• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Iceland Goes Bankrupt While Singapore Stays Prosperous

clinton666

Our visionary Singapore government has saved prudently and at the same time, made wise investments and hence while the whole world is burning, Singapore remained relatively unscath.

Had our government raid our reserves to distribute to the poor lazy retarded 33.3% of our populace, as proposed by the spastic Opposition, we would have end up like Iceland. The Icelanders voted for the wrong party. LKY said it best. It will take only one term which is 4 years for the retards from the Opposition to bankrupt our country.

We need to be grateful to our wise and visionary government under the strong leadership of PM Lee.

Iceland is all but officially bankruptBy Eric Pfanner Published: October 9, 2008

REYKJAVIK: People go bankrupt all the time. Companies do, too. But countries?

Iceland was on the verge of doing exactly that on Thursday as the government shut down the stock market and seized control of its last major independent bank. That brought trading in the country's currency to a halt, with foreign banks no longer willing to take Icelandic krona, even at fire-sale rates.

As the meltdown in the Icelandic financial system quickened, with the government seemingly powerless to do anything about it, analysts said there was probably only one realistic option left: for Iceland to be bailed out by the International Monetary Fund.

"Iceland is bankrupt," said Arsaell Valfells, a professor at the University of Iceland. "The Icelandic krona is history. The IMF has to come and rescue us."

Prime Minister Geir Haarde, who had warned this week of the threat of "national bankruptcy," said Thursday that Iceland's finance minister, Arni Mathiesen, would be in Washington this weekend for the autumn IMF/World Bank meetings. He declined to say whether Iceland was seeking a rescue package from the international lender

kuntakinte

Why dun use back your the other nick.... In either case, you will be f88ked !!

Still poking your eyes to see STARS*** ??

**craps snipped**

Iceland is all but officially bankruptBy Eric Pfanner Published: October 9, 2008

REYKJAVIK: People go bankrupt all the time. Companies do, too. But countries?

Iceland was on the verge of doing exactly that on Thursday as the government shut down the stock market and seized control of its last major independent bank. That brought trading in the country's currency to a halt, with foreign banks no longer willing to take Icelandic krona, even at fire-sale rates.

clinton666

Well, so is the fact that S$150b has been used to protect S$700b in the bank and investment accounts...

Oh dear! Where do you think we got that S$150b from? If our government used it to give generous welfare grants to lazy and uneducated poor people, we, we would be the Iceland of Asia.

We need to be grateful to our wise and visionary government under the strong leadership of PM Lee.

It's really sad that so many ungrateful sinkies exist. The Singapore govt is doing an excellent job and I'd like to take this opportunity to commend PM Lee and his superstar A team for their superb leadership during these trying times.

clinton666

It's really sad that so many ungrateful sinkies exist. The Singapore govt is doing an excellent job and I'd like to take this opportunity to commend PM Lee and his superstar A team for their superb leadership during these trying times.

Without PM and his Premiereship A team, Singapore will go kaput lik Iceland and everyone will have to eat tapioca.

A lousy economy also means a low libido and now biz for you. You should thank our government for your thriving business.

DIVISION1

I fear Iceland is just the beginning. The eastern europe block is very unstable, due to excessive borrowing. Spain is another country as well. Traditional western european countries, especially the arrogant ones, have overlent to these countries that a chain reaction is feared.

clinton666

I fear Iceland is just the beginning. The eastern europe block is very unstable, due to excessive borrowing. Spain is another country as well. Traditional western european countries, especially the arrogant ones, have overlent to these countries that a chain reaction is feared.

Moniker Division 1, Asian countries like Singapore, China and Japan have very high savings rate and hence will survive this financial tsunami better than most.

The only country in this world which can wantonly print money is the US but some retarded European countries wanted to follow in their footsteps. These moronic govts will fail and their countries bankrupted.

The_Latest_H

Oh dear! Where do you think we got that S$150b from? If our government used it to give generous welfare grants to lazy and uneducated poor people, we, we would be the Iceland of Asia.

