• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I feel sad after reading this...

Pensioners need a raise, schemes need a tweak

I RETIRED two years ago at age 62 and now I am an unemployed low-income pensioner. With the rise in living standards and rise in food, transport and medical expenses, the Government should review outdated pensioners' benefits for low-income pensioners.

In particular, the following schemes should be reviewed or adjusted.

The Pensions branch should consider shortening the current period for restoration of full pension from 121/2 years after retirement to six years. This scheme was suitable for civilian pensioners who retired at the age of 55. But with the retirement age raised to 62, and with the prospect of it being raised further to 65, this scheme is no longer suitable because by the time a pensioner can receive the full pension benefit, he would be near 75 years old. Pensioners could receive a bit more in monthly pensions from this full pension benefit to cover the rising cost of living.

Together with my fellow pensioners - Mr Chew Chong Jin, Mr Ong Kik Beng and Mr Tan Cheng Kiat - I appeal to the Government to also increase the medical claims from $10 for every private clinic receipt to $15.

A few years ago, we paid about $30 to $35 when seeking medical treatment at a private clinic. But nowadays, we must pay about $40 to $45 for the same treatment.

For dental claims, reimbursement should be increased from $70 to $150 per year because of the rising cost of dental treatments.

The authorities should also continue to give the Singapore Allowance increment annually.

We used to get a $20 increment in Singapore Allowance usually in July, during past years. But there was no increment last year. The increment can be given especially since the country has achieved a robust growth.

Tan Kwong Moh

Please send this LOSER Peasant to China PRC Gansu Province

He can work as a pimp there for coal workers

I RETIRED two years ago at age 62 and now I am an unemployed low-income pensioner. With the rise in living standards and rise in food, transport and medical expenses, the Government should review outdated pensioners' benefits for low-income pensioners.

I don't feel sad whatsoever. All I feel is utter disdain.:rolleyes:

The guy's a moron. Who in his right mind would ever plan on living off a pension!!!! :eek:

civil servants? i thought they all have it good under pap?

I don't feel sad whatsoever. All I feel is utter disdain.:rolleyes:

The guy's a moron. Who in his right mind would ever plan on living off a pension!!!! :eek:

I kind of agree with you on this point pension is ment to suppliment your retirement and not support you fully. At the age of 62 you must at least have saved up and invested in something be it UT, shares, bonds or FD, etc..... to be you passive income My guess this guy must have spent every cent he earned and never saved anything for rainy days or made some bad judgement and lost his savings:( However if you are a minister with a mill as pension then its a diff story:o:D:cool:

At least this guy is lucky enough to get pension. The rest of us all die leow.

Stupid lazy civil servant. Got pension still Kau Peh.
Look at those around you. People who worked hard all their lives and just got CPF.

LKY: I also never retire and got no pension you song song kau peh si mi?:mad:

Vivian: you every day eat hawker food court or resturant?:confused:

Cow: Go SGH la very cheap. $8 only:D

MBT : Lucky you never say HDB expensive. ;)