• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ICA need to clarify - Passport for lodging complaints?

ICA might want to avail the Camera footage. The versions are so different that it requires an indepedent party to investigate. Since when passports have to be copied for lodging a complaint.

I believe the query was having a dedicated "Singapore Passport" channel which the whole world do for their respective citizens but not us. Thats the main query and it was not answered.

Someone should raise this in parliament.

Bad turn of events at airport after complaining to ICA officer

I WISH to relate the treatment I received at the hands of Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) officers at Changi Airport on Monday.

When I arrived on a Jetstar flight from Hong Kong at about 3.30pm, there was only one counter for Singapore passport holders like myself but about five or six for foreigners, so the queue was quite long.

When it was finally my turn, and while my passport was being stamped, I remarked to the ICA officer that they should open another counter for Singapore residents and that it was unacceptable that locals had to suffer a longer queue than foreigners.

Another ICA officer (let me call him Mr K) who was standing nearby overheard my remarks. He immediately grabbed my passport as I was leaving. He then said my remarks were a slander on the Singapore Government and asked me to follow him and started walking away.

I asked him to return the passport to me, but he refused. He then passed my passport to his "duty officer". The "duty officer" did not say anything but proceeded to photocopy my passport. When I asked him why he was doing that, he refused to answer me.

While I was speaking with the "duty officer", Mr K continued his tirade against me. The "duty officer" did nothing to dissuade him.

Needless to say, I am very dissatisfied with the level of service and the rudeness shown by the ICA officers. I was treated like a common criminal throughout the whole incident. Is complaining about service shortcomings slandering the Government?

Wang Chen Yong

Long queue? Passenger cleared immigration in 6min

SEVERAL points in the Forum Online letter last Thursday by Mr Wang Chen Yong, 'Bad turn of events at airport after complaining to ICA officer', need to be corrected.

First, Mr Wang asserted that there was only one counter open for Singapore citizens/permanent residents. This is not correct. The fact is that Singaporeans can use all the other counters which are, as their designation 'All Passports' suggests, open for use by all passport holders. In addition, as a Singaporean, he can also use the automated lanes.

Second, his remark that the queue at the Singapore citizens/PRs counter was longer than other counters was also inaccurate. We have retrieved our records and on examination, we have determined that in fact all counters at the time when he was lining up had about 10 travellers each.

When Mr Wang demanded that an Immigration and Checkpoints Authority officer on duty open another Singapore citizens/PRs counter, the officer explained that he was performing security observation duties and was unable to vacate his post. Mr Wang was dissatisfied and insisted on making a complaint. He was therefore referred to the senior immigration officer on duty. When the senior officer tried to explain to Mr Wang that he could use all other counters or automated clearance channels in future, Mr Wang remained agitated and wanted to lodge a complaint. His passport was then photocopied for the complaint to be registered and the incident recorded by the duty officer in his daily report.

Our records show that Mr Wang joined the queue at 3.07pm. He was cleared at 3.13pm. It took only six minutes for him to clear immigration, which included his conversations with our officers.

Chia Hui Keng (Ms)

The account by ICA's Chia Hui Keng is obviously the bullshit version. Anyone can see this. Since when are complainants passport photcopied for the complaint to be registered? That is so stupid. The passport does not contain your address, phone number, or email. What possible use can u have to xerox it? Like that if you lodge a complaint with the SPF, do they always xerox your IC first? No, they don't. What they did to this chap is just intimidation. The ICA should have just given this chap an email address or direct him to their website where he can lodge his complaint there.

In addition, if as she claims the "All Passport" counters can be used by everyone including Singaporeans, than why don't they just make all counters "All Passport", and remove the "Singaporeans" counter?

Finally, the Jetstar flight is scheduled to arrive in S'pore at 2.50pm. Assuming there is no delay, the plane has to taxi to the gate, wait for the skybridge to engage, unlock the cabin door, and disembark the 150 passengers (assuming full load). Even if this chap is seated in the first few rows, for him to get to the queue by 3.07pm is quite an achievement. He must have been sprinting. So, all in, I believe the ICA explanation is bullshit.

littlefish

The response that the "All Passports" queue is similar to the "Singapore Residents" queue is not quite correct. Foreigners in the "All Passports" queue may be subjected to more intense scrutiny about their trip to Singapore and even if there is a short queue, if you are unlucky enough to queue behind a problematic foreigner, you could face a longer wait than if you had chose the "Singapore Residents" queue.

