• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Joint message from CPSA and ACP regarding inappropriate prescribing and dispensing of ivermectin to treat or prevent COVID-19

nayr69sg

Staff member
Joint message from CPSA and ACP regarding inappropriate prescribing and dispensing of ivermectin to treat or prevent COVID-19
Sept. 22, 2021
The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA) and the Alberta College of Pharmacy (ACP) have both received reports about the prescribing and dispensing of ivermectin to treat or prevent COVID-19.

At this time, both Health Canada and Alberta Health Services (AHS) do not recommend the use of ivermectin to prevent or treat COVID-19.

In their advisory issued on August 31, 2021, Health Canada stated that ivermectin is not authorized to prevent or treat COVID-19. Included in the advisory is the following statement:

In this light, Health Canada is advising Canadians not to use either the veterinary or human drug versions of ivermectin to prevent or treat COVID-19. There is no evidence that ivermectin in either formulation is safe or effective when used for those purposes. The human version of ivermectin is authorized for sale in Canada only for the treatment of parasitic worm infections in people.

Vaccination remains the recommended best option to prevent COVID-19, its spread, and the negative outcomes associated with it. This is important to individuals, families, our communities, and our health system.

CPSA and ACP are very concerned about a small number of physicians and pharmacists who are spreading misinformation related to the appropriateness of ivermectin to prevent or treat COVID-19. There is no evidence that prescribing and dispensing ivermectin is beneficial but there is certainly significant risk of patient harm when ivermectin is used in the prevention and treatment of COVID-19. CPSA and ACP do not believe these behaviours align with a physician’s or pharmacist’s professional responsibility to their patients.

During the pandemic, it’s natural for patients to seek treatments they feel might be helpful. However, it is important for all health practitioners to remember the importance of evidence-based care when prescribing. -huh? I thought patient autonomy is utmost importance? But non-maleficence ok lah can say ivermectin could cause harm although what harm?

CPSA’s expectations for off-label and unapproved use of an otherwise approved drug can be found in the Practising Outside of Established Conventional Medicinestandard of practice, which states that:
  • a regulated member must offer a conventional medical approach before offering any therapy outside of conventional medicine; and
  • a regulated member who offers a therapy that is outside of conventional medicine must practice in a manner that is informed by current best-available medical evidence and upholds their professional, ethical, and legal obligations.
ACP expects all pharmacy professionals to practise within the Standards of Practice for Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians, specifically the following standards:
  • standard 6.1, which before dispensing requires the pharmacist to consider if the indication “is approved by Health Canada, considered best practice or accepted clinical practice in peer reviewed literature or is part of an approved research protocol;” and
  • standard 11.6, which states: “A pharmacist who prescribes a medication must not prescribe a drug or blood product unless the intended use is an indication approved by Health Canada, is considered a best practice or accepted clinical practice in peer-reviewed clinical literature, or is part of an approved research protocol.”
In considering these standards and how they relate to the use of ivermectin for the prevention and treatment of COVID-19, CPSA and ACP direct all physicians and pharmacy professionals to adhere to the Health Canada advisory about ivermectin. Ivermectin must not be prescribed or dispensed, in any form, for the prevention or treatment of COVID-19.

CPSA and ACP recognize and appreciate your extraordinary efforts during the pandemic. Your effort to enhance immunization uptake is critical to the health and wellbeing of your communities.

nayr69sg

Staff member
@Leongsam there you have it. In Alberta, Drs are not to prescribe Ivermectin for covid.

I had patient ask me about this. I referred her to official guidelines and recommendations. Told her I am being "professional". What I personally think about Ivermectin is irrelevant in my professional work under the regulatory bodies as I am required to follow the recommendations.

nayr69sg

Staff member

I have no idea. Which is good. Cos ignorance is bliss. LOL!

I do not treat covid patients. THANK GOD!

And because I don't and am also not a specialist in Infectious Disease, or Intensive Care, or Respirology, or Internal Medicine, it is not my role to comment or advise with regards to such treatment.

I would direct you to the appropriate sources for information and recommendations on this subject.

https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/assets/info/ppih/if-ppih-covid-19-recommendations.pdf

https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/topics/Page17074.aspx

https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/assets/healthinfo/ipc/hi-ipc-emerging-issues-ncov.pdf

Don't they have massive deposit of oil and gas in alberta.
I believe shell and petronas have concessions and currently building a export terminal and a gas pipeline.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Don't they have massive deposit of oil and gas in alberta.
I believe shell and petronas have concessions and currently building a export terminal and a gas pipeline.

Yes. Alberta has MASSIVE oil and gas deposits. But much of the oil is in oil sands bitumen. Which has a higher cost to extract than a usual oil well. There are some oil wells in Alberta but not as many as Saudi Arabia of course. Alberta also has natural gas.

The problem is not just whether we have the oil or not. We have it.

But the environmentalists have won. They want the oil industry to close down in Alberta and Canada. This is to reduce emissions globally and save the world. BTW Canada accounts for roughly 1.8% of global emissions. At its peak it was 3%. So if oil and gas totally closed down in AB and Canada then the world would have 3% less emissions! Yay! :laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:

The other problem with AB is it is land locked.

montney-duvernay-deep-basin-map-source-neb.png__420x420_q85_subsampling-2.jpg

Look at the above picture. AB oil and gas is far away from the ocean.

Hence we need to build pipelines to transport the oil and gas to port to export overseas for better returns.

Unfortunately not enough pipelines capacity. And most of the pipelines built before are to the USA refineries. USA says dont buy your oil. You sell to who? They laugh at us. So we have to sell at discount below market rates.

