• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Historian Thum questions intention of public hearing ‘grilling’ by Shanmugam

Johnrambo

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...s-intention-public-hearing-grilling-shanmugam

Singaporean historian Thum Ping Tjin has questioned the motive behind the “grilling” by Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam at Thursday’s hearing before the Parliamentary Select Committee for Deliberate Online Falsehoods.

In his submission, which argued against legislation to tackle the problem of fake news, Dr Thum said that historically, Singapore has not had any issues with deliberate falsehoods.

The only falsehood that has been deliberately peddled has come from the People’s Action Party (P@p) Government, which used it for “narrow party political gain”, and he cited Operation Coldstore as one such example.

In his submission, however, Dr Thum said there is no evidence that the detainees were involved in any violent communist conspiracy to overthrow the Singapore government, and that the operation was conducted for political purposes.

TODAY has reached out to the Select Committee for their response to Dr Thum’s comments.

https://www.facebook.com/pjthum/posts/10104752107530211

Pingtjin Thum
Yesterday at 12:31am ·

What a surreal day. My work on Coldstore, and my central argument that the detainees of Coldstore were not involved in any communist conspiracy, easily withstood six hours of assault by the Minister for Law and Home Affairs, but I wonder what his motivation was in grilling me about my academic work at a panel that is supposed to be about Deliberate Online Falsehoods.

The crux of my submission was not addressed. He also avoided any discussion of Operation Spectrum (1987), which is an even clearer case of a deliberate falsehood by the Singapore government. Instead, significant resources appear to have been marshalled with the singular purpose of demolishing scholarly work.

This is a clear example of how state resources are being used to suppress academic freedom and inquiry in Singapore. What happened today will intimidate and instil fear into anyone who contradicts the official government narrative.

I had made my submission with the best intentions and in a constructive spirit, and I am disappointed with how Mr Shanmugam chose to insult me and my professional competence instead of engaging in an honest debate on equal footing.

Don’t worry. Bayi is already preparing the defamation papers to be served to cocky Thum as we speak. No one gets away with making false claims on singapore’s youngest senior counsel. :mad:

my uncle say KNN thum study so much but never use brain. he say obviously is want him to stfu and say soli lah still need to ask.

In his submission, however, Dr Thum said there is no evidence that the detainees were involved in any violent communist conspiracy to overthrow the Singapore government, and that the operation was conducted for political purposes.

You mean don't do anything if you get stage 1 cancer? Wait till stage four then kbkb!o_O

LKY is smarter than that!:eek: He visits SGH on the slightest cough; its called preventive strategy!:oops: Now you know why some lives to near 90!:eek:

my uncle say KNN thum study so much but never use brain. he say obviously is want him to stfu and say soli lah still need to ask.
my uncle say that is the reason don't think study alot or talk lot of chim thing are smart people. he say like him a simple kopi uncle can catch all these people which actually are more stupid than him KNN.
my uncle also say he caught many ceo, directors , lawyers , doctors etc off guard KNN they all kept mum after that.

To the gahmen...

a) good feedback is the right feedback
b) anti gahmen news is fake news
c) real news is news that you should only hear
d) indian is also malay
e) meritocracy means best of the worst

those who serve ns in the navy have little to no clue about avoiding a defile flanked by slopes and hills where a prepared ambush is lying in wait.

I have it on good authority that thumbie is going to get fixed. Wait and see!

Assuming that wrestling matches in wwe are real, what would we think of a guy who entered a match and came out after it, complaining that he had been choked, poked in his eyes .... and the referee turned a blind eye.

Quite ok to conclude that this guy is a fool, expecting rules to be followed. However, if it is a real wwe match, and the spectators got emotional over all the wrongdoings, then they become the fools.

Whatever the case is, it is not worth spending time on foolish acts or being made a fool.

Assuming that wrestling matches in wwe are real, what would we think of a guy who entered a match and came out after it, complaining that he had been choked, poked in his eyes .... and the referee turned a blind eye.

Quite ok to conclude that this guy is a fool, expecting rules to be followed. However, if it is a real wwe match, and the spectators got emotional over all the wrongdoings, then they become the fools.

Whatever the case is, it is not worth spending time on foolish acts or being made a fool.

So keep quiet instead? Indeed you a sinkie through and through. :rolleyes:

e) meritocracy means best of the worst
The brilliant ones would give the pap a wide berth and refuse to subscribe to its imperialist leaning. Only the soul-less, greedy ones with average intelligence would cuddle up with them. Hence the political elites are fearful of the sinkie intelligentsia.

minister shamu is at his best
prof thumb was in his worst sophistry
he was cowed and faced the dead wall with no answers
minister shamu had all the facts - i mean solid facts
prof thumb just shook his head and answered maybe
maybe i am not sure
maybe i am not aware.
maybe tis maybe tha
so in the end the battle was won by minister shamu
prof thumb had to admit defeat for is sophistry
poor historian - all historians are well known for faking news
with their own agendas...victorious historian rewrite their own history
so minister shamu did singapore proud
well done three cheers
majulah singapura!!!!

So keep quiet instead? Indeed you a sinkie through and through. :rolleyes:
We have been brainwashed to such extend that everyone speaks the same way. Not wasting time is equated to keep quiet instead??? Sound logical but it is definitely narrow minded way of thinking.

"Not to waste time" (on an already concluded episode), if interpreted with rational reasoning would mean spending time on useful matters instead. This can include spending more time discussing (i.e. Not keeping quiet) on more heartland issues like taking over of uber by grab.

Well, instead we have been moulded to accept and endorse fake opposition way of wayanging. Sad.

LKY cried on TV when ask to fuck off from Malai... that was the worst false flag than 911..