I don't see why they can't have more counters (or at least equal number of counters) for Singaporeans than for foreigners. Once the Singaporean queues are gone, then they can channel some of the foreigners to the Singapore counters to clear their queues (the officer doing observation can assist in this coordination role).

The Singapore government is extremely myopic in not implementing such a small and easy policy to make Singaporeans feel more at home. Things like this just make Singaporeans feel second-class.

http://app.sgdi.gov.sg/mobile/person.asp?aid=0000010042&pid=20040716112532

SUPT CHIA HUI KENG

Job Title: Head
DID: [1] 63916190
Email: [2] [email protected]
Unit: [3] PUBLIC AND INTERNAL COMMUNICATIONS BRANCH (PICB)
Parent: [4] CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS DIVISION (CCOMS DIV)
Organisation: [5] MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (MHA)
Description:

http://www.bschool.nus.edu/alumni/a...BACHELOR+OF+BUSINESS+ADMINISTRATION&year=1995

bluearrow.gif
Our Alumni :
BACHELOR OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION (1995)

CHIA HUI KENG

shelltox

Cant he used the automated channel, singaporeans are losers, whiners and full of shit and knows how to KPKB but when bullied by the angmos decides to keep quite

Merl Haggard

Eh? Can't anyone here see by this fella's name he's most likely a newly minted "Singaporean" (ex-Chinaman) most probably on waiting list for Oz PR or US Green Card??????

ICA must be doing their job, giving these FTrash (as you all call them) a hard time!!!!!

Sinkies shouldn't complain even if it takes 10 mins to clear.

Try seeking immigration clearance on arrival within 30 mins in Heathrow, Kennedy, LAX and Syd Kingsford.

cass888

Wang Chen Yong is a nutcase. Which part of "ALL passports" does he not understand?

ICA might want to avail the Camera footage. The versions are so different that it requires an indepedent party to investigate. Since when passports have to be copied for lodging a complaint.

I believe the query was having a dedicated "Singapore Passport" channel which the whole world do for their respective citizens but not us. Thats the main query and it was not answered.

I WISH to relate the treatment I received at the hands of Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) officers at Changi Airport on Monday.

When I arrived on a Jetstar flight from Hong Kong at about 3.30pm, there was only one counter for Singapore passport holders like myself but about five or six for foreigners, so the queue was quite long.

When it was finally my turn, and while my passport was being stamped, I remarked to the ICA officer that they should open another counter for Singapore residents and that it was unacceptable that locals had to suffer a longer queue than foreigners.

Another ICA officer (let me call him Mr K) who was standing nearby overheard my remarks. He immediately grabbed my passport as I was leaving. He then said my remarks were a slander on the Singapore Government and asked me to follow him and started walking away.

I asked him to return the passport to me, but he refused. He then passed my passport to his "duty officer". The "duty officer" did not say anything but proceeded to photocopy my passport. When I asked him why he was doing that, he refused to answer me.

While I was speaking with the "duty officer", Mr K continued his tirade against me. The "duty officer" did nothing to dissuade him.

Needless to say, I am very dissatisfied with the level of service and the rudeness shown by the ICA officers. I was treated like a common criminal throughout the whole incident. Is complaining about service shortcomings slandering the Government?

Wang Chen Yong

SEVERAL points in the Forum Online letter last Thursday by Mr Wang Chen Yong, 'Bad turn of events at airport after complaining to ICA officer', need to be corrected.

First, Mr Wang asserted that there was only one counter open for Singapore citizens/permanent residents. This is not correct. The fact is that Singaporeans can use all the other counters which are, as their designation 'All Passports' suggests, open for use by all passport holders. In addition, as a Singaporean, he can also use the automated lanes.

Second, his remark that the queue at the Singapore citizens/PRs counter was longer than other counters was also inaccurate. We have retrieved our records and on examination, we have determined that in fact all counters at the time when he was lining up had about 10 travellers each.

When Mr Wang demanded that an Immigration and Checkpoints Authority officer on duty open another Singapore citizens/PRs counter, the officer explained that he was performing security observation duties and was unable to vacate his post. Mr Wang was dissatisfied and insisted on making a complaint. He was therefore referred to the senior immigration officer on duty. When the senior officer tried to explain to Mr Wang that he could use all other counters or automated clearance channels in future, Mr Wang remained agitated and wanted to lodge a complaint. His passport was then photocopied for the complaint to be registered and the incident recorded by the duty officer in his daily report.

