• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is the economy really recovering?

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Is the economy really recovering?</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:31 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 6) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32586.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>May 2, 2010

special report: jobless update
Importance of saving hits home

The economy is looking up, but how has life been for Singaporeans who were retrenched during the downturn last year? In February last year, in the midst of the recession following the worldwide financial meltdown, The Sunday Times launched a Need A Job column. We featured 42 people who were looking for full-time employment over the course of 21 weeks. One year on, we revisit three of them to see how they are faring. Jamie Ee Wen Wei reports.

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
a16.jpg
Laid off in 2008, Ms Ophelia Lim now works as a merchandiser for a shoe chain. She lost $20,000 in a business venture with a friend.

<!-- story content : start -->
http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Home/Story/STIStory_521669.html
It has been a rocky time for Ms Ophelia Lim. She got a job, then was told to go on no-pay leave. So she went into business with a friend, but lost $20,000 when that venture failed. Then, she got ano- ther job but quit after three weeks.
In late 2008, she was laid off from her job as a fashion merchandiser when her company shrank its operations. She had been there for three years and was earning about $3,000 a month.
When she was featured in The Sunday Times in February last year, she had been jobless for three months. Within a month, she was hired as a merchandiser by a fashion house. The job sounded promising. She would help the company develop its business at its factory in China while based in Singapore, and could try her hand at fashion design. Her pay was about $2,500.
But barely one month into the job, her employer told her to go on no-pay leave for six months. She took it as a cue to leave.
'I think it ran into some financial problems but I didn't call them to ask. There was no point because I had been working for only a few weeks,' said Ms Lim, 38.
Then came her lowest point - in September last year. She went into business with a friend and lost $20,000. They had set up a shop selling potato salad and sushi in Bishan. But within three months, the business folded when her partner pulled out suddenly.
'I was having so many sleepless nights. I didn't have a job at that time and all the money was just going down the drain.'
She resumed her job search, but did not hear from most of the companies she sent her resume to.
In February this year, she was hired by a firm to sell electronic components. But she quit after three weeks as 'it was too manly and too technical for me. I couldn't see myself doing it for long'.
The financial instability meant that her family had to cut back on extras. The divorcee lives with her three sons - aged 16, 11 and 10 - and her mother in a four-room flat in Toh Guan.
They cooked and stayed home during weekends. They also had to forgo celebrating special occasions like birthdays. 'There's no extra to buy presents, just a cake,' she said.
But things are looking up. Last month, she found a job as a merchandiser at shoe chain Chocolate Schu Bar through a newspaper advertisement.
She has taken a 20 per cent pay cut from her original fashion merchandising job, but she is not complaining. She says she is in a better state than many of her former colleagues in the fashion merchandising business, who are still jobless or taking low salaries.
'I'm lucky because the difference is just a few hundred dollars,' she said of her salary now.
Having survived the recession, Ms Lim, who has A-level qualifications, said the biggest lesson she has learnt is the importance of saving for a rainy day.
'It really hit me hard,' she said. 'My savings ran out within a few months. So now, even though I'm earning less, I make sure I save at least $50 a month.'

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The service industry is basically FTrashised by Pinoy and Burmese FTrash and they are now in position to perpetuate the vicious cycle by reserving job opportunities for their own village kakis. It's called Meleetrocracy if you wish. Don't comprain, Sporns. You're where you're today cos you've been signing off blank cheques to One Familee of TRAITORS for the past 40 years. And the amazing thing is that it's likely that you'll continue doing so in the cumming GE despite being screwed until you're worse than a POS!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:34 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (3 of 8) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32586.3 in reply to 32586.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>May 2, 2010

special report: jobless update
Staying positive in tough times

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
a17.jpg
Do not let anxiety get to you, says Mr Thomas Tay. He found a job after 11 months, through a friend's recommendation. -- ST PHOTOS: KEVIN LIM

<!-- story content : start -->
http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Home/Story/STIStory_521667.html
He had worked in a telecommunications company for more than 20 years and was a senior manager.
When his firm went through restructuring in late 2008, Mr Thomas Tay found himself jobless for the first time in his life.
The first two months were tough. 'I felt very restless. When I woke up in the morning, my body would still be getting ready to go to work,' said the 48-year-old.
Mr Tay, who has a master's degree in business (strategic marketing) from Curtin University of Technology in Australia, had hoped to find a job as a sales learning and development manager or project manager. But response to his resume was weak.
Still, he saw the bright side of things. For one thing, he found time to pick up hobbies like cycling and reading, and could spend more time with his family. 'After working for so many years, you find that, hey, a break is not that bad.'
It helped that his company had given him a fair remuneration package and he had savings.
He also made some changes to his lifestyle. 'We ate out less. We didn't go for our year-end holiday, but it was mainly because of my daughter's school activities.'
He is married with a 16-year-old daughter. His wife, a former teacher, is a housewife and they live in Yio Chu Kang.
In April last year, he thought he was close to securing a senior management position at a telecommunications firm. But after five rounds of interviews, he did not get the job.
'In the end, they just said the company had a change of plan; that's it, full stop.'
What kept him going was the support he received from his wife and daughter. 'They told me to just trust God for the job,' said the Christian.
In November, 11 months after he had lost his job, he was hired as a director of sales and business operations at a market research company. It came about through a friend's recommendation.
He is happy where he is now. 'It took some time to adjust to the culture... but I'm the type who likes to grow with the company. Job hopping just makes you unstable.'
He took a pay cut, but hopes his company will give him a raise in the next few months since the economy has picked up.
He has friends who were laid off and have also found jobs in recent months. But he said he is not feeling the effects of the economic recovery yet.
'Some sectors are doing very well but not all. I know of some companies which are still going through restructuring and people who lost jobs.'
If a financial crisis hits again, he will be more prepared.
In fact, friends who have lost their jobs have been going to him for advice. 'I tell them to stay positive and not to let their anxiety get to them... You will age faster,' he quipped.
'When the dust settles, you learn to accept it... You will get a job. It's just a matter of when.'

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

>>He took a pay cut, but hopes his company will give him a raise in the next few months since the economy has picked up.<<

Very naive leh. I suppose he also believe that raise GST can help the poor?

I think the sixth month something will happen .

After they upturn their salaries...very soon, all the news about the head's of this private company, that private company is getting so many millions, 100,000 jobs created, 1% increase in CPF.....and one one man wondering why I am here?....breaking the bottleneck....that is what will happen first....:p