• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

JB Poodle Chief Strikes back at Sinkie Drivers!!!

MarrickG

430,000 summons still not paid

SINGAPOREANS often paint themselves as victims of crime in Johor.

NP_IMAGES_ZYCHIEF_8t.jpg
THEY COME TO SHOP: 60,000 Singaporeans visit Johor daily, says Johor police chief. TNP PICTURE: ZAIHAN MOHAMED YUSOF

But they form a large group of recalcitrant offenders themselves, says Johor Police Chief Datuk Mokhtar Shariff.

Almost half a million traffic summonses have yet to be settled by Singaporeans, he said.

'They owe the Malaysian government RM128 million ($52m) in traffic fines.'

The figures were revealed during an exclusive interview at Mr Mokhtar's office at the police headquarters in Johor Baru last Thursday.

Since 1990, 679,342 summonses have been issued to Singaporean drivers by traffic cops in the whole of Malaysia.

Only 250,118 summonses had been settled, with about RM22 million collected from Singapore motorists as fines.

This year alone, 25,451 summonses were issued to Singaporeans for traffic-related offences.

But fewer than 2,000 summonses were paid, said Mr Mokhtar, who became police chief on 9 Jan 2008.

Big targets

The tough-talking chief is a man with enormous responsibilities, as he occupies a hot seat.

His job includes keeping crime low in Johor and ensuring that Johoreans and Singaporeans who visit the state are safe from criminals.

He also has to meet the targets set by Prime Minister Najib Razak - to cut crime by 20 per cent.

Such goals can hardly be easy, especially when public perception about safety and crime appear to be at an all-time low.

The Malaysian Ministry of Home Affairs recently had an online poll on its website.

When The New Paper checked, it showed that 97 per cent of the 9,776 votes said the respondents did not feel safe, because of the high crime rate.

More than 60 per cent said this was because they or their family members had been victims of crime.

Only 1 per cent said they felt safe.

However, as it was an online poll, it was not known how many people had voted or who they were. It was possible for one person to vote many times.

Mr Mokhtar, 51, also wanted to 'set the record straight' on snatch thefts.

He said: 'The biggest concern for Singaporeans is snatch thefts. When it happens in one case, everybody will report in the newspapers and TV as though there is total breakdown of law and order. That is not correct.

'We have seen an increase in tourism this year. Half the visitors to Malaysia are Singaporeans and about 60,000 Singaporeans come into Johor daily. Does this show that the place is unsafe?'

There is a difference between reality and perception, Mr Mokhtar said.

The reality is that out of 500 cases reported in Johor so far this year, only 31 cases involved Singaporean victims.

From 1 Jan to 20 Jul, Johor police have arrested 171 snatch thieves and roadside robbers in 'quick cash' crimes.

Most of them were drug addicts, who targeted hotspots often visited by Singaporeans like Tebrau, Taman Sentosa, Pasar Tani and Jusco shopping mall, he said.

A special task force consisting of police officers from various departments have been mobilised to deal with the snatch theft scourge.

Snatch thieves using motorcycles to commit crimes now have to contend with traffic cops on motorbikes who will give chase during patrols.

Mr Mokhtar revealed that 22 hardcore snatch thieves have also been taken off the streets.

Crime syndicates are also on Mr Mokhtar's radar.

Said Mr Mokhtar: 'I know there are syndicates operating here. There are drug syndicates, prostitution, gaming, on-line betting... some involving Singaporeans.

'We have taken action including preventive laws because you know these people are very cunning.'

Progress is being made and the public must know that the police are on their toes and are in control, he said.

Added Mr Mokhtar: 'We have brought down the crime rate by 13 per cent for the period of 1 Jan to 29 Jul compared with the same period last year.

'Our solving rate is 42 per cent - more than the Interpol standard of 20 percent. Nevertheless, there is still plenty of room for improvement.'

The intended outcome of clamping down hard on crime is to attract more visitors and investments in Johor.

He said: 'It's very important for us to see the success of Iskandar Malaysia (Iskandar Development Region).

'We want to lure foreign investors, particularly our neighbours. We want Singaporeans to invest and the key issue here is security.'

Mr Mokhtar and his team of officers have identified six keys to boosting security and lowering crime.

These are enhanced intelligence gathering, increased police presence, aggressive policing like more raids and checks, more use of modern technology, stronger public support through crime prevention initiatives and improved police image.

