• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I hope stupid investors dont get compensated

madmansg

if make money keep quiet but lose money get money back ? where got so good one. Instead of protesting NS slaves lose 2 years of salary = 50K for every sg males , they protest over such trivial matter. Company should round up the sinkies and put them in tekong for another 2.5 years of NS slavery.

==============
Lehman investors hold protest here

ABOUT 600 investors in Lehman-linked derivatives held a public meeting in Singapore on Saturday to protest about the way banks sold them the investment products and to discuss ways to get compensation.

Held at Speakers' Corner, the only outdoor area where public meetings can be held without a permit, the crowd included several people who were sold products in July, when there were already concerns about Lehman's health.

'They never told me the issuer was Lehman and I told the manager I was afraid of American banks,' said Ms Lin Ling, who bought S$60,000 worth of Lehman-linked 'Minibonds' from a Singapore finance firm that had marketed the structured notes as a safe alternative to fixed deposits.

Ms Lin said she was persuaded to buy the notes when she went to renew a fixed deposit account. She and other investors showed brochures printed by the finance company which did not say the products were structured by Lehman.

A few elderly investors broke into tears saying they had lost a large portion of their retirement savings.

'I didn't know it's Lehman. There's no Chinese explanation,' said a lady in her 60s who identified herself as Madam Lee. 'I don't want interest, I just want my deposit back.'

Investors in Hong Kong, Singapore and Indonesia have over the past month complained the bond-like products they purchased from banks were actually complex derivatives and that they stood to lose most or all of what they had invested.

Both Singapore and Hong Kong have rules that say banks must ensure that clients purchase investment products that were consistent with their needs and risk profiles.

The products included Minibonds which were sold in Hong Kong and Singapore and DBS Group's High Notes 5 series, which would lose most of their value should anyone of eight underlying firms, including Lehman, go bankrupt.

These structured notes offered modest returns of between 4 and 6 percent per annum.

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) said about 9,700 people had bought Lehman-linked structured notes worth over S$500 million. Hong Kong authorities meanwhile said they have received more than 7,000 complaints from investors alleging banks improperly sold them Lehman-related investment products.

MAS has said that while it can impose fines and suspend the licenses of financial institutions found to be in breach of its rules, it does not have the power to order banks to compensate investors.

According to Mr Tan Kin Lian, one of the protest organisers, Saturday's gathering was to allow investors to meet and organise themselves so that they could get take collective action against the sellers or petition their Members of Parliament.

kiwibird7

When investors make profits, someone else has to pay for those profits through the sweat of the brow in the form of loan repayments, mortgage payments etc.

When investors lose money, someone else gains from their loss. Though loss is painful but the morale of the story is, investors need to open their eyes wide and ask questions, there is no such thing as a sure profit or a free lunch - everything carries a risk factor hence the profits as a reward for that risk taking.

On a bigger picture, S'poreans need to be less trusting even of authority figures where their money is concerned be it their Savings, CPF and S'pore's reserves in the GLC/GIC etc.

It would be morally incorrect to make the taxpayer bail out these losses in the event that the banks or financial institutions become insolvent no matter how painful it is to see old folks lose their life savings.

moolightaffairs

all this bloody bank!!! con old people!!! whenever i go bank to run some errands. the staff will always ask me got time or not? can sit down to talk for 5 mins? then will start to push all these products. i told them. i give you the money, you take it to invest. make money u take part of it. but loss money, i bear all of it. such a good deal for the bank.
they will sound very convincing like pro con man. telling you this will make profit and that will make profit. high returns, even loss money still will get back full amount of what u invested. pls people dont trust those fella in the bank selling those products. keep cash in fix d or normal saving a/c. when market plunge, buy shares using you own a/c and make your own decisions. why let those fucker play with your money?

kuntakinte

Yep, and I guess 66.6% of them voted for PAP, if not, 90% of them.

I hope they got screwed through and through !!

Drawing parallel, that f88king pinky swaying willow threatened to sue Malaysia on the CLOB issue but never did !! And, Stinkaporanges still believe and trust the PAPzis !! F88K UP LOGIC..............

if make money keep quiet but lose money get money back ? where got so good one. Instead of protesting NS slaves lose 2 years of salary = 50K for every sg males , they protest over such trivial matter. Company should round up the sinkies and put them in tekong for another 2.5 years of NS slavery.

myjohnson

Yep, and I guess 66.6% of them voted for PAP, if not, 90% of them.

I hope they got screwed through and through !!

Drawing parallel, that f88king pinky swaying willow threatened to sue Malaysia on the CLOB issue but never did !! And, Stinkaporanges still believe and trust the PAPzis !! F88K UP LOGIC..............

And you know what? People had attributed this mentality to pragmatism! It may sound really callous, but as you have mentioned, this people thought they can't go wrong, they have the PAP! They don't have my sympathy.

kuntakinte

Sorry, I sympathize them. Yep, I only sympathize them when I could ripped them off further !! It is akin to a Chinese saying,"Throw a rock into the well where the victim had just fallen in".

