• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Job Credits: The Miracle Cure

commoner

Job credits will be classified as miracle cure for all economy sickness....

No GST reductions, whatever will save more jobs.... WTF

My company has no intention to retrench any staff and the job credits will increase profits by $200,000 per year,,,,,.

An electronic factory is terminating 500 factory workers regardless the miracle cure.....

you think the biggest employer aka civil service will retrench staff because no Job Credits?

Ass Ass Lim asked LTK to choose Job credit or cut CPF,,,, what a F@@@ joke, he only knows job credit and cut CPF onli a?

VIBGYOR

this one will prove Tharman wrong...

reminds me of that Tharman you put on your BBQ fire..LOL..

newyorker88

this one will prove Tharman wrong...

reminds me of that Tharman you put on your BBQ fire..LOL..

Now you know why cancer Lee resign his post as Finance Ministar? They foresee that he cannot take more bad mouthing liao. People curse him until his luck so low. Cancer may return. too much stress

Frankiestine

Tharman has lost hell lots of credibility since the day he was contradicted on the guarantee of bank deposit issue...imagine as a Finance Minister how he could make a statement in the morning only to be contradicted that very night..

BlueCat

but those MNC is not taking the bite.
they also retrenched as some explained that if you retrenched one of $2500,you save that amount,but if you retained him/her,they only save about $250-$300.
look like this is only a cure for the SME and Local companies.

newyorker88

but those MNC is not taking the bite.
they also retrenched as some explained that if you retrenched one of $2500,you save that amount,but if you retained him/her,they only save about $250-$300.
look like this is only a cure for the SME and Local companies.

The problem is govenment favors MNCs and now MNCs are leaving, then now they try to help SMEs so little, asking SMEs to retain workers. I guess it is going to be difficult, very difficult, not to fire workers.

No point saying global problem, govenment cannot help much. Singapore govenment if dunt help local SMEs, who is going to help? If it is about saving jobs, then they should do more to reduce COST of doing business, not TALK about global problems. So far, what they have given out are PEANUTS.

The problem is govenment favors MNCs and now MNCs are leaving, then now they try to help SMEs so little, asking SMEs to retain workers. I guess it is going to be difficult, very difficult, not to fire workers.

No point saying global problem, govenment cannot help much. Singapore govenment if dunt help local SMEs, who is going to help? If it is about saving jobs, then they should do more to reduce COST of doing business, not TALK about global problems. So far, what they have given out are PEANUTS.

for SME to help themselves, they must help Singapoeran change govt. When we have new govt, there will always be hope in the society. The current govt can only do so much in hlep and we know they can't go any further. Quite dissappointing.

Subok

I buy LTK arguments,

$7'500 savings now compared to $900 in 3 months which one is better?

Don't take an rocket economist to answer that, that's why you can see on the youtube of the session in Parliament those PAP's jokers swallowing their saliva don't know what to say and when they do speak, WAH KAU! I wonder what makes them deserve their million dollar pay cheque!

The worst part is, Foreign workers depressed local wages thus by comparision Job Credit Scheme does not help making Singaporean attractive. Here we see an obviously loop hole in our govt policies. What a waste to dip into our reserves for such purposes.

The_Latest_H

Well, as long as export demands for our stuff remain abysmally low internationally, even the Job credits scheme and currency manipulation of the SGD will not have a significant impact.

People won't buy as long as their employment future remains bleak, and their wages remain low, while living expenses remain high. If demand's not there locally, and demand remains very very low overseas, what's the point? The government doesn't seem to understand.

newyorker88

for SME to help themselves, they must help Singapoeran change govt. When we have new govt, there will always be hope in the society. The current govt can only do so much in hlep and we know they can't go any further. Quite dissappointing.

Most business dont care who is in govenment, as long as they can make the system work. They are fearful of change. So dont expect business people to care much expect to hear more goodies from govenment. If they get more goodies, they may pass 10% to the workers.

In fact, since the 70s, when SMEs face more competition from NTUC and GIC and MNCs, most quietly close down or shifted away to other countries. Those who stay on are strong, but weaken considerably during the last few crisis.

Some ventured into China, but culturally different and business environment is different there too. Many lost big time, and came back battered. Those who made it use singapore as a base only.

The sons many SMEs, under the education is PAP, turn out to work for others as well, as professionals, engineers and doctors, or MBA grads. They did not see eye to eye with their parents or seniors. Thus, many close shop too, retire and hope that their children can make it as a professional. It is not a bad idea, at first, until this crisis comes along, where many professionals face problems as well. Alot of engineers in their 40s or early 50s lost their jobs during the last 2 crisis. Many of them turn into cleaners under the retraining program.

What to do? Singapore had lost a generation of business minded people due to education and lure of high pay as professionals. Many did not see their jobs at risk from termination and economic downturns.

Many SMEs lost to bigger MNCs and GIC-link companies. There are no younger generation to take over and do the much needed ground work of supervising the workers, long hours of work and planning for the company. Much experience that was gathered were never passes down and lost. Whereas, in SMEs, bosses have to work almost everyday, taking a break when they can only. And constantly working for the sake of company. No matter how bad a crisis, there are ways to tide over if you are careful and did not spend foolishly during the good times.

Many of the young preferred 8 to 5 job hours and relax or have fun after that. 14 days or 21 days leave and other benefits.

SO when the crisis comes, I dont blame them. They chose this path to work for others, and when they are out of a job, too bad.

Just my 2 cents

Einfield

During the good times, SME are ask to f*ck off to Batam and Johor, Many did not survive, now MNC gone, SME base also gone.

I know a old guy, gave up his JTC factory and close shop, they keep increasing the rent to a point that he don't really want to carry on.

Today, the unit is still vacant and big banners put up to offer immediate occupancy

This gov is either stupid to kill off the local SME or they are simply greedy for power and money to the point of pure evil. Everything they do evolve around preservation of their own power and maximizing profit.

newyorker88

Well, as long as export demands for our stuff remain abysmally low internationally, even the Job credits scheme and currency manipulation of the SGD will not have a significant impact.

People won't buy as long as their employment future remains bleak, and their wages remain low, while living expenses remain high. If demand's not there locally, and demand remains very very low overseas, what's the point? The government doesn't seem to understand.

Your observation is correct. The govenment always think that growth is limitless. And spend unwisely, due to lously SCHOLARS they believe to be the brightest.

The first thing they can do is to lower the SGD value to boost exports. That will help the companies to think twice from moving out of singapore. Jobs dont come by overnite and once these companies move out, it is gone for good.

Lowering of SGD value may hurt the locals in short term in terms of imported goods, but they could reduce the GST to off set that. In fact, increase volume of goods and services can make up the shortfall, rather than raking in more than a higher GST %. The idea is to get people to spend and volume of goods going. So reducing the GST is a good idea, as many have said.

We can talk and write as much as we want in this forum, but govenment always dont listen, or pretend to they do. In fact, solutions that work are not taken up. They just report the GOOD NEWS, to the top, that is why the top never hears.

newyorker88

During the good times, SME are ask to f*ck off to Batam and Johor, Many did not survive, not MNC gone, SME base also gone.

I know a old guy, gave up his JTC factory and close shop, they keep increasing the rent to a point that he don't really want to carry on.

Today, the unit is still vacant and big banners put up to offer immediate occupancy

This gov is either stupid to kill off the local SME or they are simply greedy for power and money to the point of pure evil. Everything they do evolve around preservation of their own power and maximizing profit.

Now these REITs are facing the problems they started in the first place. BTW, I hate JTC factories. Anything you want to do, they have to approve. KNN< how to do business?