• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I'm hiding PRC bus driver ID. His HDB story. I swear it's true.

Highfalutin

I always greet Chinese FT's with "Ni Hao" as common courtesy when I meet them. A legacy from my ROC "Ex Starlight" days. An equivalent of our "Li Ho Boh".

So it was with a PRC bus driver one day. Now one look at the PRC told me he was no ordinary An Tiong. There was a certain aura about him that screams highly educated and Boss! Good skin and teeth too.

As the bus was near empty and heading towards the interchange, I struck a conversation with him. I don't remember how the conversation led to HDB apartments but I finally asked him whether he is renting or sharing a rental flat with his compatriots.

With a very relaxed disposition, he told me he have his family with him and he is a new citizen who had bought a HDB apartment. In reply to the usual Singaporean trait of asking others of how much they paid for their flat and the financing arrangement, he replied that he paid $400,000 in cash for his town center HDB 4 room apartment! I can't help but feel he wasn't bullshitting me.

How many PRC new citizens are in his category? What were they doing in China before they came here to have the capability to fork out this amount of money? More worldly among us can only conclude that they are the type who runs away from a country after making money by less than legitimate means and starting anew.

So is Singapore attracting these people? We don't have an extradition treaty with China, do we? How clever of the PAP! Killing multiple birds with one stone.

With a very relaxed disposition, he told me he have his family with him and he is a new citizen who had bought a HDB apartment. In reply to the usual Singaporean trait of asking others of how much they paid for their flat and the financing arrangement, he replied that he paid $400,000 in cash for his town center HDB 4 room apartment! I can't help but feel he wasn't bullshitting me.

How many PRC new citizens are in his category? What were they doing in China before they came here to have the capability to fork out this amount of money? More worldly among us can only conclude that they are the type who runs away from a country after making money by less than legitimate means and starting anew.

So is Singapore attracting these people? We don't have an extradition treaty with China, do we? How clever of the PAP! Killing multiple birds with one stone.

Dear Highfalutin,

To answer you about the how Chinese or the PRC buys house, their mentality is :

If can pay 100%, pay 100%, NO DEBTS. SAVE SAVE SAVE is the motto.

So, in China, you'll get to see people who can afford to pay 100% of their housing, or apartment... I'm not sure about the statistics, but it's at least 30 to 40% of people who do this.

In fact for cars, in China, they do pay 100% of the Car's pricing, not that it's cheap, but it's the culture here... even a BMW 7 series, RMB 1.5 Million (SGD 300,000) equivalent, people pay 100% CASH!!!!

So, when the PRC told you that he bought it with cash, 100%, he may not be lying.

As for the Category of people, I do not know... good or bad, it's not up to me to judge, but at least this PRC is a gentleman that is doing a good job.

About his history, I do not know as well... also not for me to judge, and I think everyone deserve a second chance... for the good.

And what you've mentioned about that person is just your judgement, and it cannot be extrapoliated to assume another case...

Hope that this will cool you down... anyways... one more good guy, better than one more asshole. :D

Dear Highfalutin,

To answer you about the how Chinese or the PRC buys house, their mentality is :

If can pay 100%, pay 100%, NO DEBTS. SAVE SAVE SAVE is the motto.

So, in China, you'll get to see people who can afford to pay 100% of their housing, or apartment... I'm not sure about the statistics, but it's at least 30 to 40% of people who do this.

In fact for cars, in China, they do pay 100% of the Car's pricing, not that it's cheap, but it's the culture here... even a BMW 7 series, RMB 1.5 Million (SGD 300,000) equivalent, people pay 100% CASH!!!!

So, when the PRC told you that he bought it with cash, 100%, he may not be lying.

As for the Category of people, I do not know... good or bad, it's not up to me to judge, but at least this PRC is a gentleman that is doing a good job.

About his history, I do not know as well... also not for me to judge, and I think everyone deserve a second chance... for the good.

