• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is it necessary to have an oral surgeon to remove your wisdom tooth ?

LexLuthor

The difference between an ordinary dentist and an oral surgeon is the latter is trained in IV sedation, whatever that means.

If the tooth is above the surface of your gum, and incision and subsequent stitching is not required, does one need an oral surgeon to perform the task ?

Even if the root of the tooth touches the nerve in the lower jaw, the oral surgeon is still unable to avoid bruising the nerve when extracting the tooth.

IV sedation is very expensive. Most dental clinics charge around $700 for an hour just to remove your wisdom tooth. And all it takes is just 30 mins to remove your wisdom tooth. And you can't use your medisave when you go for IV sedation. This is my personal experience. I used to be terrified of going to the dentist due to my painful harrowing experience as a schoolboy in the 80s. Back then these old school dentists were cold blooded creatures without any sense of compassion for us kids. Fast forward 2021 last year. I had this aching painful throbbing pain and I knew it must be my wisdom tooth which was quite loose. Didn't eat properly for a week. Relied on painkillers but pain still refused to subside. Called this Clinic and asked for IV sedation. Was told need to make an appointment with the anaesthetist and I was quoted $800, not including the wisdom tooth removal. Total would be around 1.1K if my wisdom tooth was not too complex to be removed. Agreed with it but last minute clinic told me their anaesthetist was not available that day and I need to wait for 3 more days. I then cancelled it off as I couldn't wait much longer due to the pain. Went to the dental near my house. Told the dentist my phobia of injections. Told me not to worry and relax. Had a small chat with me when he put some gel on on my gum. 5 mins later he gave me 3x injections which I sweared was not painful at all. Waited 5 more mins. He then took out his extraction tool and gave my wisdom tooth some tugging before extracting it out. Totally painless. LOL. Told me the hole would heal itself in few weeks. Gave me some powerful painkillers and mouthwash. Cost me just $400. That night I was expecting pain due to the anesthesia weaning off but no pain even after that. I even went to my regular pub that night and had few beers with some Kakis. LOL. I think dental treatment is much more better and more humane now as compared to the yesteryears.

Thanks for the reassuring post, Bro.:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

I supposed your wisdom tooth had erupted above surface and it was not necessary to cut open your gum.

depends. if wisdom tooth is not so wise as to point sideways or oblique direction dentist will refer you to a dental surgeon who can remove parts of the tooth safely before removing the root at the end. stitching of lobang or any cuts in gum may be necessary depending on how unwise and crooked your tooth is. and then for 6.9 days you’ll sexperience the effect of the “phantom tooth.” surgeon will prescribe powderful painkillers for 6.9 days but you can refrain from taking the pills or capsules by suffering thru’ the pain and discomfort. otherwise, there’s risk of getting addicted to these painkillers. you’ll also have the temptation to keep licking the lobang and causing infection. better to stick a gauze pad (and change it often) at lobang to remind you not to mess with it with makan for at least 6.9 days. you should have a dental irrigation (hook) syringe to help you clean it every 6.9 hours. oh btw, a sexperienced surgeon can sedate half your mouth even for dental surgery without the need to put you to sleep.
F5F494F0-F732-4F2F-9D32-17351382DD4B.jpeg

Last time my uncle always heard many of his nsf went wisdom tooth extractions and mcs my uncle Did't know why he doesn't have. Onlee until a uncle then he know is the 3rd molar. He had a self check and leelised all his 3rd molar were already extracted while he still a pri school boy KNN need to thanks the school dentist for that KNN 3rd molar is leedudant so best to leemove during pri school.

better to stick a gauze pad (and change it often) at lobang to remind you not to mess with it with makan for at least 6.9 days.
Imuho sticking gauze should onlee be done the 1st few hours. Prolong sticking it can cause the clot to dislodge during gauze leeplacement causing the dry socket syndrome and leelaying the healing process.

Last time my uncle always heard many of his nsf went wisdom tooth extractions and mcs my uncle Did't know why he doesn't have. Onlee until a uncle then he know is the 3rd molar. He had a self check and leelised all his 3rd molar were already extracted while he still a pri school boy KNN need to thanks the school dentist for that KNN 3rd molar is leedudant so best to leemove during pri school.

Yes, your uncle Alan Tang's 3rd molar was removed at the time when the root of his 3rd molar was as short as his kuku and had yet to touch the nerve. So it's recommended that the wisdom tooth be removed before it's well developed - normally after 25 years old it'd have touched the nerve.

depends. if wisdom tooth is not so wise as to point sideways or oblique direction dentist will refer you to a dental surgeon who can remove parts of the tooth safely before removing the root at the end. stitching of lobang or any cuts in gum may be necessary depending on how unwise and crooked your tooth is. and then for 6.9 days you’ll sexperience the effect of the “phantom tooth.” surgeon will prescribe powderful painkillers for 6.9 days but you can refrain from taking the pills or capsules by suffering thru’ the pain and discomfort. otherwise, there’s risk of getting addicted to these painkillers. you’ll also have the temptation to keep licking the lobang and causing infection. better to stick a gauze pad (and change it often) at lobang to remind you not to mess with it with makan for at least 6.9 days. you should have a dental irrigation (hook) syringe to help you clean it every 6.9 hours. oh btw, a sexperienced surgeon can sedate half your mouth even for dental surgery without the need to put you to sleep.
View attachment 142717

It's the horror stories perpetuated by oral surgeons trying to snatch business away from ordinary dentists that are touching my nerves.

