the-record-10299626

Rental is killing the retail scene, don't let it kill the hawker scene.

No use. Singapore’s workforce will increasingly become vegan and eat packed food from home. Your pork laced carbohydrate heavy peasant food will vanish in 20 years, just like your national identity and dignity. :cool:

My personal view is that cooking is all about passion. Passion is required with ambition. You can have ambition but if you have no passion, it is unlikely that you will stay in that particular trade for long. It's just like a graduate opting to become a teacher and subsequently realised that he or she has no more "energy" to deal with this tedious job.

When one has passion, the chances of success with hardwork will be there.

Talking about passion of hawkers. ..Just look at the hawkers who are part of a chain business ... Attitude sucks and food mediocre. I try to avoid these so called hawkers. They are employees and they don't give a fug, unlike those who own the business, having the passion to deliver a plate of delicious food to their customers.

You working for STB ah? :D:D:D
I wish to be in an iron rice bowl job! Unfortunately, I don't have such luck. Mine is all about revenue and achieving the agreed targets with HQ, otherwise I get penalised or get the boot.

Sometimes, I drop by Bendeemer (Boon Keng) market for a grub when I happen to be around there. There are a couple of One Man Operation (OMO) hawkers who are pretty old and they have kept themselves going. One is the carrot cake man, the other is the Lor Mai Gai aunty and another is the dessert shop selling Putu Mayam, Onde Onde Chinese old woman.

It's a hard life for them, especially, as they are OMO operations. I conclude it's probably passion that kept them going plus real hard work.

My personal view is that cooking is all about passion. Passion is required with ambition. You can have ambition but if you have no passion, it is unlikely that you will stay in that particular trade for long. It's just like a graduate opting to become a teacher and subsequently realised that he or she has no more "energy" to deal with this tedious job.

When one has passion, the chances of success with hardwork will be there.

Talking about passion of hawkers. ..Just look at the hawkers who are part of a chain business ... Attitude sucks and food mediocre. I try to avoid these so called hawkers. They are employees and they don't give a fug, unlike those who own the business, having the passion to deliver a plate of delicious food to their customers.

The government & the ministers etc..says the same thing, it is about passion too!??. It is their PAssion to serve the people.. "Just look at the hawkers who are part of a chain business", you replace the word "hawkers" with politicians and the the words " who are part of a chain business" with PAP, & "Attitude sucks and work mediocre.

What was the common theme here...we do not have people who do things with passion these days, not like the the auntie at the supermarket asking you " passion"...everything now, boils down to dollars & cents. How many can you find that they do it for the passion & not the $1,000,000 to do gardening at the Istana for instance.

" passion" the supermarket Auntie asked !!

It’s easy to walk out when you are funded by somebody else’s money,...
True, just like double billion burnt and the half breed has no idea.
Just cook up some story to cover mistake.
In another country, he sure force to step down.
Kiang tio ho mai kay kiang:D

so far nobody in sg has done fried hokkien mee the way i like it. the closest is the one in geylang. looks like old hands at fhm have either died out or retired. the best and most nostalgic char kway teow that stays true to tradition can be found at the tampines kopitiam food court. the cook knows his craft. cling clang clong.

They have 'progressed', they cook your fried hokkien mee, by the formula, the same for the char kway teow, the wanton noodle...the whatever. The have studied the old hands frying or cooking the food...& write down the steps etc..& replicate the cooking & cook by a formula...that is why the ah tiong can fry your hokkien mee...or can even get the Bangla to fry that char kawy teow, provided that bo pord or lard is involved..for they just follow the formula.

Why in the past, the food taste so good...there was no formula but there are methods... and so many factors goes into cooking good food, skills, ingredients, wok heat, oil etc..

You can cook anything using a formula....but it still won't taste the way it should be....you can't replicate individual originality & skills...

They have 'progressed', they cook your fried hokkien mee, by the formula, the same for the char kway teow, the wanton noodle...the whatever. The have studied the old hands frying or cooking the food...& write down the steps etc..& replicate the cooking & cook by a formula...that is why the ah tiong can fry your hokkien mee...or can even get the Bangla to fry that char kawy teow, provided that bo pord or lard is involved..for they just follow the formula.

Why in the past, the food taste so good...there was no formula but there are methods... and so many factors goes into cooking good food, skills, ingredients, wok heat, oil etc..

You can cook anything using a formula....but it still won't taste the way it should be....you can't replicate individual originality & skills...
if i can caramelized both yellow noodles and tua bee hoon in wok with oil in high heat, so can they. but they don't know how and don't care because sinkie hawkers who pass "formula" to them also do not stir-fry their noodles first and set aside. they just anyhow hantam to save time, which means they got lazy and careless about keeping up with original and traditional cooking steps. not just fried fuckien fare but also chow hor fun. found a stall in tampines which actually stir-fries flat rice noodles first until chow tar, set aside, then add to wok when gravy is ready. dying breeds.

There is method of control cooking....

When to switch on high heat and turn off is important and this control different with the cook.

Turn kuay teow char is not burn in high heat... there us one ingredient use to fake the char....

I dont reveal this ingredient but will die with me...

if i can caramelized both yellow noodles and tua bee hoon in wok with oil in high heat, so can they. but they don't know how and don't care because sinkie hawkers who pass "formula" to them also do not stir-fry their noodles first and set aside. they just anyhow hantam to save time, which means they got lazy and careless about keeping up with original and traditional cooking steps. not just fried fuckien fare but also chow hor fun. found a stall in tampines which actually stir-fries flat rice noodles first until chow tar, set aside, then add to wok when gravy is ready. dying breeds.

Turn to kuay teow char is not burn in high heat... there us one ingredient use to fake the char....

I dont reveal this ingredient but will die with me...
aiyah. can also burn the black sauce lah. but aroma will be different. i use my nose too when i cook, not just rely on sight, steps and skills.

There is method of control cooking....

When to switch on high heat and turn off is important and this control different with the cook.
turning on high ses btu and low ses btu is mainly to conserve fuel (propane), but yes, cannot char in high heat all the time. can burn eggs and some fragile ingredients.

Turn off high heat to save on fuel??? Why turn high heat in the first place.. dickhead....

Turn high heat is to kill bacteria
and pathogenic germs in the food... at X degree kills food germs and bacteria
....then lower the heat to between X-X degree is for real cooking like add sauce and xxxxx to it....

Plus to preserved the vitamins and minerals in each food is important. How to preserved the vitamins and minerals is key to eat well and food taste good .... get it dickhead...

cannot reveal the science and my secret method to you.... u die yr biz....

Want to cure cancer use the go hungry method that I teach that fake dickhead Canadian 医生

Want to reduce high temp from 42 to 36.9 in one night or overnight? Only use panadol but method to get it down quick is real ...U know where to look for my info....

....dickhead....

turning on high ses btu and low ses btu is mainly to conserve fuel (propane), but yes, cannot char in high heat all the time. can burn eggs and some fragile ingredients.

Sometimes, I drop by Bendeemer (Boon Keng) market for a grub when I happen to be around there. There are a couple of One Man Operation (OMO) hawkers who are pretty old and they have kept themselves going. One is the carrot cake man, the other is the Lor Mai Gai aunty and another is the dessert shop selling Putu Mayam, Onde Onde Chinese old woman.

It's a hard life for them, especially, as they are OMO operations. I conclude it's probably passion that kept them going plus real hard work.

these are the real heroes of spore
they keep going year after year after year
i dread to see the day when they are all gone.....