Our records show that Mr Wang joined the queue at 3.07pm. He was cleared at 3.13pm. It took only six minutes for him to clear immigration, which included his conversations with our officers.

Chia Hui Keng (Ms)

kingrant

I have never had any problems with ICA at Changi Airport.

Whenever I saw a long queue at the Singapore only line, I'll queue in the All Passports line if it is shorter. This happened to me a couple of times.

Both times I was noticed by the officer on duty maybe because I was holding my SIN passport and he was always kind enough to direct me to a new counter which he asked another ICA officer to open, and I was processed in no time. In any case, I actually noticed that when I was being processed, the Singapore only line was getting cleared up pretty quckily too, and I could see that if I had still stuck to the queue, I would be getting my turn anyway.

I think that if you show courtesy, respect, and some patience, others will respond and come forward to be helpful. Minor issues one shouldnt gripe.

kingrant

Wang Chen Yong

Chia Hui Keng (Ms)

There is a Singapore/PR passports line; even Wang admitted it. There are usually more All Passports lines and usually 1 or 2 Singapore only service channels. The Singapore Only lines usually take less time to filter, hence even though they are longish sometimes, they actually turn out faster, always from my experience. There may be more All Passports lines but even the shorter ones get delayed considerably sometimes due to some problematic foreigner.

There are a number of things at play here.

1) I have travelled to many places in the world and they all have a dedicated channel for their nationalitiy. Its serves 2 purposes - citizens are special and a local passport is likely to get faster clearence is rather common sense.In Singapore's context where there is growing resentment on the lack of citizenship status compared to a foreign resident, it makes sense to grab every opportunity to recognise citizenship. Furthermore it again common sense to put your best chaps in the foreign channel to pick out unauthorised or unwanted visitors. It like asking the orthopedic surgeon to run a normal clinic as well.

2) Photocopying a passport to initiate a complaint shows that ICA does not think much of Singaporean's intelligence. Its poor form and reflects badly on the organisation and I am shocked that the reply was allowed.

3) In positions where there is face to face contact, such issues are commonplace. There will always be a unreasonable chaps demanding the sky but there must be appropriate standards to handle such chaps. Clearly this was not the case.

4) I am aware that "All Passports" and "Singapore/PR" and the removal of "Singapore passports" was suggested by ex-PM Goh during his visit to the airport some years ago for efficiency. Clearly the head of ICA does not feel confident to change it.

5) The series of incidents involving ICA, Security personnel etc in the last 2 years shows deteriorating standards. I suppose it going to the "dogs".

6) I am well aware that many travellors have the time to make their way thru the channels not matter how long they are. The issue is nothing to do with waiting or how cool and courteous one is. It about nationhood, pride in service and professionalism, none of which were present. When passport copying was explained as the process to lodge a complaint, thats when dishonesty comes into play.

There is a Singapore/PR passports line; even Wang admitted it. There are usually more All Passports lines and usually 1 or 2 Singapore only service channels. The Singapore Only lines usually take less time to filter, hence even though they are longish sometimes, they actually turn out faster, always from my experience. There may be more All Passports lines but even the shorter ones get delayed considerably sometimes due to some problematic foreigner.

Absolutely agree. Best described as "myopic" as you stated.

The response that the "All Passports" queue is similar to the "Singapore Residents" queue is not quite correct. Foreigners in the "All Passports" queue may be subjected to more intense scrutiny about their trip to Singapore and even if there is a short queue, if you are unlucky enough to queue behind a problematic foreigner, you could face a longer wait than if you had chose the "Singapore Residents" queue.

I don't see why they can't have more counters (or at least equal number of counters) for Singaporeans than for foreigners. Once the Singaporean queues are gone, then they can channel some of the foreigners to the Singapore counters to clear their queues (the officer doing observation can assist in this coordination role).

The Singapore government is extremely myopic in not implementing such a small and easy policy to make Singaporeans feel more at home. Things like this just make Singaporeans feel second-class.

The first time I visited China, crossing into Shenzhen from Hong Kong, I noticed 3 categories of immigration lanes, Locals, Oversea-Chinese and Foreigners. As the Oversea-Chinese lanes have shorter queues, I queued up there. Upon reaching the officer's counter, she looked at my Singapore passport and said that I should be at the Foreigners' queue. She briefly explained to me that Singapore passport holders aren't included in the Oversea-Chinese category. Nevertheless, she went ahead to stamp my passport and clear me through with a smile and a gentle reminder that I should use the Foreigners' lanes next time.