The strategies are being supported and financed by the Johor state government and Iskandar Regional Development Authority.

More police added

The police chief also wants local town councils and private businesses to help combat crime.

In terms of manpower, there are 6,659 police personnel in Johor with an additional 443 policemen joining the ranks this year.

The Inspector General of Police has made Johor a priority in terms of logistical support and manpower, Mr Mokhtar said.

When asked about corruption, Mr Mokhtar said he has warned his men against it and taken action against police officers taking bribes.

But his warning goes to Singaporeans, too.

He said: 'When you bribe (a police officer during a traffic stop), you've not only broken the law, but you're endangering yourself.

'You may think you can keep on speeding because the next time you get stopped, you think you can pay.

'But the danger is when you speed you may crash into somebody, killing others and yourself.

'So don't bribe. Respect the law.'

And if a Malaysian cop insists on being bribed, the police chief said he will investigate.

But only if there is information to be handed to the police.

He said: 'If you have information on any policeman who have asked for money, please have the courage to report it.

'Call me. Let's work together in creating a safe environment for us.'

# CALL FOR HELP

Johor Police hotline: +607 221 2999
Nusajaya police station: +607 511 4222
Batu Pahat police station: +607 434 1222

MarrickG

In summary:

SINGAPOREANS often paint themselves as victims of crime in Johor.(Sinkie Wayang)

They (Sinkie) owe the Malaysian government RM128 million ($52m) in traffic fines. (Malaysia poor because Sinkie dun pay)

The biggest concern for Singaporeans is snatch thefts. When it happens in one case, everybody will report in the newspapers and TV as though there is total breakdown of law and order. (Sinkies are drama Kings/Queen)

'I know there are syndicates operating here. There are drug syndicates, prostitution, gaming, on-line betting... some involving Singaporeans. 'We have taken action including preventive laws because you know these people are very cunning.'(Sinkies are actually the cunning criminals in JB)

The police chief also wants local town councils and private businesses to help combat crime. (Employ more Bumis so that they will not turn to crime?)

In terms of manpower, there are 6,659 police personnel in Johor with an additional 443 policemen joining the ranks this year. (more poodles to suck you sinkies)

When asked about corruption, Mr Mokhtar said he has warned his men against it and taken action against police officers taking bribes. But his warning goes to Singaporeans, too. (You Sinkies are the cause of it because you offered it)

And if a Malaysian cop insists on being bribed, the police chief said he will investigate. (The poodles must insist har...if not, not counted)

MarrickG

Complain about high crime rate, they will just employ more poodle to get more money from you.

At least they give you a choice "You want receipt? If yes, pay RM300 at the police station that will take you half a day. If no, just settle the issue for RM50 and leave immediately" Which idiot would choose the latter?

Sinkie poodles too autocratic, they dun let you choose.

saratogas

While JB Police Chief complains about Singapore drivers... Our Prataman give their top police an award. Ha ha ha...

Channel NewsAsia - The Singapore government conferred the Distinguished Service Order (Darjah Utama Bakti Cemerlang) on the inspector—general of the Malaysian police, Musa Hassan, at the Istana on Monday.

He received the award from President SR Nathan at the Istana.

According to the citation, Singapore has been a beneficiary of Mr Musa’s active and significant contributions in promoting close bilateral ties between the police forces of Malaysia and Singapore.

The excellent cooperation in the areas of intelligence investigations, training and sharing of information has yielded tremendous operational benefits in combatting terrorism and crime.

Singapore added that the Royal Malaysian Police has also contributed greatly in furthering the region’s capacity to meet various security challenges.

During his visit to Singapore, Mr Musa also called on Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

KNN just pay RM50 to the polis who stop you!

Aiyah!...just tell them polis , that you are a palm reader, and today was his lucky day...he gets RM100 :biggrin:

They are known to wait for the sinGAPORE cars, which we in Chinese says are "yeow Qian Shu" ( shake the money tree)...

cooleo

Typical Mat mentality - Penny wise pound foolish.

If we Sinkaporeans du lan and don't go JB, you think they can reap our tourism dollars? U think all those seafood restaurants can depend on the local mats to survive?

Furthermore, most of our fines pass to their poodles 'under the table' one leh! Don't say we never pay fine hor!
:oIo: