• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How come Whatapps, Wechat,viber,facebook...etc not developed in Singapore?

enterprise2

Our much vaulted education program, our garment tech incentives ...etc all got beaten by a bunch of geeks who r now billionaires. The industries we are in are all considered 'commodities' that means very much any Tom, Dick or Harry can do them.....worse they probably can do them cheaper!!
In 10 years or so, we will become irrelevant, just another sweatshop in the Far East.

Sinkies were not taught to create. They were taught to follow. That's the education system created by our gabernment.

Our much vaulted education program, our garment tech incentives ...etc all got beaten by a bunch of geeks who r now billionaires. The industries we are in are all considered 'commodities' that means very much any Tom, Dick or Harry can do them.....worse they probably can do them cheaper!!
In 10 years or so, we will become irrelevant, just another sweatshop in the Far East.

Sinkies are all brought up to be obedient workers who do not question authority.

The few who have succeeded did so in spite of the system, not because of it.

And sweatshop of the Far East? Singapore is irrelevant in that already... not qualified to be even a sweatshop. Not too long ago Singapore factories made hard disk drives.

All Singapore is good for is to be a money laundering hub... with a horde of (mostly FT) minions employed in the financial services industry to facilitate that.

All the billions EDB has spent to create our foothold in Bio tech, aerospace and electronics....for what!!! We r nowhere in those industries. If we spend a small fraction on creating the next Whatapps....just imagine the spillover effect!!

Sinkies were not taught to create. They were taught to follow. That's the education system created by our gabernment.

Pappies need obedient sinkies they can control....too creative also hard to brainwash. Not in vile pappies' interests.

Dun say useful app....even a game like angry bird will never be created by a sinkie.
Copycat flappy bird invented by a Viet...sinkie leh?

All the billions EDB has spent to create our foothold in Bio tech, aerospace and electronics....for what!!! We r nowhere in those industries. If we spend a small fraction on creating the next Whatapps....just imagine the spillover effect!!

Nothing good ever comes out of a govt-initiated enterprise project. No amount of spending will change this fact.

Have you seen any SMEs made it good ?

If any potential entrepreneur comes up with something good you can bet the gahmen will come in and steal his idea and compete with him as a GIC.

In reality all those whatever gahbrament tech incentives and subsidies went only to the one and only GLC called ST Engineering.
This yaya papaya GLC is the only firm that can get all the MINDEF and gahbrament projects easily and can established itself in oversea without much effort
as compared to any other local firms.

One of my friend is working there and he seems so proud to mentioned that these days most of our weapons, navigation, command and control system
and etc for the SAF were fully designed and developed by them. Dunno how true as I still got doubt about their competency.

In reality all those whatever gahbrament tech incentives and subsidies went only to the one and only GLC called ST Engineering.
This yaya papaya GLC is the only firm that can get all the MINDEF and gahbrament projects easily and can established itself in oversea without much effort
as compared to any other local firms.

One of my friend is working there and he seems so proud to mentioned that these days most of our weapons, navigation, command and control system
and etc for the SAF were fully designed and developed by them. Dunno how true as I still got doubt about their competency.

Let's put things into perspective. Whatapps was created out of nothing. Now it's worth US$16B, that's bigger than ST Engineering!! And ST Engin was certainly not created out of nothing!! Anyway they r two different animals.

developed here no use..........won't grow big...........that's why always USA .................

Asia grow becoz cheap.............next time expensive...........it'll be Africa's turn...........

How come Whatapps, Wechat,viber,facebook...etc not developed in Singapore? ...
y shud any of dese b developed in sinkielan? ...

4get wat dat 154th kip boasting about world crass, world bestest, woeld lumpar 1 ... sinkielan simply dun haf crass, talen n vision ... iz juz insignificant, barren n negligible ...

Let's put things into perspective. Whatapps was created out of nothing. Now it's worth US$16B, that's bigger than ST Engineering!! And ST Engin was certainly not created out of nothing!! Anyway they r two different animals.

the erp system was conceptualized by engineers in a predecessor civilian outfit of st, but the original concept and components came out of california years ahead of its time. while california did not have the political will and public support to use the tech then (during decades of surplus spending), sg should be credited for putting the pieces together on a national level and implementing it in concert with parking and payment. it's impressive. now you'll find electronic tolls all over california highways and bridges using smart-chip detectors called fastrack but they're not integrated with parking and the other public transport systems. this is because the state and cities are in an acute stage of deficit spending and they need revenue from whatever means. they all are taking a page out of sg. :D

I think it's a matter of scale and luck. There are shit loads of apps but how many really hit the jackpot like Whatsapp? It's not a difficult concept too.

So in American, their developers and programmers churn out shit loads of it and bingo, one of them hit the big time like instagrm and other apps. But there are millions which do not.

Pappies need obedient sinkies they can control....too creative also hard to brainwash. Not in vile pappies' interests.

Dun say useful app....even a game like angry bird will never be created by a sinkie.
Copycat flappy bird invented by a Viet...sinkie leh?

Sinkies don't really like taking risk. They always think in terms of "salary".

I think it's a matter of scale and luck. There are shit loads of apps but how many really hit the jackpot like Whatsapp? It's not a difficult concept too.

So in American, their developers and programmers churn out shit loads of it and bingo, one of them hit the big time like instagrm and other apps. But there are millions which do not.

what i really need and will subscribe to is an app for social shit sharing. i share details of my morning shit from color to texture to taste, and you'll share yours. :p

The fan base.

Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Korea, Japan are asking this question too... Even UK, Germany, Italy, spain and over 100 countries are asking the same question!!!

What make you feel that if all these countries could not come out with, Whatapps, Wechat, viber, facebook, google, apple... ect... What make you feel Singapore can come out with these???:D Are you asking for too much???:rolleyes: