• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If u have a TV without a licence, max penalty is $40K fine and 3 year jail! KNN!

kojakbt

Was just going thru the statute... FARK, Singapore is S-E-R-I-O-U-S man.... farking heavy penalty for possessing TV (broadcasting apparatus) without a licence!!!

Max $40K fine and goto jail for 3 years if you operate a TV with no license (ie, you didn't pay TV licence fee)!!!

Are we worse than the North Koreans?

Offences relating to installation, sale, import or possession of broadcasting apparatus
47. Any person who contravenes section 20 (1) (a), (b) or (c) shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $40,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 3 years or to both, and any broadcasting apparatus installed or found in the possession of the person so convicted shall be forfeited to the Authority.

PART V
BROADCASTING APPARATUS
Licensing of broadcasting apparatus
<DL>
20. —(1) Subject to this section, no person shall — <DL>
(a) install any broadcasting apparatus in any place, or on board any ship, aircraft or vehicle registered in Singapore;

</DL><DL>
(b) import, offer for sale, sell or have in his possession with a view to sale, any broadcasting apparatus; or
(c) operate or have on any premises in Singapore owned or occupied by him broadcasting apparatus on or by which broadcasting services are received

</DL><DL>

</DL>
except under and in accordance with a licence granted under this section.
(2) Every licence granted under subsection (1) shall be in such form and for such period and may contain such terms and conditions as the Authority may determine.

("broadcasting apparatus" means any apparatus capable of or designed or constructed for the reception of any broadcasting service and specified in the First Schedule)
</DL><DL>--------------------------------------------

FIRST SCHEDULE
BROADCASTING APPARATUS
</DL><DL>
<DL>
1. Broadcast television receiver.

</DL><DL>
2. Broadcast sound receiver.

</DL><DL>
3. Television receive-only satellite receiving system (TVRO system).

For the purposes of this Schedule — <DL>
"broadcast sound receiver" means any apparatus used for the aural reception of any broadcasting service;

</DL><DL>
"broadcast television receiver" means any apparatus used for the visual and aural reception in monochrome or colour of any broadcasting service;

</DL><DL>
"television receive-only satellite receiving system" means any apparatus (including a dish antenna) or any combination of apparatus capable of direct reception of any broadcasting service emitted from or passing through any communication or broadcast satellite in extra-terrestrial space.
</DL></DL></DL>

commoner

aiya,,,, NOW PAP is to trying to squeeze the PRC FTs soon ,,,

Don't you see many PRC take bus/MRT turn on their TV handphone... they will collect fees for TV handphone soon,,,, so if you have TV mobile phone, you must know what to do,,, THROW at the f888er when they ask you to show them your h/pk,,,,,,,,,,,,, copice???

hahaha

cooleo

Shocked.jpg

Sure or not?!!

SamuelStalin

In North Korea if you even dare default on your bills for one day and without being able to give a valid reason you would just be dragged out and shot. That's all.

Was just going thru the statute... FARK, Singapore is S-E-R-I-O-U-S man.... farking heavy penalty for possessing TV (broadcasting apparatus) without a licence!!!

Max $40K fine and goto jail for 3 years if you operate a TV with no license (ie, you didn't pay TV licence fee)!!!

Offences relating to installation, sale, import or possession of broadcasting apparatus
47. Any person who contravenes section 20 (1) (a), (b) or (c) shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $40,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 3 years or to both, and any broadcasting apparatus installed or found in the possession of the person so convicted shall be forfeited to the Authority.

PART V
BROADCASTING APPARATUS
<DL>
(a) install any broadcasting apparatus in any place, or on board any ship, aircraft or vehicle registered in Singapore;

</DL><DL>
(b) import, offer for sale, sell or have in his possession with a view to sale, any broadcasting apparatus; or
(c) operate or have on any premises in Singapore owned or occupied by him broadcasting apparatus on or by which broadcasting services are received

</DL><DL>

</DL>
(2) Every licence granted under subsection (1) shall be in such form and for such period and may contain such terms and conditions as the Authority may determine.

("broadcasting apparatus" means any apparatus capable of or designed or constructed for the reception of any broadcasting service and specified in the First Schedule)

FIRST SCHEDULE
BROADCASTING APPARATUS
</DL><DL>
<DL>

</DL><DL>

</DL><DL>

"broadcast sound receiver" means any apparatus used for the aural reception of any broadcasting service;

</DL><DL>
"broadcast television receiver" means any apparatus used for the visual and aural reception in monochrome or colour of any broadcasting service;

</DL><DL>
"television receive-only satellite receiving system" means any apparatus (including a dish antenna) or any combination of apparatus capable of direct reception of any broadcasting service emitted from or passing through any communication or broadcast satellite in extra-terrestrial space.
</DL></DL></DL>

PART V
BROADCASTING APPARATUS
<DL>

</DL><DL>

</DL><DL>

</DL>

FIRST SCHEDULE
BROADCASTING APPARATUS
</DL><DL>
<DL>

</DL><DL>

</DL><DL>

</DL><DL>

</DL><DL>
</DL></DL></DL>

depending on how many yrs u didn't pay. usually the fine is $50 but dunno gone up oredi or not.

TeeKee

Throw away ur freaking tv if you dun want to pay.

What is there to watch other than pap propaganda?

Eurekas

I think we should buy handphones with TV function or buy a satellite TV card to connect to the Laptop lah... Throw away the TV and save $110 a year.

throw away tv la ...

wat is there 2 watch on sg tv? ...

surf web betta ... sbf got mor interesting tings 2 watch ...

AvalanCh3

like this means if i don have a tv but have a nice desktop lcd, den i also need to pay license because that lcd have tv function?

seriously, i don like to watch tv lo, its crap only, online taiwan vareity is nicer many times lo.