• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Indon FTrash Du Lan Being Charged $74 for 'Simple Meal'

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Chinatown foodstall charged tourists $74 for simple meal
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->ON TUESDAY, I took my three cousins from Indonesia to Chinatown for some sightseeing, and we had lunch at an eatery in Trengganu Street that sold chicken rice. As we were used to the hawker centre way of ordering food - the place did not look any fancier than a hawker stall - we went straight to the counter to order some chicken rice and drinks. I told my cousins that the last time I ate there, it had cost me no more than $4 a plate.
When the bill arrived, we were shocked to see that the cost came up to $74. Each plate of chicken rice cost us $12, and a plate of char siew cost $18. This was double the price we would have paid in the foodcourts of Ngee Ann City and Wisma Atria.
It is simply unthinkable that a simple eatery with outdoor plastic chairs and no air-conditioning could charge double what fancy foodcourts in Orchard Road charge.
We complained about the bill to the staff and the owner, who curtly said that everything was on the menu, that each plate of chicken rice was either $8, $10 or $12.
However, we were never shown this menu before or while we ordered, and the staff never asked us if we wanted the $8, $10 or $12 plate. Billboards displaying the menu also did not indicate the price. And it was not as if the staff could not explain the menu or prices to us earlier: At least one employee could speak English.
I wanted to show my cousins, who have not visited Singapore in nine years, that the country does not tolerate tourist scams. I was very disappointed that this practice still exists, even after widespread publicity of overcharging at Newton Circus.
I hope the Singapore Tourism Board takes notice of this issue and encourages food sellers to display prices on their menus to avoid such incidents in future. After all, we do not want people to stop coming to Singapore just because they have an unpleasant experience like this.
Elina Ciptadi (Ms)

Chinatown foodstall charged tourists $74 for simple meal
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr></tr><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></tbody></table>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->ON TUESDAY, I took my three cousins from Indonesia to Chinatown for some sightseeing, and we had lunch at an eatery in Trengganu Street that sold chicken rice. As we were used to the hawker centre way of ordering food - the place did not look any fancier than a hawker stall - we went straight to the counter to order some chicken rice and drinks. I told my cousins that the last time I ate there, it had cost me no more than $4 a plate.
When the bill arrived, we were shocked to see that the cost came up to $74. Each plate of chicken rice cost us $12, and a plate of char siew cost $18. This was double the price we would have paid in the foodcourts of Ngee Ann City and Wisma Atria.
It is simply unthinkable that a simple eatery with outdoor plastic chairs and no air-conditioning could charge double what fancy foodcourts in Orchard Road charge.
We complained about the bill to the staff and the owner, who curtly said that everything was on the menu, that each plate of chicken rice was either $8, $10 or $12.
However, we were never shown this menu before or while we ordered, and the staff never asked us if we wanted the $8, $10 or $12 plate. Billboards displaying the menu also did not indicate the price. And it was not as if the staff could not explain the menu or prices to us earlier: At least one employee could speak English.
I wanted to show my cousins, who have not visited Singapore in nine years, that the country does not tolerate tourist scams. I was very disappointed that this practice still exists, even after widespread publicity of overcharging at Newton Circus.
I hope the Singapore Tourism Board takes notice of this issue and encourages food sellers to display prices on their menus to avoid such incidents in future. After all, we do not want people to stop coming to Singapore just because they have an unpleasant experience like this.
Elina Ciptadi (Ms)

If GARMENT can scam their citizens, then surely nothing wrong with citizens scamming FTs.

This restaurant should be given a GOLD medal. CLAP clap clap clap!!!!

After all Indon FTs drive up housing costs in S'pore since 1970s

Another FTrash slashes and chop FTrash case!

Go to Chinatown and you will see that the Indons kenna potong babi by the Ah Tiongs selling chicken rice and babi goreng there.
If GARMENT can scam their citizens, then surely nothing wrong with citizens scamming FTs.

This restaurant should be given a GOLD medal. CLAP clap clap clap!!!!

After all Indon FTs drive up housing costs in S'pore since 1970s

We call this, 'tok chye tou'...or cut the vegetable head in direct translation, or the more correct one would be, taken for a ride.

Speak Bahasa Indonesia...sure stick out like a PLUMP BABI for a slaughter, ownwe quickly hide menu...chicken rice cost $2.50 a plater...maximum charge $12 aplater...condiments charge, perfumed paper towels charge, chopsticks charge..plain water charge...coca cola $1.60 a can..NOW $4.50...

Should have done their homework...vice versa, we go Indonesia...they seee us SINgaporeans...they will do likewise..

so, why complain...this is universal...'tok chye tou'...:D

Should have done their homework...vice versa, we go Indonesia...they seee us SINgaporeans...they will do likewise..

This is very much like those Sporeans civil servants going for "free" show in Patpong :D

Nothing is free for the poor tourists, especially in Spore :)

This is very much like those Sporeans civil servants going for "free" show in Patpong :D

Nothing is free for the poor tourists, especially in Spore :)

SINgapore evil serpents opps..I mean civil servants, gets things too easy here, and they thought Patong was Katong, SINgapore....the 'tong' sounds the same lah!...

Because Singapore welcomes foreigners and always give a fair deal, so foreigners kenna potong babi here they feel very very bray-song, very dulan and die die must complain.

It must have been a very generous portion served, they unsuspectedly makan thinking that it was balek kampong in Jakarta.

Thinking they got a bargain lunch, their happy conversation in Bahasa Indonesia give them away to the Ah Tiong manning the stall-a signal to 'tok chye tou'- cut the carrot head.

We call this, 'tok chye tou'...or cut the vegetable head in direct translation, or the more correct one would be, taken for a ride.

Speak Bahasa Indonesia...sure stick out like a PLUMP BABI for a slaughter, ownwe quickly hide menu...chicken rice cost $2.50 a plater...maximum charge $12 aplater...condiments charge, perfumed paper towels charge, chopsticks charge..plain water charge...coca cola $1.60 a can..NOW $4.50...

when the govt is money face. the people become money face too.

Because Singapore welcomes foreigners and always give a fair deal, so foreigners kenna potong babi here they feel very very bray-song, very dulan and die die must complain.

It must have been a very generous portion served, they unsuspectedly makan thinking that it was balek kampong in Jakarta.

Thinking they got a bargain lunch, their happy conversation in Bahasa Indonesia give them away to the Ah Tiong manning the stall-a signal to 'tok chye tou'- cut the carrot head.

yeah...itu Ayam putih...baaaaguuus!....when the bill came, Ah Tiong says " BAGUS"!!!:D

Orang Asing potong orang asing. Sinkies just collect the rent and taxes.

More good years!

Lagi bagus tahun mayak mayak!

yeah...itu Ayam putih...baaaaguuus!....when the bill came, Ah Tiong says " BAGUS"!!!:D

Indon FT KPKB when cheated in Singapore but turn a blind eye when their parents corruptly cheat their govt and fellow citizens.

What hypocrite!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Chinatown foodstall charged tourists $74 for simple meal
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

Elina Ciptadi (Ms)

Serve you right, u freaking indon trash!!

I have eaten there and it is a ripoff. It's a normal coffeeshop, just like any other coffeshop in that location but this one charges a ridiculous price for their same as everyone else's chicken rice. They don't ut up prices and there is no visible menu. THis is worse than Newton overcharging.

"If tourists don't get potong, then I worry." - Woody

I have eaten there and it is a ripoff. It's a normal coffeeshop, just like any other coffeshop in that location but this one charges a ridiculous price for their same as everyone else's chicken rice. They don't ut up prices and there is no visible menu. THis is worse than Newton overcharging.