More recently, at San Francisco, after queuing for about 30 minutes through the crowd, I reached the officer's counter only to have him tell me that my embarkation card was wrongly filled. That was the first time I used my new biometric passport and I filled in my old passport number (i.e. IC number) instead the correct new number which is now different from the IC number.

He told me to go to the forms counter and fill up a new form correctly. I think he could tell by the look on my face which naturally showed, jeez, another 30-minute queue!? He smiled and said, after filling up the form, go back to his counter and see him directly; no need to queue again. What a relief.

I think these are examples of good service and performance of duty by exercise of commensense, judgment and discretionary power.

Char_Azn

We already have more then enough Queues, its called the automated lanes.

First off the joker could have chosen to use one of the automated lanes which is faster then the normal lanes.

2ndly the argument that we need more lanes just so that we can allow locals to clear faster and leave the foreigners doesn't make sense. First off we have more foreigners coming here then locals coming back and we already have more lanes for locals then tourist. You can choose the local lanes, the all passport lanes AND the automated lane which is faster then the other 2 to begin with. Why do we even need think about having more lanes to serve local passports and change it later to all passports when locals could have used that lane to begin with? And why would you want to choose to squeeze with everyone else when there are automated lanes?

3rd, I actually mention this in another thread, other then China, I cant think of any other country in the world which has more local lanes then Foreign passport lanes. Which is quite sensible since it usually takes more time to clear foreigners to begin with. Does it mean that most other countries in the world also value foreigners more then locals? In fact, many countries state specifically its either local passport or foreign passport while here, by putting an All Passport sign instead of foreign passport, it serves to encourage locals to utilize all lanes for faster processing.

Last but not least, clearing the customs in SG is REALLY fast. I have never had to spend more then 10 min clearing customs here. In fact I usually choose not to check in my luggage because I almost always clear customs faster then my luggage reach the belt. We have one of the fastest airports in terms of time needed to clear the customs checkpoint is concern hence if they are this efficient to begin with, why the need to go through all that trouble to set up extra gantries to specifically serve locals when there are already more then enough of them.

The account by ICA's Chia Hui Keng is obviously the bullshit version. Anyone can see this. Since when are complainants passport photcopied for the complaint to be registered? That is so stupid. The passport does not contain your address, phone number, or email. What possible use can u have to xerox it? Like that if you lodge a complaint with the SPF, do they always xerox your IC first? No, they don't. What they did to this chap is just intimidation. The ICA should have just given this chap an email address or direct him to their website where he can lodge his complaint there.

I totally agree with you, the guy has no business zapping his passport and even if he did have a valid reason, he should have explain the need to do it

In addition, if as she claims the "All Passport" counters can be used by everyone including Singaporeans, than why don't they just make all counters "All Passport", and remove the "Singaporeans" counter?

Finally, the Jetstar flight is scheduled to arrive in S'pore at 2.50pm. Assuming there is no delay, the plane has to taxi to the gate, wait for the skybridge to engage, unlock the cabin door, and disembark the 150 passengers (assuming full load). Even if this chap is seated in the first few rows, for him to get to the queue by 3.07pm is quite an achievement. He must have been sprinting. So, all in, I believe the ICA explanation is bullshit.

Wouldnt having a Singapore Passport Lane + All Passport lane serve to encourage locals to utilize all lanes hence speeding up the process for locals. On top of that we have the automated lanes which is faster then both. Quite a number of countries e.g. Thailand, they have Local Passport and Foreign passports which seems to be more strict with their controls. Wouldnt the All Passport lane seem more welcoming for locals and as I stated earlier, the customs here are very efficient, we have more then enough lanes + automated ones for local passports as it is I do not agree with most in here that we need extra lanes for locals however I totally agree with the fact that the ICA officer is an ass and needs to be punished or at the very least retrained for his job

And with regards to flight schedule. its not uncommon for flights to arrive early especially if they are flying with a tailwind most of the way. I've arrived as much as 30min earlier then expected on longer flights. I'm not sure how the runways are managed but my guess is they probably allow the early plane to land once the space frees up

scoobyhoo

this might be the same mentality as most sarong party gals - look down upon our local citizens with coloured skins especially chinese? if the guy was an ang mo even a sg citizen, would his passport be confiscated? would he be prosecuted for making a remark? or this guy was an ex-convicted?

