• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

IRAS collude with HDB to collect Ilegal Taxes from Peasants, where is WP on this?

Recently, the property tax rates were release by IRAS and published in the Shit Times. It got me wondering. Clearly, property taxes have to be paid by the property owner. Even IRAS says that. So all these decades, IRAS have been levying and collecting property taxes from HDB flat dwellers. The only problem is that the HDB flat dwellers are not the owners of their flats. HDB is. The flat dwellers are merely tenants. It says so in their contract. BY this definition, since flat dwellers are not legally owners of their flats, IRAS must charge the HDB for the property taxes and not the flat dweller. For 5 room flats, it can be as much as $150 annually. Given that there are just over 1 million flats in Singapore and assuming an average of $100 per flat, IRAS collects $100 million a year in property taxes, a fairly substantial sum.

The have a registered mortgage on their flat, but that does not make them the owner. They merely borrowed the money from the bank to pre-pay their rent for 99 years upfront. Because the sum is so large, the banks need to register a mortgage on their deed. The "title deed" to their flat is released to them when all mortgages have been paid up. Even the so called Title Deed" clearly states that you do not own the flat. So at the end of the day, you are not the flat owner, then why is IRAS coming after you to pay the property tax? Be very clear that HDB is colluding with IRAS on this. HDB should be stepping up to the plate and paying these property taxes themselves instead of allowing IRAS to levy it. They might be even complicit with IRAS to squeeze out $100 million from the peasants.

This issue has been long overdue on the national stage, and should have been brought up during the last elections. How? By a very simple lawsuit, single or class action against the IRAS a few months before the election. The WP is populated with lawyers ranging from Pritam Singh, Sylvia Lim, Chen SHow Mao, etc. with the resources available to them from a $17,000 a month salary, at any time they could have filed a lawsuit against IRAS to stop the IRAS from collecting this tax and fight for a refund of all the years previous taxes back to the flat dwellers. I don't see how the lawsuit can fail, and if the WP wins, it would have resulted in flat dwellers getting potentially thousands of tax dollars in refund from IRAS. Do you think people would not follow the lawsuit leading up to the elections? At the very least, they can say the WP is doing something to help them, and it drives home the point that sinkies do not own their pigeon holes. All this during the election period. If they lose, it would still say something about their commitment to the people, to fight for them. If they win, and IRAS somehow refuses to give the refund, then the people can see the govt is playing dirty and it will cost them votes.

Some people will argue that the HDB agreement says you are still responsible for the things like conservancy fees, property taxes, etc. This may be through. But the HDB document is not law. Its just one of the conditions of your sales and purchase contract, no better then a policy in actual practice. The IRAS ability to define who can pay taxes and then collect it is a constitutional law. This is the law of the land. And the law of the land clearly says that only flat owners have to pay the property tax, not their tenants. Contrast this with a tenant in a private condo. Does IRAS levy the property tax against them specifically or against the condo owner? It obviously levies it against the owner. The same principal is not being applied to HDB flat dwellers, hence IRAS' collection of property taxes from HDB flat dwellers is outright illegal.

It does not take a genius to figure this out. WP should be taking the lead as they are the supposed official oppo. The fact they are strangely silent on this proof that they are non other then PAP lackeys. 70%s sinkies are dumber then dog shit.

Most home owners to pay less property tax next year
HDB flat owners will see tax savings of 9 to 24 per cent, and more than 80 per cent of private home owners will see savings of between 3 and 20 per cent, says the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore.

SINGAPORE: Most home owners here will pay less property tax next year compared to the amount paid this year, said the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) on Monday (Nov 30).

Owners of Housing and Development Board (HDB) flats will see tax savings of 9 to 24 per cent, while more than 80 per cent of private home owners with reduced annual values will see savings of between 3 and 20 per cent, IRAS said in a press release.

In fact, all 1- and 2-room HDB flat owner-occupiers and 28,200 3-room HDB flat owner-occupiers will not have to pay any property tax when the revised annual values take effect from Jan 1 next year, it added.

Property tax is a tax on property ownership
and it is payable on all properties regardless of whether the property is rented out, owner-occupied or left vacant, IRAS said.

