• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

iPhone 4 reception test using Sinkie SIM Card

cooleo

http://asia.cnet.com/crave/2010/07/08/testing-the-iphone-4-antenna-issue-in-singapore/

iphone4sh_500x375.jpg

The image you see here is an iPhone 4 equipped with a SIM card from Singapore operator StarHub. The external antenna on this mobile phone has been getting a lot of attention because you can apparently cause the signal strength to drop drastically just by holding it a certain way. We tried this when standing outdoors and weren't able to reproduce the drop in signal bars. However, we redid the test indoors and, sure enough, we noticed the bars dropping once we put the iPhone in the "death grip". Watch the video after the jump to see it for yourself.

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/JoQDg--DwLU&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/JoQDg--DwLU&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

We haven't demonstrated anything that hasn't already been well-documented by folks in the US and UK. What did surprise us a little was that we couldn't reproduce the signal loss at all outdoors when it was so evident indoors. We suspect the quality of the cellular network has a big part to play in this whole iPhone 4 antenna issue.

Apple is preparing a software "fix" that will change the way this smartphone reports signal strength, but this won't do anything for the antenna as that's obviously a hardware issue. Still, we don't know if Apple will tweak the hardware in future batches of the iPhone 4 (perhaps coat the antenna with plastic?) so that users cannot come into direct contact with the metal part to cause interference. We'll test this out once commercial units meant for this market are available in Singapore.

wu kanna bor, talk like no talk, wah lau eh. But i think this is a hardware problem, I doubt Apple will fix it, maybe next generation of iPhone, this sucks......

According to 1 IPhone fanboy friend of mine logic, its not a problem coz the issue will be offset by the cover which 99% of the Iphone users will get anyway. That kind of sums up all apple products in general. If U ever wonder why Apple products are always superior to everyone else, that's because their flaws are not flaws at all they are features.

I still remember the time when Apple announce proudly that cut and paste is not needed and in their next phone iteration, the intro cut and paste as a "feature". Something that already existed in every other phone since the stone age is lauded as "innovative" by Apple fanboys.

Seriously they have a good phone, they just need to stop covering up their mistakes and start fixing them. Then again, most Iphone fanboys seem too stupid to realize those are actually problems and not "features"

Oh and BTW U need to have really clean ears and a dark room to use the Iphone

Yes, you heard that right. Clean ears. The Unofficial Apple Weblog's Aron Trimble reports that Apple's very own experts at his local Genius bar told him that the proximity sensor issue was most likely caused by light reflecting around the shiny insides of his lughole.

The proximity sensor problem first raised its ugly head last month, with hundreds of new iPhone owners complaining of involuntary texting, disconnection and cheek dialling, caused by the sensor's inability to distinguish when the phone was clamped to the users head. When the phone is to your ear the screen is supposed to be locked, but it seems that with some iPhone 4 handsets it's not - and assorted accidental navigation selections ensue.

Trimble says "Knowing others were having issues with their proximity sensor, I made an appointment at my local Apple Store with one of the esteemed 'Geniuses'. I swear he stifled a laugh when he told me the cause of the problem. Apparently, the re-location of the proximity sensor in iPhone 4 causes the sensor to be more likely to be triggered by light 'bouncing around the ear canal'." He was then advised to try closing the windows to avoid extra ambient light in the room, and sent on his way.

Amazing. Presumably we can add that to the catalogue of surprisingly inventive Apple excuses for why their kit doesn't work, which also include 'you're holding it wrong', 'oops, we got the algorithm that calculates the signal strength display wrong - but you have got reception really' and 'it works fine if you just buy a case'.

http://www.broadbandgenie.co.uk/news/20100707-iphone-4-proximity-sensor-problems-caused-by-clean-ears-says-apple

Enough with the iPhone crap! Settle for the Samsung Galaxy and solve the whole problem!

