• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hongkanese Protesters' couple : Hansum Henry Tong and Chiobu Elaine To

‘Not even a nuclear explosion could set us apart’: Hong Kong couple wed days after being charged with rioting
4 August 2019 18:26
Holmes Chan

Once Henry Tong and Elaine To decided to get married, the result was never in doubt.

“I never thought we couldn’t get married. Even if there was a nuclear explosion, I would still marry her,” Tong said.

View attachment 62536
P2310167-Copy.jpg

Photo: Holmes Chan/HKFP.

Tong, 38, exchanged vows with To, 41, at the Cotton Tree Drive Marriage Registry on Sunday, before dozens of friends, family and well-wishers.

The couple were arrested on July 28 when riot police cracked down on protesters in Sheung Wan. The gym owners were subsequently charged with rioting along with 42 others. The charge carries a maximum sentence of 10 years in prison.

P2310055-Copy.jpg

After appearing in court on Wednesday, the defendants were released on bail awaiting a hearing in September. The couple’s application for a honeymoon abroad was denied.

P2310056-Copy.jpg

“In these uncertain days, I thank you all for sticking with us,” Tong told his guests at the wedding ceremony in Admiralty. “The first thing you asked me was ‘are you okay,’ and not accusations of what I might have done.”

P2310135-Copy.jpg

Tong and To run a private gym together, and the bride said they started dating nearly five years ago.

“We’ve known each other for many years, but we formally started dating in September 2014,” To said. “You can guess where we were.”

P2310241-Copy.jpg

“Today I finally became Mrs. Tong. Even though there were some bumps in the road, I believe I’ll find joy and fulfilment in the days ahead.”

P2310289-Copy.jpg

Tong said he was lucky to find someone who shared his values. “It’s not easy to find someone in life with the same ideals, values, and who is willing to come and go together with you… not even a nuclear explosion could set us apart.”

P2320009-Copy.jpg

“When I first met her, I was at a low point in my life. She was never bothered by that, and helped me move out of it,” he added. “[What I face today] doesn’t feel like a low point at all.”

P2310221-Copy.jpg

To said that the couple will have a day off on Monday – which coincided with a planned general strike.

“We’re a bit tired after this week, so we’ll have a day of rest tomorrow,” she said to cheers and applause. “Rest a bit, then add oil afterwards.”

P2320036-Copy.jpg

Tong said his beliefs remained the same despite recent developments, telling his guests: “Even in stormy times, my wife and I never imagined leaving any of you behind.”

KNN it is indeed not easy to find a chiobu above 40 and willing to open gym business and same time go riot together KNN they lead a interesting life KNN envy KNN

reminds me of ugly chink villagers in sf who arrive fob from toishan.
KNN it is indeed not easy to find a chiobu above 40 and willing to open gym business and same time go riot together KNN they lead a interesting life KNN envy KNN
Why the two of you so unsupportive, they even say no nuclear explosion can set them apart, hokay :D

images

Hongkanese Henry Tong and Sinkie Pornsak lookalike.. :D

Happy for them. She's certainly not a looker, that's for sure. And he looks too scrawny for a gym owner.:biggrin:

In Hong Kong, not bad siah, can ROM in bermudas. Long long long time ago, when I was registering for a ROM date, I inquired whether we could dress casual, and the ROM bloke sternly told me cannot wear bermudas:D

In Hong Kong, not bad siah, can ROM in bermudas. Long long long time ago, when I was registering for a ROM date, I inquired whether we could dress casual, and the ROM bloke sternly told me cannot wear bermudas:biggrin:
Yeah, the three times I was registering at the ROM, had to wear shirt and tie.:frown: