• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HoJinx is a BLOODY TRAITOR!

So this CCB purposely hiked tariff to attract the foreigners to buy the power stations, just that she can answer her own margin calls from her MASSIVE punting losses!

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffee Shop Talk - Temasek to sell last of 3 power firms</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">SGNEWSALTF <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">7:44 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>7711.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Singapore's Temasek to sell last of 3 power firms
Mon Oct 6, 2008 11:56pm EDT

SINGAPORE, Oct 7 (Reuters) - Singapore state investor Temasek Holdings [TEM.UL] kicked off the sale of electricity generator PowerSeraya on Tuesday, in a deal that could fetch around $2.5 billion.
PowerSeraya, the last of three power firms that Temasek is selling as part of Singapore's efforts to liberalise its power-generating sector, provides about 28 percent of the city-state's electricity.
It has a capacity of 3,100 megawatts (MW) but this will rise to 3,900 MW by 2010 as the firm is in the process of building an 800 MW capacity natural gas-fired plant.
PowerSeraya "has attracted strong indications of interest from a number of potential bidders," Temasek's director of investment Gwendel Tung said in a statement.
A banking source involved in the bidding said possible suitors for PowerSeraya include India's Tata Power (TTPW.BO: Quote, Profile, Research, Stock Buzz), Bahrain investment bank Arcapita and Hongkong Electric (0006.HK: Quote, Profile, Research, Stock Buzz).
A second source said initial bids are expected by the end of this month with the winner to be selected before the end of the year.
"The structure of the deal will be similar to Senoko Power in that there will be form of financing arrangement for qualified bidders," the second source added.
Temasek last month sold Senoko Power, which has a 3,300 MW capacity, to a consortium led by Japanese trading house Marubeni Corp (8002.T: Quote, Profile, Research, Stock Buzz) for S$3.65 billion ($2.49 billion). The Marubeni consortium also assumed S$323 million of Senoko's debt.
To help Senoko's bidders affected by the ongoing global credit crunch, the Singapore sovereign fund had lined up banks that could provide the winning bidder with a bridging loan of 70 percent of the purchase price at a rate of 250 basis points above the London Interbank Offered Rate (Libor).
For the year ended March 31, 2008, PowerSeraya had revenues of S$2.79 billion ($1.90 billion) and earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation of S$355 million.
"As with the sale of the other two gencos, the sale of PowerSeraya will be subject to acceptable price and commercial terms," Temasek said. (Reporting by Kevin Lim; Editing by Kim Coghill)
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

DIVISION1

In your threadstarter, moniker makapaaa, you have made 2 errors. First, the sale is a very good strategy and it is an open secret why the sale is not detrimental to Singapore. For the foreign investors, they are able to capitalize on what would seem like a less than prudent investment for many reasons. Second, in light this fact, Ho Ching is not a traitor.

Since this falls within the scope of business decisions involving trade secrets and tactics, in spite of them being obvious to most people in the field, I will withhold further information. If you are interested in the truth, moniker makapaaa, you can check with people in the industry.

Neh_Neh_Pok

In your threadstarter, moniker makapaaa, you have made 2 errors. First, the sale is a very good strategy and it is an open secret why the sale is not detrimental to Singapore. For the foreign investors, they are able to capitalize on what would seem like a less than prudent investment for many reasons. Second, in light this fact, Ho Ching is not a traitor.

Since this falls within the scope of business decisions involving trade secrets and tactics, in spite of them being obvious to most people in the field, I will withhold further information. If you are interested in the truth, moniker makapaaa, you can check with people in the industry.

Aiya, those buggers only care about themselves but nvr think of the majority us, the pple
For them doing such decision do they make consideration about us, the pple?

twochan

1. Why did Ho Ching have to take such a high profile for profit job in the first place? Other first ladies in the civilized world take up charitable work for good reason. They don't want to attract hordes of sycophants.

2. Short term profits for Temasek. Long term suffering for peasants. Confirm plus chop that electricity prices will rise because of (insert your own idiotic reasons here).

3. The only reason why I can think of is, "cannot make up good numbers for financial year end report, so must sell to make things look good."

Merl Haggard

Citygroup ~ 16.

Merrill Lynch ~ 20.

UBS ~ 16.50.

Dow is 160 pts down from this morning opening gain of 130 pts.

Horseh liao!

i seen this type of changes in UK before

it will not work.

you will pay more in future.

sinkies not going to be able to afford air con in future

ha ha ha

Merl Haggard

Citygroup ~ 15.

Merrill Lynch ~ 18.

UBS ~ 16.

Dow closed 508 pts down from morning opening gain of 130 pts.

Temasick & Gee Aye C kor lan kan liao!

Horseh liao!

DIVISION1

The global financial crisis has proven that cashing out priot to this epoch making event was a prudent move by the government of Singapore.

twochan

So that they will skimp and save to meet the bottom line? Maybe we can skip the maintenance on the backup diesel generators... what are the chances that something will go wrong?

Anybody remember the singapore wide blackout on 29 June 2004?

The global financial crisis has proven that cashing out priot to this epoch making event was a prudent move by the government of Singapore.

DIVISION1

Backup generators are required by certain industries, regardless of the quality of grid power delivery. Very powerful punitive measures are in place for shoddy power generation to ensure foreign players play ball. Given the high standards if not higher standards some of these foreign players possess in power generation, that is even less likely to happen.

snrcitizen

Backup generators are required by certain industries, regardless of the quality of grid power delivery. Very powerful punitive measures are in place for shoddy power generation to ensure foreign players play ball. Given the high standards if not higher standards some of these foreign players possess in power generation, that is even less likely to happen.

You missed out ending your last sentence with "....until the next blackout".

DIVISION1

You missed out ending your last sentence with "....until the next blackout".

Nothing is 100 percent. Every human is fallible. But good systems and talent limits the probability of it happening. Are you infallible, moniker snrcitizen? I am just but a mortal with several decades of life spent on this planet and in Singapore, a place I call home.

myjohnson

When a mission fails, even if it was through the fault of his men, an honourable officer should shoulder the ultimate responsibility. Period. Of course this does not apply to Singapore Inc.

Neh_Neh_Pok

Nothing is 100 percent. Every human is fallible. But good systems and talent limits the probability of it happening. Are you infallible, moniker snrcitizen? I am just but a mortal with several decades of life spent on this planet and in Singapore, a place I call home.

We don't want to know the "what", we want to know the How? How? How?
What systems and what talent they use is their decisions, but How their decisions going to work and help the sinkies?

How will Sporns benefit from it?

Nah, whatever happened, one can be 100% sure that nothing will happen to your owners. No accountability. Nothing. So dun lie.