We try to build NEW pipelines...but environmentalist protest. First Nation protest. Greta Thunberg protest.

See how lah. If the world doesn go green......and still uses oil and one day Saudi really no more oil liao then they will turn to Canada and the oil sands.

LordElrond

Question: if Ivermectin is soooooooooo evil, why is there such a following? 无风不起浪。I don’t recall such an issue in past pandemics where people insisted on using off label drugs not meant for a certain treatment.

dredd

Question: if Ivermectin is soooooooooo evil, why is there such a following? 无风不起浪。I don’t recall such an issue in past pandemics where people insisted on using off label drugs not meant for a certain treatment.
I think you are missing the point. Ivermectin is not evil. It is just not recommended to prevent or treat COVID19. It's as simple as that.

If you think there is a conspiracy behind this, than it's up to you. But it is not recommended by people who know what they are doing. If you still doubt their credentials and expertise, than the problem lies with you. The fact remains - it is not recommended. In spite of their warning, if you choose to buy it and take it, it's up to you.

It's like going to the dentist for a toothache and the dentist recommends root canal and you insist he is wrong and argue that you read somewhere that rubbing salt works for a great following of people on the Internet. You can choose to leave the dental room and rub salt. It's up to you. :rolleyes:

nayr69sg

Staff member
When was last pandemic?

That one got internet or not?

Also got Patient Autonomy?

Nowadays world very different liao.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I think you are missing the point. Ivermectin is not evil. It is just not recommended to prevent or treat COVID19. It's as simple as that.

If you think there is a conspiracy behind this, than it's up to you. But it is not recommended by people who know what they are doing. If you still doubt their credentials and expertise, than the problem lies with you. The fact remains - it is not recommended. In spite of their warning, if you choose to buy it and take it, it's up to you.

It's like going to the dentist for a toothache and the dentist recommends root canal and you insist he is wrong and argue that you read somewhere that rubbing salt works for a great following of people on the Internet. You can choose to leave the dental room and rub salt. It's up to you. :rolleyes:
Wah you good lah Dredd!

You have described patient autonomy! And non maleficence!

Yup yup. I agree. It is up to patients what they want to do. Patients know best.

But at the same time drs are bound to "do no harm". And this "do no harm" is not just so simple that they do treatment and no harm comes to you. If other drs or the college or specialist complain and say THEY think it causes harm and quote whatever studies and stuff then you are causing harm to the patient (even if the patient goes hey hey hey nothing bad happened to me ok! Nothing bad! No harm!). Somehow they will ignore the patient when it comes to those hearings.

So like that lor. Patient can do whatever. But if dr help with doing something other bigger shot drs say is bad then it is considered doing harm.

As you can see there are garang drs out there who will do stuff not following the guidelines one. Got one.

So as a patient you have to try find them lor. But often these drs after become famous and well known and popular they will be shut down also.

porcaputtana

because there are always dumb gullible misinformed people like you who will not listen to reason and want to go against the grain just to sound smart.

Yes. You.

nayr69sg

Staff member

What I would ask is for patients and public to be kind.

Dr dont want to support Ivermectin or say they have to follow the recommendations and rules recommend Comirnaty please dont tekkan the Dr lah.

It is like policeman have to follow law lah.

You prefer policeman say this law is shit i dont agree that law and let you go steal from bank or take drugs whatever you like based on patient autonomy?

Dont lah. Most dr got to work and want to do job properly follow rules. Just respect their right to do that.

Go find the cops and drs who dont follow. Do what makes you happy. Got one. You jusr got to find.

I mean what you want? ALL drs and policeman all boh chup the rules go against the rules anyway do whatever customer wants? It is called chaos.

porcaputtana

ivermectin was a simple lab observation and reported in a non peer review and unpublished paper

then it got out and misinterpreted and twisted by a whole bunch of conspiracy idiots who ignore facts and reasons

the lab results are simply not reproducible in a human subject. the dose will kill the person

nayr69sg

Staff member
because there are always dumb gullible misinformed people like you who will not listen to reason and want to go against the grain just to sound smart.

Yes. You.
Dont be so harsh lah.

Patients have right to their own views and agenda.

I dont think in this case is him trying to be smart lah.

There is too much "information" and opinions on the internet liao.

Everyone become expert.

The best experts on internet are those who have nothing to lose. Ie no actual credentials. Not a professional. No licence to practice. Disgruntled drs struck off register already so migt say they are MD grad from Harvard or whatever but dont tell you whole story that they no longer practicing cos of disciplinary action or something.

People who have nothing to lose lah.

These are the best and most most active experts in everything on internet.

nayr69sg

Staff member
ivermectin was a simple lab observation and reported in a non peer review and unpublished paper

then it got out and misinterpreted and twisted by a whole bunch of conspiracy idiots who ignore facts and reasons

the lab results are simply not reproducible in a human subject. the dose will kill the person
But many of the internet experts dont tell you the dose.

Ask anyone. Whats the required dose. All silent. Lol!

They just say use ivermectin.

Medicine so simple meh? You know what medicine liao you know what dose meh? Think is like panadol right? Got instruction on the side of the box one.

Lol!

nayr69sg

Staff member
I saw two today

they say I shouldn’t waste my time trying to reason with a caveman like you

but otherwise my mental health is perfectly within normal range
Hmm let me guess

First doctor is your wife.

2nd doctor is your child.

LOL!

LordElrond

I saw two today

they say I shouldn’t waste my time trying to reason with a caveman like you

but otherwise my mental health is perfectly within normal range
Yet another case of misdiagnosis! Then go see a licensed electrician, you have a short circuit in your brain.