To those that morons that I could not rip them, I have this to say

"YOU F88KING DESERVE IT !! F88K YOU DEAD !!!"

And you know what? People had attributed this mentality to pragmatism! It may sound really callous, but as you have mentioned, this people thought they can't go wrong, they have the PAP! They don't have my sympathy.

eeoror88

MAS should never allow this "compensation" as they will open a whole pandora box of this ridiculousness when future investments go sour.

This will indeed prompt anyone in the future to cry father, cry mother, once their investments sour and they will cite the minibond compensation as a reference !!

kuntakinte

You believe and think MAS will allow compensation ?? Talk and suggest only, ACTION ? NEVER !!!

Just like Pinky Swaying Willow, tok cock about suing Malaysia in international court over CLOB. In the end, what happened ? NOTHING !! TOK COCK ONLY !!!

These morons that believe in PAP and gahment only need to blame and f88k themselves HARD. In short, THEY F88KING DESERVED IT !!!

There are good advice out there about not putting all your eggs into one basket, what happen to this wisdom ? These morons f88ked it !! They have to answer for it, period.

MAS should never allow this "compensation" as they will open a whole pandora box of this ridiculousness when future investments go sour.

This will indeed prompt anyone in the future to cry father, cry mother, once their investments sour and they will cite the minibond compensation as a reference !!

eeoror88

When investors make $$$, they celebrate, clap hands, throw party, eat abalone. When lose $$$, they cry father, cry mother, blame the cows, neighbours, society and gahmen !!

If MAS approves of the minibond compensation, every mother, father, son will invest and if loses $$$, will complain that they were misled, misrepresented etc etc

Wah .... like that everybody will invest. Sure win no lose one !!

visitor

They took the profits when times are good and want compensation when things happened screwed up.

Same like those who buy stocks and they don't know what they are actually buying. How many read & understand the IPO prospectus?

STUCK_HERE

all this bloody bank!!! con old people!!! whenever i go bank to run some errands. the staff will always ask me got time or not? can sit down to talk for 5 mins? then will start to push all these products. i told them. i give you the money, you take it to invest. make money u take part of it. but loss money, i bear all of it. such a good deal for the bank.
they will sound very convincing like pro con man. telling you this will make profit and that will make profit. high returns, even loss money still will get back full amount of what u invested. pls people dont trust those fella in the bank selling those products. keep cash in fix d or normal saving a/c. when market plunge, buy shares using you own a/c and make your own decisions. why let those fucker play with your money?

Sheeps are really stupid. What to do? The sheeps are ruled by a wolf. Ah, never mind lah. Don't worry be happy. If you can invest, means it is spare cash. Sup sup soi lor.

the moral of the story is you do not buy what you do not understand

you cannot trust them , just because it is a big bank

just like trust gov, just because it is the gov that bring wealth to singapore

sherrry

Investment is like a gamble, if you win, you have your winnings for keeps, if you lose, just shut up & suck it all up. I don't understand why should any deserve any sympathy for their short-sighted folly.

Although they can't take the full blame, simple because its also stupid to park the $ into savings that earn them less than 1% interest p.a.

Who's responsible for orchestrating all these drama for the average sporn? No prizes for getting the answer correct.

theblackhole

$100,000 life savings gone ....gone...gone....gone....
Husband and wife run provision shop all their lives.
They put life savings in Lehman Minibonds in July.

Two months later, they get a call from the bank: 'Your money is all gone.'

Lehman Minibonds investor Ling Jun Zhi and his wife are among thousands of retirees who have seen their nest eggs wiped out after buying the structured products linked to Lehman in expectation that they had a safe haven for their hard-earned cash. .....

ONE fateful decision was all it took to turn what should have been a comfortable retirement for Mr Ling Jun Zhi and his wife into a nightmare that threatens to destroy their golden years.

That decision was to trust a financial adviser and put their $100,000 of life savings into a structured product called Lehman Minibonds that was exposed to the now bankrupt Lehman Brothers bank. ...........

whose fault? greed? misleading financial adviser? customers' gullibility? how can this happen? singaporeans too ignorant and too gullible? aggressive sales tactics? tantalising the carrots in front of susceptible customers? retiress and uncles and aunties most vulnerable group - with plenty of cash???

VIBGYOR

I hope stupid investors dont get compensated

of course they are stupid investors, if they are clever why would they need to approach the banks for advice?

but unfortunately the banks gave them sales staffs instead of investment analysts...lol..

in addition, how could a generally perceived low risk bank sell super high risks derivative linked products, which are the domains of higher risk investments places like stock broking houses..

so there's a huge blatant misrepresentation here! time to file a class action lawsuit!!

it's payback time! Glenn Knight will pursue this with maximum passion! LOL.