It is ownership sir. You can't sell what does not belong to you.

You don't own it retard. when you "sell" your flat, all you are doing is having someone else take over your 99 year lease. In exchange for the privilege of giving up your right to live there, they compensate you with money. Part of the compensation is to pay back the money you already pre-paid for the 99 year lease, and the rest is just a premium to you to assign the flat to them. Together, these 2 elements comprise the selling price. Most sinkies dont consciously know they are doing this.

Its just like when you lease a car. You can have someone take over the lease from you too. Sometimes money is exchange too, but you don't own the car. the leasing company does. Anything else I can explain to you?

aerobwala

We can refuse to pay, but IRAS would a few months later appoints bank as their collection agent and monies in your bank account get deducted for supposedly tax due and late payment penalty.

You don't own it retard. when you "sell" your flat, all you are doing is having someone else take over your 99 year lease. In exchange for the privilege of giving up your right to live there, they compensate you with money. Part of the compensation is to pay back the money you already pre-paid for the 99 year lease, and the rest is just a premium to you to assign the flat to them. Together, these 2 elements comprise the selling price. Most sinkies dont consciously know they are doing this.

Its just like when you lease a car. You can have someone take over the lease from you too. Sometimes money is exchange too, but you don't own the car. the leasing company does. Anything else I can explain to you?

So going by your logic, all leasehold properties on this planet are not really owned correct?

Leasehold include 999 years too?

garlic

HDB will claim the flats are heavily subsidised, so sinkies gotta pay.. and pay.. and pay..

So going by your logic, all leasehold properties on this planet are not really owned correct?

Leasehold include 999 years too?

That is not correct. How a leasehold property works is as follows:

Someone owns a piece of land. A developer comes to him and wants to build a high rise condo on it. Instead of selling him the land, the owner decides to lease it to the developer. The lease can be for 999 years or 99 years, whatever is agreed between them. The developer (when in Asia) usually pays upfront and buys the right to the lease period from the owner. e.g. $10 million for the right to 40,000 sq ft piece of land for 99 years.

The developer then proceeds to build his high rise after obtaining the lease. After completion of the building, the developer sells it to end users like you and me. What we own when we buy it from the developer is the actual building itself. In other words, we own the 4 walls, the floor, finishings, etc. All the buyers in the building therefore collectively own the whole physical building they live in. This is not the case with the HDB flats. You do not own the building or your individual unit, you are just a tenant. Also Because you are a condo owner of the building, you can do what ever you want with it. Lets say 50 years after you bought the building, all the owners decide to tear it down and build a new building. They can freely do so because they own it. If they do build a new building, then they have 49 years left to live in it if they are on a 99 year leasehold land. Again, you cannot do this with a HDB flat. When you have a leasehold property, no one can kick you out on the pretext of upgrading you. You may be forced to sell your unit by govt decree, if they are appropriating the land for a highway or something. But what happened to the early residence of the HDB 99 year flats in Queenstown cannot happen to you.

The 99 year lease on expiration has termination terms that were negotiated by the developer at the time he acquired the land from the owner. eg. the land may revert back to the owner with or without the building on it. In some cases, the condo owners may have the option to buy the land from owner. In other cases, the lease says the building must be torn down and the land returned to owner in the same condition (i.e. bare land). There are many other combinations of such conditions. Therefore a HDB leasehold is actually not a leasehold, its a lease. Its a pre-paid 99 year rental. Very different from a true leasehold.

ahpong

That is not correct. How a leasehold property works is as follows:

Someone owns a piece of land. A developer comes to him and wants to build a high rise condo on it. Instead of selling him the land, the owner decides to lease it to the developer. The lease can be for 999 years or 99 years, whatever is agreed between them. The developer (when in Asia) usually pays upfront and buys the right to the lease period from the owner. e.g. $10 million for the right to 40,000 sq ft piece of land for 99 years.