Imuho sticking gauze should onlee be done the 1st few hours. Prolong sticking it can cause the clot to dislodge during gauze leeplacement causing the dry socket syndrome and leelaying the healing process.
because lobang in the mouth buay dry one lah unless patient is dead and becums mummified. always have saliva, water, sometimes beer, sometimes wine, sometimes cum if patient is a cocksucker. and most annoying plus blood for 6.9 days or so. must absorb blood with gauze until bleeding stops.

Told me not to worry and relax. Had a small chat with me when he put some gel on on my gum. 5 mins later he gave me 3x injections which I sweared was not painful at all. Waited 5 more mins. He then took out his extraction tool and gave my wisdom tooth some tugging before extracting it out. Totally painless. LOL. Told me the hole would heal itself in few weeks. Gave me some powerful painkillers and mouthwash. Cost me just $400. That night I was expecting pain due to the anesthesia weaning off but no pain even after
Upper wisdom tooth or lower one? Upper one very fast, pull and it came out. Male dentist is preferred because they are strong. Female one no energy to pull. Minior stitch to seal it and you are good to go. I heard lower tooth need some "surgery" because it is attached to our nerves. and can use medisave? After that go MC few days.

because lobang in the mouth buay dry one lah unless patient is dead and becums mummified. always have saliva, water, sometimes beer, sometimes wine, sometimes cum if patient is a cocksucker. and most annoying plus blood for 6.9 days or so. must absorb blood with gauze until bleeding stops.

When I removed my 2nd molar, I needed the gauze for a full day. I had the tooth removed in the afternoon, and after replacing 2 pieces of gauze I sought to have it removed completely. Within seconds blood started gushing out of the hole and I had a mouthful of blood. I kept the gauze until the next morning.

Upper wisdom tooth or lower one? Upper one very fast, pull and it came out. Male dentist is preferred because they are strong. Female one no energy to pull. Minior stitch to seal it and you are good to go. I heard lower tooth need some "surgery" because it is attached to our nerves. and can use medisave? After that go MC few days.

Did you lose your sense of taste ? What did the oral surgeon do that the general dentist could not to avoid bruising your nerve ?

Screenshot_1.jpg

When I removed my 2nd molar, I needed the gauze for a full day. I had the tooth removed in the afternoon, and after replacing 2 pieces of gauze I sought to have it removed completely. Within seconds blood started gushing out of the hole and I had a mouthful of blood. I kept the gauze until the next morning.
yalor. with impacted unwise tooth removed by surgery in pieces, blood flow may last a few days even with stitches. after gulps of own blood for too long may becum a vampire.:tongue:

Mine is the lower wisdom. Actually my tooth already loose so dentist had an easier time extracting it out. Whole process took around 30 mins I didn't had the hole stitched. Dentist just put a gauze on it. I guess I was lucky that I didn't have too much bleeding or pain from the extraction. Went back home and after few hours, changed into a new gauze. In fact I went out without the gauze when I met up with my Kakis at the pub that night. I even smoked like normal after the extraction and had few beers that night. Went home popped some painkillers as a precaution, gurgled the dentist's issued mouthwash and went to bed after that. Next day woke up like normal. Ate porridge for breakfast. I didn't put on the gauze since there was not much bleeding or swell. I even ate KFC chicken for lunch that day. Only irritating part was some bits of food would be stuck in the hole each time I makan something. It was a mighty relief for me having that troublesome wisdom tooth extracted since it caused me immense pain for nearly a week. As for the medisave part, I was not able to do any claim since the clinic was not under the Medisave scheme. But then again I was just thankful of getting rid of that problematic tooth.

I believe you were not entitled to use medisave because it wasn't a surgery but extraction.

$400 per tooth is not expensive, which dentist? You still have another wisdom tooth intact right? You can volunteer to have it extracted to prevent future nightmare. As for mine, the two lower wisdom teeth are sinking deeper and deeper into my skin. I fear future extraction might be a challenge. So far no pain having it there, but I felt it is redundant. Planing to take it out in future.

I blame my phobia of going to the dentist on that old bitch primary school dentist of mine way back in 86. She was a terrifying sadistic bitch.

At a neighborhood dental clinic in Tampines.
Yup. In fact I'm thinking of getting my another wisdom tooth extracted to avoid future problems. Will probably do it before end of the year.