• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Heng's Wantan Mee (famous Dunman hawker centre) moved to 287 Tanjong Katong Road

IMG_3921.jpg

IMG_3920.jpg

IMG_3925.jpg

The famous Heng's wantan mee at Dunman Hawker Centre has moved to 287 Tanjong Katong Road.

This wantan mee is my 2nd fav wantan mee after Kok Kee wantan mee at Lavender foodcourt.

Price has upped from $2.50/$3.00 to $3.00/$4.00

Why I like Heng's wantan mee?
Their famous hot until you scratch your scalps chillies, try a bit 1st before you add a spoonful. The noodles are Q (though I can taste a bit of flour taste in it) and you can taste a sweetness in it because they use chicken and pork oil (some might feel its a bit oily). And they served with 5 wantons, all for $3, really worth it.

Can try their bak choy vege in oyster sauce $3, very nice

Eng's Noodles House
287 Tanjong Katong Road
Singapore 437070
Open daily: 11am to 9pm
Tel: 86882727

wah '''the only original .....'' This is in relation to Ah Seng his former helper who also runs a wantan mee stall at Dunman.

I used to patronise them way back in the 60s when they had their pushcart stall in Duku Road.

Gerald%20Ee_270x370.JPG

Does it get the thumbs up from this fat bugger?

If not, it's no good.

Grossly overrated , it's also exorbitantly high in pricing since relocation. With some English speaking meimeis taking orders , they try to hard sell by offering more than one can take , a plate of noodles is already so filling especially now at $4 . With vegetables ,extra wantons they will all go to waste unless tarpau home.

For $2.50 you can have one of the best wanton mee at Sam Leong road .lots of char siew, wanton wet & fried , vegetables & delicious chilli sauce that is not overly spicy that can cause discomfort after the meal ( stomach burns after having Eng's at Tg.Katong ). I personally dislike greedy hawkers out to slaughter , once bitten twice shy and never go back again.

It's Eng's, you twat! So big letters also cant see or what?

Prices have gone up in the new loc, not sure food is better. Not sure if margin is bigger too, since now there are more helpers, higher rentals, more staff.

wah '''the only original .....'' This is in relation to Ah Seng his former helper who also runs a wantan mee stall at Dunman.

I used to patronise them way back in the 60s when they had their pushcart stall in Duku Road.

It was Everitt Road and Duke Road junction. They lived there and uncle used to frequent their stall.

1. ak, pls cast your nets far and wide leh!
2. pls try the canto wanton mee stall at bedok reservoir food center, blk 632, family biz.
3. the stall is facing the main bedok reservoir road, next to a kopi stall.
4. still selling at 2.50 or 3 bucks.
5. honest, my favourite was "ah ying" at old airport road.
6. but she has retired and disappeared!
7. the dunman road thing is over-rated hoh.

Gerald%20Ee_270x370.JPG

Does it get the thumbs up from this fat bugger?

If not, it's no good.

the one that actually got a thumbs up from him is the one located along Joo Chiat Road...Hong Mao ...

but when i was there last, they have changed management because the original owners decided to sell off their business to their landlords and cash out. BUT whats worse is that (true to the greedy farked up Singaporean way of doing business) they decided to not up their prices but significantly reduce their portions....WTF,...

dont they realise that that is one surefire way to piss off your customers?????

Anyway i USED to like them BUT i aint going back/... for the same amount of money maybe i got more of the delicious stuff from Eng's or even going back to the old Dunman stalls for decent wanton mee action....

just in case the people who know the new Hong mao owners are reading.... your idiotic sinkie business tactics just pissed off your customers and most aint going back... now that you have lost customers, i hope you realise that it will be 3 times as hard to try to get them back again....

5. honest, my favourite was "ah ying" at old airport road.
6. but she has retired and disappeared!
7. the dunman road thing is over-rated hoh.

AH YING!!!!!

thats the one!!! champion stuff with such delicious soup!!!

I really miss her wanton mee.... so much for preserving the last vestiges of our sinkie culture....

now the damm PAP dogs are thinking of corporatizing all hawker centres so that their brothers at the NTUC can make more money ,.... what else would they NOT wanna do man....

Where in your own opinion serves the best wanton? Feel like having a bowl for lunch.

Sidetrack a little. I notice many of the wanton stalls like to store their noodles in white towel. I still could not figure out why but I did the same thing. Anyone know why?

To take the water out quickly.

The main purpose is to keep the moisture contents that's embedded in the noodLes.If it's Left in the open air
for a Long time, the noodLes may turn dry and hardened ; Losing it's springiness and breaking up when cooked.. ;)

The main purpose is to keep the moisture contents that's embedded in the noodLes.If it's Left in the open air
for a Long time, the noodLes may turn dry and hardened ; Losing it's springiness and breaking up when cooked.. ;)

Oh, I tot to take the water out quickly so it does not become soggy.

Usually, wanton noodle (egg noodle) have to soak in cold water after boiling so as to make it not soggy. The process is call "cross cold river". End result is the noodle is very 'Q' and springy.

Yes, this is also the same reason why you would have noticed that when you eat popiah, they will wrap the skins in a white towel as well... that way the moisture level is kept in so that the noodles dont dry out.

:)

Yes, this is also the same reason why you would have noticed that when you eat popiah, they will wrap the skins in a white towel as well... that way the moisture level is kept in so that the noodles dont dry out.

:)
Hehehe. Expert, expert. Now feel hungry liaoz. BTW, my dried version of wanton noodle has black vinegar and chilli paste (thanks to joetys), ketchup, spring onion oil. Sometimes, I just eat 'kosong'. LOS wanton noodle (Ba Mee Giow) still long way to go.
'

paiseh, 2 days of little sleeps, post at 2:30am, what do you expect? :D:D:D

Its Eng's, Kingrant is right...