• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kaya Toast Indicator

Some people like to look at GDP or manufacturing output to determine if Singapore is doing well. Others look at jobs created, jobless rate, stock market prices, property prices, crowds in Orchard Road malls, turnout at condo launches, number of high net worth individuals, their own bank accounts, their neighbour's new car, lagging indicators, leading indicators, etc etc.

I prefer to look at how crowded the kaya toast and kopi outlets are.
Eating at a kaya toast and kopi outlet is a funny thing. The tables are small, the chairs are small, the space is usually limited, you queue to order, wait for tables, and the products cost quite a lot in my opinion.

Go to Fairprice and buy a loaf of bread for $1, a bottle of kaya for $3, get a few satchets of 3-in-1 coffee and you can eat and drink 5 times for the same amount spent once at a kaya toast outlet. But yet, morning, noon or evening, almost every outlet is filled with people.

Years of buoyant stock and property markets and stable employment may have allowed many to be able to spend time sitting in a kaya and kopi outlet. But this may also indicate the fact that many Singaporeans are still not hungry, hence not ready for change.

Unfortunately, this could be the calm before the storm, years down the road.

My kid would like to know why Sgns don't spread the butter? Why does it come in a thick cut slab?

I was going to say they don't have butter knives, but I know my kid won't take that for an answer.

Why ah?

My kid would like to know why Sgns don't spread the butter? Why does it come in a thick cut slab?

I was going to say they don't have butter knives, but I know my kid won't take that for an answer.

Why ah?

Singaporeans are born with silver spoons hence not well-versed with bread and butter issues :-p

Bro Agor, to be able to cut the butter into slabs, it has to be "hard"...how do you spread hard butter?
If your kid don't believe, you can try it at home....

Yakun ?
Actually I quite prefer it that way

I think is the Toast Box..
Yakun got that kind of bread butter meh ?

Yakun coffee quality also drop... like drinking air longkang sometimes.. :eek:

I think is the Toast Box..
Yakun got that kind of bread butter meh ?

yakun keep butter in ice box and cut into thin slabs, 4 slices per bread

don't just eat Thaksin noodle la, come to town once a while;)

Bro Agor, to be able to cut the butter into slabs, it has to be "hard"...how do you spread hard butter?
If your kid don't believe, you can try it at home....

At home we use the spreadable butter. However if it was the regular butter, it'd be kept outside the fridge for some time before we used it.

My kid likes peanut butter and butter. Me, kaya and butter.

Yakun ?
Actually I quite prefer it that way

Yes, Yakun. Though I prefer calling it Jakun.

Actually it never occurred to me until the kid asked. I just bite into the darn thing anyway. Like the soft boiled eggs, they always get it right, and crack it for ya.

yakun keep butter in ice box and cut into thin slabs, 4 slices per bread

don't just eat Thaksin noodle la, come to town once a while;)

haiyo... uncle... i dun eat their bread one...
i see their kopi nowsaday... i wan to vomit liao... :D
somemore yakun nowsday... their place very hot... drink kopi can sweat ..

go for Toast Box ... best ... :D

btw, i haven try the Thaksin noodle yet... :D

BTW, TS wanted to discuss the calm before the storm leh, why come all the to peanut butter hor :p

I also prefer peanut butter ...
especially the one with crunchy peanuts... best ... :D

during ze time ~ 2002-2006, me wok past my downstairs kopitiam nearly evry morning ...

kinda noticed dat ze ppl there getting mor n mor ... tot y were dey so free? drink kopi n tcss during working hours ... den, as time went by, noticed ze ppl there got less n less ...

during ze time ~ 2002-2006, me wok past my downstairs kopitiam nearly evry morning ...

kinda noticed dat ze ppl there getting mor n mor ... tot y were dey so free? drink kopi n tcss during working hours ... den, as time went by, noticed ze ppl there got less n less ...

so less and less because they found work.... or they decided to just stay at home?

I also prefer peanut butter ...
especially the one with crunchy peanuts... best ... :D

When I was much younger, I used to salivate, when I smell the aroma of baking bread, when I pass by the old fashioned bakery where I use to live. Even when i am not hungry I would go in buy a loaf, together with the loaf, a bottle of home made peanut butter, kaya. Then go home spread them on the bread & enjoy with a home made kopi O ( I brew myself). This bakery sells the home made peanut butter ( made by them) on a certain day of the week. Nowadays, I still, once in a while go back where that shop once stood...& pretend I get that smell...ahhh!:D I am transported back in time again!

Don't we realize that the bread from the whatever toast, Ak Kunt smells funny?, not like the old days, when you smell it baking in the air, it lure you to the bakery?

We have forgotten what it is like to spread our own butter, margarine, kaya ( home made), peanut butter ( home made) or conserves like marmalades, raspberry Jams, strawberry jams & for me....the ultimate spread on bread, meat pate or any pate!...yummy! heaven!

Heavens!, the bread & toast these days taste like...!:p nothing the old days of roti toasted over charcoal grill...sometimes a little black on the sides, with a slab of SCS butter from the Hylam kopi shop & wash down with back yard roasted coffee beans, Kopi -O...

What we are paying through our noses these days, are craps!;)

Heavens!, the bread & toast these days taste like...!:p nothing the old days of roti toasted over charcoal grill...sometimes a little black on the sides, with a slab of SCS butter from the Hylam kopi shop & wash down with back yard roasted coffee beans, Kopi -O...

Mann !... You reminded me about my younger days... in the 80's still.
My father will toast the breads over the charcoal grill ...
We will then spread the butter with some sugars...
Those days SCS butter was the only butter that we all love ... :D

Thanks for bringing back those memories back... :)

img_9075.jpg
2991298547_8284276be3.jpg