And what you've mentioned about that person is just your judgement, and it cannot be extrapoliated to assume another case...

Hope that this will cool you down... anyways... one more good guy, better than one more asshole. :D

You got me wrong there. I have nothing against that PRC driver nor had I expressed any contempt for him in particular. As a matter of fact I admire them people. And I believe I speak for the majority. Why, in our prison system, those serving terms for cheating cases involving huge amount of money that had never been recovered are much respected by inmates and wardens alike, if you know what I mean?;)

633623101640749902-failure.jpg

You got me wrong there. I have nothing against that PRC driver nor had I expressed any contempt for him in particular. As a matter of fact I admire them people. And I believe I speak for the majority. Why, in our prison system, those serving terms for cheating cases involving huge amount of money that had never been recovered are much respected by inmates and wardens alike, if you know what I mean?;)

Welcome to the real world my dear Highfalutin...

:)

And I do agree with what you say... :)

You may never know the exact history of people coming from PRC.

Because there are "many things" you can do, before you come to SGP.

And plus, I don't think the PAPPIES are interested in the history of the people coming in, but they are more interested in the dough coming into SGP... that's what I am understanding from the lax FT policies.

Did you know that if you have SGD 1.5 Million invested in SGP, one PRC can turn his entire family into SINGAPORE CITIZEN, just like that. (as advertised in the boarders of SHENZHEN-HONGKONG)

that's just an observation. :cool:

Happy Weekend, and have a nice CHINESE NEW YEAR :)

I guaratee u, people who got RMB2 million at least and decide to leave China to come here as Singapore citizen, 100% sure their money is very fishy...

Remember the 30 year PRC guy who bought over Raffles Town Club for multi millions of S$? 100% also very fishy...

From experience dealing with PRCs, bro, I can tell u if the PRC can still do business in China to make money, they will continue to do so. Cause in Singapore, there is few business opportunites for them. Business opportunities exist in China cause they can leverage on their "guanxi". Some are even govt officials themselves. To leave China with millions of RMB to come to Singapore to be a bus driver... smells fishy to me...

Welcome to the real world my dear Highfalutin...

:)

And I do agree with what you say... :)

You may never know the exact history of people coming from PRC.

Because there are "many things" you can do, before you come to SGP.

And plus, I don't think the PAPPIES are interested in the history of the people coming in, but they are more interested in the dough coming into SGP... that's what I am understanding from the lax FT policies.

Did you know that if you have SGD 1.5 Million invested in SGP, one PRC can turn his entire family into SINGAPORE CITIZEN, just like that. (as advertised in the boarders of SHENZHEN-HONGKONG)

that's just an observation. :cool:

Happy Weekend, and have a nice CHINESE NEW YEAR :)

And the same to you too. Happy Lunar New Year.

This may not be welcomed by the minority but very stingy thought sharing individuals whom I prodded for their FT views has only this to say. It's the Government's counter offensive to an agenda by the minority to reproduce themselves into power. If that defence offers other benefits to enhance their hegemony, it's more than welcomed.

I guaratee u, people who got RMB2 million at least and decide to leave China to come here as Singapore citizen, 100% sure their money is very fishy...

Remember the 30 year PRC guy who bought over Raffles Town Club for multi millions of S$? 100% also very fishy...

Elementary isn't it?:)

Back to the Bus Driver, I was wondering why he took up such a job given that he must either be a ex-govt official or businessman in cahoot with officials back in China... one possibility is, with the job, he can apply for HDB loans later?

HAHAH!

Back to the Bus Driver, I was wondering why he took up such a job given that he must either be a ex-govt official or businessman in cahoot with officials back in China... one possibility is, with the job, he can apply for HDB loans later?

HAHAH!

