• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Idiot Yee Kok Keong still thinks that our transport system is the best in the world

Leepotism

SMRT staff had it tough, too

Letter from Yee Kok Keong

The recent train disruptions have shown how self-centred Singaporeans are.

Commuters who complained that the late start to services on Sunday had disrupted their lives have not thought of those recalled to work through the night to check the tracks and trains so that services could continue, slight delays aside.

These commuters also did not care about the bus drivers who sacrificed their weekend to shuttle people around before North-South Line services began.

Singaporeans should embrace the season of giving and be more forgiving toward SMRT Corporation.

We are enjoying decent economic growth in spite of the United States and European debt crises. We are safe from natural disasters, unlike in the Philippines and Thailand now. We are spared from political turmoil, unlike in the Arab countries now.

No doubt, the disruptions have inconvenienced many. Still, we should be grateful that our transport network is one of the best in the world. Those who have taken the Tube in London would know that our train standards are better.

Re: Idiot Yee Kok Keong still thinks that our transport system is the best in the wo

I agree with him wholeheartedly. The minor disruption is nothing compared to the train disasters that befall the rest of the world.

It's time to put things in perspective and appreciate what the govt has done for Singapore and its people.

Re: Idiot Yee Kok Keong still thinks that our transport system is the best in the wo

You reckon train carriage should bid for COE too, like Taxis and last only 10 years.:*:

I agree with him wholeheartedly. The minor disruption is nothing compared to the train disasters that befall the rest of the world.

It's time to put things in perspective and appreciate what the govt has done for Singapore and its people.

What train disasters were there in the rest of the world?
That disaster in Shanghai was not their "MRT". It was their inter-city bullet train.

Commuters who complained that the late start to services on Sunday had disrupted their lives have not thought of those recalled to work through the night to check the tracks and trains so that services could continue, slight delays aside.

These commuters also did not care about the bus drivers who sacrificed their weekend to shuttle people around before North-South Line services began.

[/COLOR]

they do get OT don't they?

SMRT causes the problem and surely they must rectify it. If SMRT's maintenance had been done properly, nothing of these disruptions would have happened.

What train disasters were there in the rest of the world?
That disaster in Shanghai was not their "MRT". It was their inter-city bullet train.

Agree MRT max speed is less than 90km/h on average about 45km/h . Not like fast speed train more than 200km/h on average.

I applaud Mr. Yee's bravery for daring to speak up on behalf of others without hiding behind the cloak of anonymity. ;)

Just one thing here - the United States is not really in a crisis. The latest GDP growth recorded was a healthy 1.8%.

another potential candidate for

next year national day medal.

this Yee is a bloody idiot. the bus drivers were not volunteers, they were paid to do their jobs. sacrifice my ass.

"decent" economic growth here is a function of our position in asia. we are safe from natural disasters because of where the island is. none of these positive points have anything to do with the government. and what kind of idiot compares us to barbaric arabs?

only complete idiots with an agenda to suck up to their masters will agree with Yee Kok Keong

The recent train disruptions have shown how self-centred Singaporeans are.

Singaporeans should embrace the season of giving and be more forgiving toward SMRT Corporation.

We are enjoying decent economic growth in spite of the United States and European debt crises. We are safe from natural disasters, unlike in the Philippines and Thailand now. We are spared from political turmoil, unlike in the Arab countries now.

No doubt, the disruptions have inconvenienced many. Still, we should be grateful that our transport network is one of the best in the world. Those who have taken the Tube in London would know that our train standards are better.

Mr Yee wants something.

n604710828_1642747_6430.jpg

look like LeongSam

No sacrifice when one is employed to perform a job and duly compensated. If this is sacrifice, then all workers on a job should be thanked by Mr. Yee for having "sacrifice" their time, which is a fucking ridiculous thing to say.

Those who don't think our transport system are the best have never step out of Singapore..

all workers on a job should be thanked by Mr. Yee for having "sacrifice" their time, which is a fucking ridiculous thing to say.

Dont say until like that leh, I sacrifice my Christmas eve and Christmas day sitting in my office and serf SBF leh

Mr. Yee will thank you for "sacrificing" your time too.:D

Tsk tsk tsk....

It's X'mas Day liao still want to pichak other people's lobang!

Ah dog, are you ze Grinch? :D

look like LeongSam

Those who don't think our transport system are the best have never step out of Singapore..

Agree. HK very good and price also par with Singapore.
Very efficient every 2 min one train. In New York their System too old and too big need big budget to upgrade but system will working not like Singapore every month sure have major more than 1 hour breakdown.

You obviously haven't. The bus service in Toronto and surrounding suburbs got schedule and Its accurate. One will know exactly what time the bus arrive. You can also dial a number to know when the next bus arriving. Even though the bus not as modern as peesai, but its more reliable. What's the point boast about peesai public transportation when you dont even know when a bus or a train will arrive or when a major breakdown will accur because of mainly of overpopulation.

In a few years from now, peesai public transport will cost commuters more per year than owning a car in another cuntry.