Well, Australia has backed all saving accounts in all Australian-owned banks- below A$1m- with A$700 billion for 3 years, locals and foreigners. Those who have A$1m and above have to pay taxes for the government to cover.

Only those who have put money in investment firms that deal with derivatives are not covered- and for a good reason.

And thus, the Australian system is way above, among the top five in the WEF rankings. Singapore, in contrast, is 13th. Granted its not as bad as in America and the UK, but again the PAP haven't disclosed any information yet- which is just as well because the people will suffer more than the PAP.

Moniker Division 1, Asian countries like Singapore, China and Japan have very high savings rate and hence will survive this financial tsunami better than most.

Singapore is forced into savings, and these are CPF accounts. And if the PAP has used the majority of the CPF funds on useless investments in Merill Lynch and UBS, then we are simply screwed.

DIVISION1

The only country in this world which can wantonly print money is the US but some retarded European countries wanted to follow in their footsteps. These moronic govts will fail and their countries bankrupted.

Dear moniker clinton666, the problem with East Asia is they have a tendency to let serious problems persist by hiding them and the crisis may expose these problems which reverberate through the countries to threaten the real economies of these countries. They will survive, no doubt. But I hope they do not use radical means to solve these problems. It typically compounds the problems. Singapore is small and nimble so it will be okay.

clinton666

Well, Australia has backed all saving accounts below A$1m with A$700 billion for 3 years, locals and foreigners. Those who have A$1m and above have to pay taxes for the government to cover.

Only those who have put money in investment firms that deal with derivatives are not covered- and for a good reason.

And thus, the Australian system is way above, among the top five in the WEF rankings. Singapore, in contrast, is 13th. Granted its not as bad as in America and the UK, but again the PAP haven't disclosed any information yet- which is just as well because the people will suffer more than the PAP.

Singapore is forced into savings, and these are CPF accounts. And if the PAP has used the majority of the CPF funds on useless investments in Merill Lynch and UBS, then we are simply screwed.

You retarded dog. Australia has a reserve of only less than $50 billion. Where the hell is their A$700 billion? From Mr Rudd's arsehole? :mad:

The_Latest_H

You retarded dog. Australia has a reserve of only less than $50 billion. Where the hell is their A$700 billion? From Mr Rudd's arsehole? :mad:

Australia is richer than you think. I wonder if you hadn't had enough from me, really. After 3 weeks of licking your wounds, you're back. But don't think you will get any less from me just because you took a break.

DIVISION1

Australia is richer than you think. I wonder if you hadn't had enough from me, really. After 3 weeks of licking your wounds, you're back. But don't think you will get any less from me just because you took a break.

You right. Australia is not poor and has the ability to tide through this crisis. Or else, LKY would not have invested Singapore funds in Australian property in the midst of the crisis.

The_Latest_H

You right. Australia is not poor and has the ability to tide through this crisis. Or else, LKY would not have invested Singapore funds in Australian property in the midst of the crisis.

Too bad he invested money in a Victoria-and-New-South-Wales firm and not a Western Australian one. The boom in Australia is due to two states: Western Australia and Queensland. The most populous states, Victoria and NSW are in deep trouble. Labor is on the verge of losing power in the state governments in both states.

This is pretty funny though: Labor is popular on the federal level; state-level, its the Liberals and the Nationals. Still, divided government is popular with Australians: keeps federal government in check.

You retarded dog :mad: I will have no qualms euthanising you :mad:

Mars, Venus and the Moon does not have an economy.

Please stop insulting each other in the "FRIENDLY coffee shop talk" section.

If you want to flame each other, go to the rubbish section and roast each other to your heart's content. :biggrin:

sunny302

You retarded dog :mad: I will have no qualms euthanising you

Seems like u have not changed one bit :rolleyes: It was nice of you to have your clone entertain us whilst u went into hibernation :biggrin:

Rest well ya!!! The poking will continue if you don't toe the line...The same goes for your clone :biggrin::p:biggrin: