• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Jialat! 271 Positive Cases from South Asia in Past Month, Somemore Mutated Covid Variant!

Pinkieslut

COVID-19: 271 imported cases from S Asia over past 28 days, B1617 variant a global problem – MOH​

Staff Writer, Singapore
·Editorial Team
25 minutes ago

Travellers wait in the departure hall of Changi International Airport in Singapore on March 15, 2021. (Photo by Roslan RAHMAN / AFP) (Photo by ROSLAN RAHMAN/AFP via Getty Images)

Travellers wait in the departure hall of Changi International Airport on 15 March 2021. (PHOTO/AFP via Getty Images)
SINGAPORE — The number of imported cases from South Asia over the past 28 days was 271, with half of them being Singaporeans or permanent residents, the Ministry of Health (MOH) said on Saturday (15 May).
Of the 271 cases, 50.2 per cent were Singaporeans or PRs, 46.5 per cent work pass holders, student pass holders or dependents and 3.3 per cent short term visitors.
Flagging the challenge of the B1617 variant of COVID-19 prevalent in South Asia, MOH said the strain is not just a Singapore problem but a global one, as highlighted by the World Health Organisation.

In its response to media queries on the number of imported cases who were short term visitors, MOH did not specify the number of imported cases from South Asia over the past 28 days that were linked to the variant.
Europe has sequenced almost 2,000 B1617 infections, US 486, Australia 85, Japan 29 and China 17, according to the Gisaid Institute, the world's largest database of novel coronavirus genome sequences.
“This is a major reason why transmission is rising throughout Asia — in Malaysia, Thailand, Japan.Even hitherto safe regions, such as Singapore, Taiwan and Vietnam, are experiencing outbreaks of community cases,” MOH said.
These cases are imported because all borders are porous, according to MOH. “All it takes is one case to cause an outbreak, and no country can seal itself off totally,” it said.
For imported cases in Singapore, MOH reported 409 cases over 28 days from 16 April to 13 May. About 41.6 per cent of them were Singaporeans or PRs, 50.6 per cent were work pass holders, student pass holders or dependents, and 7.8 per cent were short term visitors.
“At the minimum, citizens and residents must be allowed to return home....All short term visitors are allowed to enter only if they have family ties here, or on specific compassionate grounds such as to attend a funeral, or seek medical treatment,” MOH said.
Every arrival is subject to stringent Stay-Home-Notice and tests. Community transmission has occurred because the virus breached Singapore’s safe measures, including at Changi Airport, MOH said.
“The infiltrating virus can be from SC/PR/work pass holders or a short term visitor. This is a challenge faced by all countries because no one can entirely close their borders,” it added.

South Asia my ass. They didn’t specify India….which is the main source

Journalists and Politicians really belong together in the same level, just below prostitutes.

The variant is no different from the ones that preceded it. In fact it seems to be a lot weaker as it is causing far less deaths per million in comparison.

your understanding is poor, explanation is like the india cow dung

Changi Airport cluster started from zone that receives higher-risk countries' arrivals

SINGAPORE — Around the first 20 people infected by the coronavirus from the Changi Airport cluster were found to have “congregated” around one zone, which was receiving travellers from higher-risk countries.

Transport Minister Ong Ye Kung on Friday (May 14) said: “This is a zone with a finger pier that receives higher-risk countries' arrivals including South Asia, and then the conveyor belt and immigration. So it’s that whole zone and infections were all around that area.”

He added: “From that zone, workers go have their lunch, go have their meals at the Terminal 3 basement (level) two commercial areas and the food court and we suspect that from there, it is transmitted to members of the public who visited the place."

He likened the zone to Changi Airport’s equivalent to Ward 9D at Tan Tock Seng Hospital, where a cluster of 44 cases were recorded after a nurse who worked at that ward was first confirmed to have contracted the virus on April 27.

The airport cluster has overtaken the hospital cluster this week to become the largest active Covid-19 cluster on Thursday with a total of 46 cases confirmed.

The cluster now has 59 cases, with 13 added on Friday.

Mr Ong said that when the first worker was detected on May 6, together with the Ministry of Health (MOH), contract tracing, testing and quarantining was done.

On May 8, an 18-year-old Victoria Junior College student was found to have Covid-19. MOH reported on May 11 that the student had visited the Kopitiam food court at Changi Airport Terminal 3 on the same day as two other infected persons.

It also said that she was likely to have been infected while she was there on May 3.

“So immediately... (we) closed down the entire commercial area in Terminal 3 basement two for deep cleaning, and then we started special operations with MOH to test 9,000 workers in Terminal 1, Terminal 3 plus Jewel,” he said.