The developer then proceeds to build his high rise after obtaining the lease. After completion of the building, the developer sells it to end users like you and me. What we own when we buy it from the developer is the actual building itself. In other words, we own the 4 walls, the floor, finishings, etc. All the buyers in the building therefore collectively own the whole physical building they live in. This is not the case with the HDB flats. You do not own the building or your individual unit, you are just a tenant. Also Because you are a condo owner of the building, you can do what ever you want with it. Lets say 50 years after you bought the building, all the owners decide to tear it down and build a new building. They can freely do so because they own it. If they do build a new building, then they have 49 years left to live in it if they are on a 99 year leasehold land. Again, you cannot do this with a HDB flat. When you have a leasehold property, no one can kick you out on the pretext of upgrading you. You may be forced to sell your unit by govt decree, if they are appropriating the land for a highway or something. But what happened to the early residence of the HDB 99 year flats in Queenstown cannot happen to you.

The 99 year lease on expiration has termination terms that were negotiated by the developer at the time he acquired the land from the owner. eg. the land may revert back to the owner with or without the building on it. In some cases, the condo owners may have the option to buy the land from owner. In other cases, the lease says the building must be torn down and the land returned to owner in the same condition (i.e. bare land). There are many other combinations of such conditions. Therefore a HDB leasehold is actually not a leasehold, its a lease. Its a pre-paid 99 year rental. Very different from a true leasehold.

Yes, there is a difference between a lease and a 99-yr leasehold, though your explanation is not quite right. Please also go and read the definition of "owner" under the Property Tax Act.

PretenderSam

We can refuse to pay, but IRAS would a few months later appoints bank as their collection agent and monies in your bank account get deducted for supposedly tax due and late payment penalty.

this is what happened with the PAP in charge
proof that they are very efficient in getting the job done
thanks to PAP
singapore has the best tax collecting system in the world

Yes, there is a difference between a lease and a 99-yr leasehold, though your explanation is not quite right. Please also go and read the definition of "owner" under the Property Tax Act.

Instead of making these vague statements, why don't you quote us the definition under the Property Tax Act so that everyone can read it?

I am not saying to refuse to pay. I am saying that a legal action has to be taken at the courts to determine whether HDB flat dwellers have to pay. That is different.

bigboss

Every one knows that HDB is the landowner, not the sinkies or the SPR who bought the flats. Question here is when the HDB took back the flats on en bloc exercise and each flat owner was given a new replacement flat, would the SPR owner also get a new replacement flat?

So, if SPR being a foreigner could not buy a new flat from HDB, then they could get a new flat through this en bloc exercise. Here you are ... dumb pappies and smart SPR who chose to buy old HDB flat looking at en bloc exercise in near future. It looks like life is extremely good to SPR is sinkie land.

Every one knows that HDB is the landowner, not the sinkies or the SPR who bought the flats. Question here is when the HDB took back the flats on en bloc exercise and each flat owner was given a new replacement flat, would the SPR owner also get a new replacement flat?

So, if SPR being a foreigner could not buy a new flat from HDB, then they could get a new flat through this en bloc exercise. Here you are ... dumb pappies and smart SPR who chose to buy old HDB flat looking at en bloc exercise in near future. It looks like life is extremely good to SPR is sinkie land.

In my opinion, en bloc is a sucker's game for the flat dweller and a win win for HDB. firstly, as a percentage of the overall inventory, en bloc flats are a small percentage and quite rare. It may be more common in the future as they get older. The problem with the en bloc is that the new flat that you are being moved to has a valuation put on it by the HDB. The older flat that you are living in and which you have to give up for the en bloc has a value put on it by the market. This is a big difference. In my opinion, there is no advantage to an en bloc, even if there is money coming back to you. The compensation calculations take into account the housing loan and the CPF repayment. I don't know how much people get at the end of the day. Some people cannot get enough to even qualify for the new flats offered. SPR can get the new flat, but they do not have the 20% subsidized grant. In other words, they would have overpaid. Any SPR looking to purposely en bloc is a dumb SPR.

Bro, tats suicidal, like tanks vs rifles.

The legal action is not suicidal. U win or u lose. U can expect to lose, but in the case of the WP, they have so many lawyers, the cost of the legal proceedings is not alot. More important then that, they would have generated publicity and got people thinking on the eve of the election. They may lose the lawsuit but win the public opinion.

shittypore

After what happened :*:to our freedom fighter JBJ, WP new Chief secretly wearing white underwear and white socks.