Not sure if you travel ferquently.

1) The automated lanes are slower than a normal local passport/resident lane if both have no queue at all.

2) One dedicated lane for locals is sufficient. Trouble there is none. There are however one lane that is used for both Residents (PR and employment pass holders) and Locals. This lane tends to get longer with some flights.

3) Locals tend to be cleared faster than foreigners and thats common sense. Its no different to a supermarket queue for those with small number of purchases.

4) If you travel often, your chances of getting caught in all passport lane with a visitor facing scrutiny for an extended periord of time is higher.

First off the joker could have chosen to use one of the automated lanes which is faster then the normal lanes.

newyorker88

Sinkies shouldn't complain even if it takes 10 mins to clear.

Try seeking immigration clearance on arrival within 30 mins in Heathrow, Kennedy, LAX and Syd Kingsford.

Nowadays,

Arriving from indonesia in harbourfront requires indonesia ID as well as passport too. My friend cow father cow mother when he did not bring ID with him and was asked to return.

Since when ICA become so unfriendly? Is'nt time for more tourist money to come into singapore?

What the hell are they thinking?

littlefish

2ndly the argument that we need more lanes just so that we can allow locals to clear faster and leave the foreigners doesn't make sense. First off we have more foreigners coming here then locals coming back and we already have more lanes for locals then tourist. You can choose the local lanes, the all passport lanes AND the automated lane which is faster then the other 2 to begin with. Why do we even need think about having more lanes to serve local passports and change it later to all passports when locals could have used that lane to begin with? And why would you want to choose to squeeze with everyone else when there are automated lanes?

3rd, I actually mention this in another thread, other then China, I cant think of any other country in the world which has more local lanes then Foreign passport lanes. Which is quite sensible since it usually takes more time to clear foreigners to begin with. Does it mean that most other countries in the world also value foreigners more then locals? In fact, many countries state specifically its either local passport or foreign passport while here, by putting an All Passport sign instead of foreign passport, it serves to encourage locals to utilize all lanes for faster processing.

Last but not least, clearing the customs in SG is REALLY fast. I have never had to spend more then 10 min clearing customs here. In fact I usually choose not to check in my luggage because I almost always clear customs faster then my luggage reach the belt. We have one of the fastest airports in terms of time needed to clear the customs checkpoint is concern hence if they are this efficient to begin with, why the need to go through all that trouble to set up extra gantries to specifically serve locals when there are already more then enough of them.

I don't know about other countries except NZ, they usually have more counters for citizens/residents than for foreigners when the planes arrive and foreigners may face more intense questioning (all the queues lead to the same counters but I have observed that they usually dedicate more counters for the locals initially). For the automated clearance machines, not every Singaporean is comfortable using them, I know of a few Singaporeans who do not even know how to use ATM machines.

The signs for the counters are electronic, they can be easily changed between labels. I don't see why they can't provide at least equal numbers of queues for both locals and foreigners. Once the number of locals has dwindled to a few people, they can direct the foreigners to these queues (or vice versa when there are few foreigners) by simply changing the electronic signs and having an officer (the one who is doing observation) to help with queue control. It is not a very difficult procedure and it does help in removing the perception that foreigners are treated better.

My issue, and I think the issue too with the original complainant is not about which line is shorter or if there should be more of this type of counter open or not. At issue is really the intimidation tactic of photocopying the passport, and basically the outright bullshit boldface lie that this bitch Chia Hui Keng is making. She herself stated the complainant entered the line at 3.07pm and cleared the line (after all the discussion with the ICA staff) at 3.13pm. hence only 6mins transpired in the whole incident. I guess she mentioned this short time period to discredit the complainant. So what she is actually saying is the complainant arrived at the line 3.07pm, than cowbeicowbu to the duty officer, who than got his senior duty officer to talk to the complainant, and than photocopied his passport, and than process him thru, all in 6 mins??? WTF? Lie also dun know how to lie properly.

Char_Azn

Due to job requirements, yes I travel frequently(at the very least once every 3 weeks), and yeah I'm fairly certain I clear the automated lane faster then the normal lane. In fact during the first inception of the thing, I actually experimented the thing with my bro with me in the normal lane and him on the automated. He cleared both times(in and out the country) faster then me.

And no I never have to face that in SG since I always use the automated lanes. I had that a lot when I am outside the country