All workers in Terminals 1 and 3, as well as Jewel Changi Airport — a retail and leisure entertainment complex on the airport grounds — have been undergoing mandatory Covid-19 tests in a special testing operation that began on May 9.

Visitors who have been to Changi Airport Terminal 3 from May 3 onwards will be offered free Covid-19 testing.

As a precaution, passenger terminal buildings will be reopened 14 days later on May 27.

Jewel Changi Airport will also be closed for the same duration.

Mr Ong said that as of Wednesday night, 7,641 people have been tested and almost 6,000 results are out with six showing positive for the virus.

“What is noteworthy: 500 workers in Jewel have been tested and results are out and so far, all are negative.”

Mr Ong added that there is another group of workers who are close contacts of earlier detected cases who are in quarantine and these workers are being tested.

COVID-19: 271 imported cases from S Asia over past 28 days, B1617 variant a global problem – MOH​

Staff Writer, Singapore
·Editorial Team
25 minutes ago

Travellers wait in the departure hall of Changi International Airport in Singapore on March 15, 2021. (Photo by Roslan RAHMAN / AFP) (Photo by ROSLAN RAHMAN/AFP via Getty Images)

Travellers wait in the departure hall of Changi International Airport on 15 March 2021. (PHOTO/AFP via Getty Images)
SINGAPORE — The number of imported cases from South Asia over the past 28 days was 271, with half of them being Singaporeans or permanent residents, the Ministry of Health (MOH) said on Saturday (15 May).
Of the 271 cases, 50.2 per cent were Singaporeans or PRs, 46.5 per cent work pass holders, student pass holders or dependents and 3.3 per cent short term visitors.
Flagging the challenge of the B1617 variant of COVID-19 prevalent in South Asia, MOH said the strain is not just a Singapore problem but a global one, as highlighted by the World Health Organisation.

In its response to media queries on the number of imported cases who were short term visitors, MOH did not specify the number of imported cases from South Asia over the past 28 days that were linked to the variant.
Europe has sequenced almost 2,000 B1617 infections, US 486, Australia 85, Japan 29 and China 17, according to the Gisaid Institute, the world's largest database of novel coronavirus genome sequences.
“This is a major reason why transmission is rising throughout Asia — in Malaysia, Thailand, Japan.Even hitherto safe regions, such as Singapore, Taiwan and Vietnam, are experiencing outbreaks of community cases,” MOH said.
These cases are imported because all borders are porous, according to MOH. “All it takes is one case to cause an outbreak, and no country can seal itself off totally,” it said.
For imported cases in Singapore, MOH reported 409 cases over 28 days from 16 April to 13 May. About 41.6 per cent of them were Singaporeans or PRs, 50.6 per cent were work pass holders, student pass holders or dependents, and 7.8 per cent were short term visitors.
“At the minimum, citizens and residents must be allowed to return home....All short term visitors are allowed to enter only if they have family ties here, or on specific compassionate grounds such as to attend a funeral, or seek medical treatment,” MOH said.
Every arrival is subject to stringent Stay-Home-Notice and tests. Community transmission has occurred because the virus breached Singapore’s safe measures, including at Changi Airport, MOH said.
“The infiltrating virus can be from SC/PR/work pass holders or a short term visitor. This is a challenge faced by all countries because no one can entirely close their borders,” it added.
Their interpretation of the figure is only 271 cases in the past 28 days, not even 1% of India daily cases.
So, what is the problem of letting more CECA Indians come to Sinkapore, more please. Sinkies please relax and be calm. The number of cases is wet wet water, no need to be alarmed, we need these CECA Indians to create more good jobs for Sinkies

I thought the vaccines would protect you? :wink:

Now watch Big Pharma eventually pimping booster/annual shots. The 'free' vaccines may turn into 'high subsidized and very affordable'.

If they remain 'free', expect more frivolous fees/fares/fines elsewhere to recoup the money. Alternatively, the govt will borrow money (issue bonds) but will give a fancy reason why it is doing so. :cool:

your understanding is poor, explanation is like the india cow dung

I'm just relying on the data and the conclusion is a pretty straightforward affair

The "experts" are not allowed the freedom to voice their actual opinions because they have to stick to the narrative that they have been told to follow. I, on the other hand, am free to state the obvious.

You can see from the graphs that the tide is turning in India without reaching anywhere near the same case count as the worst hit countries eg the USA, UK etc.

You can analyse the data yourself by going to https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus#coronavirus-country-profiles and selecting the country and the parameter you are interested in.