According to 1 IPhone fanboy friend of mine logic, its not a problem coz the issue will be offset by the cover which 99% of the Iphone users will get anyway. That kind of sums up all apple products in general. If U ever wonder why Apple products are always superior to everyone else, that's because their flaws are not flaws at all they are features.

I still remember the time when Apple announce proudly that cut and paste is not needed and in their next phone iteration, the intro cut and paste as a "feature". Something that already existed in every other phone since the stone age is lauded as "innovative" by Apple fanboys.

Seriously they have a good phone, they just need to stop covering up their mistakes and start fixing them. Then again, most Iphone fanboys seem too stupid to realize those are actually problems and not "features"
Haiyoh i know lah, I'm Apple users leh, i just feel this is a big issue to Apple, LOL :p:p

Btw, what happen to you? long time no see you, kenna infractions again huh? lol

Haiyoh i know lah, I'm Apple users leh, i just feel this is a big issue to Apple, LOL :p:p

Btw, what happen to you? long time no see you, kenna infractions again huh? lol

Mr SIFU banned me coz he doesn't like the fact that I pointed out 1 of the Japanese player was born in Brazil and accused me of being pro-FT. That and I was actually in Japan for the last couple of weeks so I cant be bothered that I was actually banned. I'll be traveling after next week so U can expect to see less of me

Mr SIFU banned me coz he doesn't like the fact that I pointed out 1 of the Japanese player was born in Brazil and accused me of being pro-FT. That and I was actually in Japan for the last couple of weeks so I cant be bothered that I was actually banned. I'll be traveling after week so U can expect to see less of me

u r banned for being a undercover PAP dog :cool:

Mr SIFU banned me coz he doesn't like the fact that I pointed out 1 of the Japanese player was born in Brazil and accused me of being pro-FT. That and I was actually in Japan for the last couple of weeks so I cant be bothered that I was actually banned. I'll be traveling after week so U can expect to see less of me
Alamak.. *faint, hahaha.... :p:p:p, dunno what happened between you 2, but i think you 2 are ok lah, mai angry mai angry, hahaha :p:p:p

u r banned for being a undercover PAP dog :cool:

How pointing out the fact that 1 Japanese player is born in Brazil and PAP can be linked as one is beyond me. I actually found out about the Brazilian born player while watching TV in Japan when they brought it up.

To put this in perspective. From what I've read this dropping in signal happens to ALL phones if you cover the antenna, where ever it's located.

Some have claimed that the reception of the iPhone4 is better than the older iPhone3GS, even if you hold the iPhone4 using the "death grip" :) Personally don't know since I don't own any iphones.

Apple is having problems making enough iPhone4 to meet demand.
In the US they are offering refunds if customers are unhappy with their iPhone4. The share prices of APPL is on the way up, so this "death grip" problem is minor & may not even be an issue if you use a case or hold the iPhone differently.

To put this in perspective. From what I've read this dropping in signal happens to ALL phones if you cover the antenna, where ever it's located.

Actually thats not quite true. This is a uniquely Apple issue due to the fact that the steel frame around the handset doubles as its antenna. The problem comes from the fact that when the IPhone users wrap their fingers around that antenna, it effectively grounds the circuit making the antenna invalid hence the reason for telling users to hold it some other way. This is also the reason why the protective cover works coz it prevents the finger from touching the antenna.

As for signal dropping on other phones, try picking up a random phone, sit or place something to cover the entire phone and chances are it wont affect the signal.
Though Apple says every mobile phone has similar issues, it's not a phenomenon the gadget experts at ISuppli Corp. have seen before. That's because nearly all smart phones — including earlier iPhone models — have the cell antenna packaged inside the case, along with the circuitry.

Gripping the lower part of the phone may interfere with a piece called a radio frequency ground plane, which helps amplify the phone's cell connection. That piece, said ISuppli hardware analyst Kevin Keller, is susceptible to electrical currents — even those from contact with human skin.

http://www.techencounter.net/2010/06/apple-on-iphone-4-signal-loss-youre.html

Like I say earlier, dun believe in everything that Apple tells U.