• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I was an IT head, I kena retrenched...

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top> Coffeeshop Chit Chat - I was an IT head, I kena retrenched...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:26 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>47183.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Author: Unemployed PMET
Comment:
Read Josephine's profile in wikipedia...

I am disgusted with the comments there that the retrenched, especially graduates, expect to get close to their last drawn salary hence unable to gain re-employment fast and their expectations need to be managed.

I was retrenched from my IT head position a year or two ago despite satisfactory performance for years. For the sake of at least giving a try just like many others I know, I have humbled myself and applied for IT project manager positions, then IT analyst positions, then programmer positions, then clerical positions and even fast food crew positions yet, to be reasonable, only expecting to perform according to the job scope and be paid according to the pay scale for the position. The responses got only confirmed my original knowledge that most employers do not want to want to hire more qualified staff for lower positions resulting in a pay cut.

The ruling party ... stop giving the crap that the problem of prolonged unemployment lies with the retrenched and stop labeling them as hard-core, voluntarily unemployed citizens! You are the one who caused the retrenchment and even some of these retrenched could have remained in positions being as successful as some of you are but without obscene salaries and shortcuts to success!</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:34 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (2 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>47183.2 in reply to 47183.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>

Author: 27 yr old like TPL
Comment:
noted that there is a great influx of FTs in the IT sector; saw 1 department of china nationals (not sure if they are currently PR/ new citizens). they range from managerial level to staff level. how's that possible with our so many IT courses being offered in polytechnics? Should the gov review if the work conditions/ pay of these jobs are unconducive for singaporeans?

even in a gov linked co, there are ang mo directors heading the IT project team. does singapore not have the expertise/ talent pool that we need ang mo directors to steer a local project solely for the benefit of singaporeans? i apologise for not being able to disclose more but FT is assimilating into our environment at an alarming rate.

just look around you in any MRT cabin during peak hour. what % are singaporeans? i feel like a minority in my own country. this is also the reason why young singaporeans are losing their sense of belonging and identity here.

honestly, i was never against FT, i have friends from indo/ malaysia who integrated really well. BUT the rate at which SG is absorbing FT currently is allowing them to form little ghettos of their own communities. it's also becoming a pain when nobody in the train understands our "culture" here. u know it when nobody budges when us say "excuse me". u can't blame them. would they care if they are blocking your doorway.

no doubt, singapore has come a long way; might not be here if not for PAP. BUT where is sg going to be in the future? can this go on?</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>madmansg <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:44 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR>unread</TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(3 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>47183.3 in reply to 47183.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>General Tan Chuan Jin, I saw you speaking so eloquently about empathy, pitting country before self, how the army has shaped your views and given you valuable exposure to the problems of young men from all walks of life. You say you want to contribute, to make a difference. Why not start with the problem touched on in this article? Convince Singaporeans that their interests are put ABOVE everything else and everyone else, no ifs no buts. Any economic development MUST not be at the expense of people who have done NS and will continue to do so for the next 13 prime years of their lives. They must not be put at an unfair disadvantage by employers who may find it more convenient to hire foreigners. Some clear rules must be spelt out to protect our citizens. We want to hear it from you, LHL (who has actually done NS, good for him) or MM. We want to see real rules and not empty words.
http://ns-is-killing-sg.blogspot.com/2011/04/saf-general-kenna-fuck-by-citzens.html

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>