Screen Shot 2021-05-16 at 2.52.48 PM.png

The govt could be pursuing herd immunity through infection. In small country with a small population, this is easier to achieve.

Wrong. Again. Call it 0 for 229 tries. All fail.

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/05/14/boris-johnson-says-covid-variants-could-pose-serious-disruption.html

Covid variant from India more transmissible and threatens England lockdown easing, Boris Johnson says​

PUBLISHED FRI, MAY 14 20211:14 PM EDTUPDATED FRI, MAY 14 20218:14 PM EDT
Matt Clinch@MATTCLINCH81
SHAREShare Article via FacebookShare Article via TwitterShare Article via LinkedInShare Article via Email
KEY POINTS
  • The U.K. will now accelerate second doses of vaccines for the over-50s and the clinically vulnerable due to concerns about the variant from India.
  • Speaking at a news conference Friday, Prime Minister Boris Johnson said the variant looked to be more transmissible than other strains, but cautioned that it wasn’t clear by how much.
British Prime Minister Boris Johnson speaks during a televised press conference at 10 Downing Street on February 22, 2021 in London, England.

Leon Neal | Getty Images News | Getty Images
LONDON — U.K. Prime Minister Boris Johnson warned Friday that the coronavirus variant first discovered in India has the potential to derail the lockdown easing currently underway in the country.
The U.K. will now accelerate second doses of vaccines for the over-50s and the clinically vulnerable due to concerns about the variant from India.

Speaking at a news conference Friday, Johnson said the variant looked to be more transmissible than other strains, but cautioned that it wasn’t clear by how much. England’s chief medical officer, Chris Whitty, speaking alongside Johnson, added that there’s “confidence” it’s “more transmissible” than the variants already circulating in the country.
Whitty said: “Earlier this week we said that we thought that it was as transmissible as B.1.1.7 and possibly even more so. There is now confidence ... that this variant is more transmissible than B.1.1.7.”
WATCH NOW
VIDEO01:38
Triple-mutant Covid variant from India is now a potential global health risk

The B.1.1.7 variant, known as the U.K. or Kent strain, has an unusually high number of mutations and is associated with a more efficient and rapid transmission of the coronavirus. British scientists first detected this mutation in September of last year and by April it had become the dominant strain in the U.S.
Johnson added that there was currently no evidence that the variant would evade the vaccines that are being deployed across the country.
“But I have to level with you, this new variant could pose a serious disruption to our progress,” Johnson said.

“And I must stress that we will do whatever it takes to keep the public safe.”

CNBC Health & Science​

Read CNBC’s latest coverage of the Covid pandemic:
CDC cheered and criticized for new mask guidance; retail workers don’t want to be vaccine ‘police’
Brazil braces for renewed Covid surge as Bolsonaro faces parliamentary inquiry over pandemic response
Plane, train and bus travelers still need to wear masks, even if they’re vaccinated
CDC says fully vaccinated people don’t need to wear face masks indoors or outdoors in most settings

Data on the new variant published Thursday by Public Health England showed that the number of cases across the U.K. had risen from 520 last week to 1,313 this week, with most cases concentrated in northwest England and a few clusters in London.

I'm just relying on the data and the conclusion is a pretty straightforward affair

The "experts" are not allowed the freedom to voice their actual opinions because they have to stick to the narrative that they have been told to follow. I, on the other hand, am free to state the obvious.

You can see from the graphs that the tide is turning in India without reaching anywhere near the same case count as the worst hit countries eg the USA, UK etc.

You can analyse the data yourself by going to https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus#coronavirus-country-profiles and selecting the country and the parameter you are interested in.

View attachment 110896
Wrong. Again. Call it 0 for 229 tries. Failed again.

Ez9mXq9UYAECeJg.png

View attachment 110896

you data is taken out of context

we cannot read izzit?

you data is taken out of context

we cannot read izzit?

So how would you put things in context using the data from the website? Please contribute your findings and conclusions.

ceca will say they get it at the airport arrival, not before departure

So how would you put things in context using the data from the website? Please contribute your findings and conclusions.

We have tried to ask you to come in for treatment on many occasions. It is not only you that will suffer the consequences, it is whomever you come into contact with, spreading lies and misinformation.

We as doctors understand why you do it. No one wants to willingly rip into the pain and suffering that exists at the core of your psyche.

But running from pain is all you are doing. At some point, it all went very wrong for you, as we can all see

kindly contact us for an assessment:

https://www.imh.com.sg/

Institute of Mental Health
http://www.imh.com.sg/
Buangkok Green Medical Park
10 Buangkok View
Singapore 539747