He is now a Singapore citizen. That means he is still entitled to two consecutive loans from the HDB but whether it's applicable to the present property I have no idea. I once met a Cambodian back in the nineties who was visiting his son in Singapore. The son lives with his mother in a condo and attends RI. You go speculate.:)

How many PRC new citizens are in his category? What were they doing in China before they came here to have the capability to fork out this amount of money?

Possible that female members of his family have made a pile conning sinkies and in geylang? :D

Think about how PRCs can afford to buy over the bulk of Geylang's eatery business. A foodcourt in Tampinese that has a stand alone block number as it's address is worth more than $25 million in valuation. I am waiting for the day when it gets bought over by a PRC.

Save your "ni haos" for the taiwanese.
Based on my own experience, you tell a taiwanese "ni hao" and he or she will ask you where you are from and why you are in taiwan and give you some sightseeing or eating tips.
You tell a prc national "ni hao" and he or she will either pretend not to see you or come over and try and scam you.

From experience dealing with PRCs, bro, I can tell u if the PRC can still do business in China to make money, they will continue to do so. Cause in Singapore, there is few business opportunites for them. Business opportunities exist in China cause they can leverage on their "guanxi". Some are even govt officials themselves. To leave China with millions of RMB to come to Singapore to be a bus driver... smells fishy to me...

I do agree with you kojakbt...

What I can share with all Singaporeans is that, in China, the opportunties are surely more abundant as compared to Singapore itself.

And Singapore to the eyes of most PRC people is that it's a very clean city, very organised, garden city, with GOOD "FU LI" Welfare System in place, Easy to make money... etc...

I wonder where they get all these misconception about GOOD "FU LI"...

Yes, the PRC will always go for the GuanXi way first.

Another thing I want to say is that PRC people got guts, really, got guts, and got the balls to do something. That's really set them apart from most races.

So, when the opportunities and social welfare as compared to Singapore is better, why do some PRC still come to Singapore and become Singaporeans? (it's certainly fishy :D)

The discussion of how some (not most) PRC could afford expensive HDB in cash and become SGP citizens in such a short time can be a thread by itself, for our insatiable quest of knowledge for understanding our social issues faced in SGP...:D

Save your "ni haos" for the taiwanese.
Based on my own experience, you tell a taiwanese "ni hao" and he or she will ask you where you are from and why you are in taiwan and give you some sightseeing or eating tips.
You tell a prc national "ni hao" and he or she will either pretend not to see you or come over and try and scam you.

Agree with jw5.

Taiwanese are a friendlier bunch... but these people become politicians and bastards when they are in China... do take note.

But in China, just be quiet, do not talk to ANYONE unnecessarily, and don't even need to greet anyone... (don't even need to smile to anyone)... then the service will be better (gauranteed :p) (statistically, chances of being scammed is quite high in China (for Singaporeans), just look at Suzhou :D)

Thus, it's better to be ignored in China.:cool:

Another thing I want to say is that PRC people got guts, really, got guts, and got the balls to do something. That's really set them apart from most races.

Of course PRC got guts... despite anti-vice raids on the various KTV outlets these days (election cumming?), they are still taking their chances working there...

HAHAHA!

Agree with jw5.

Taiwanese are a friendlier bunch... but these people become politicians and bastards when they are in China... do take note.

But in China, just be quiet, do not talk to ANYONE unnecessarily, and don't even need to greet anyone... (don't even need to smile to anyone)... then the service will be better (gauranteed :p) (statistically, chances of being scammed is quite high in China (for Singaporeans), just look at Suzhou :D)

Thus, it's better to be ignored in China.:cool:

Actually, my experience is not so good dealing with Taiwanese in China... There are 2 kinds of Taiwanses generally speaking. Those native taiwanese and those whose families escaped to Taiwan after 1949.

I think the worse are the native ones... generally, they are quite "chow kuan" when come to business dealings... I'd rather deal with PRCs who at least still have some principles....

Anyway, can start another thread lah if you want to talk about doing business with PRCs vs Taiwanese... HAHAHA!