• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

He slashed his $1 million salary by 90% to make this happen.

Nice fairy tale but bless the man...one can only have so much and one dies only his legacy and name is left behind...

1598716336918.png

It has been five years since Dan Price, CEO of Gravity Payments, introduced a $70,000 minimum salary for his staff of 120 people and took a pay cut of $1 million. A lot has changed since then in the lives of his employees; however, he still is on minimum salary with no regrets -- and most of all, he feels more fulfilled than ever before.

The change came after Price talked with a friend of his, who was struggling to pay her bills after having served 11 years in the military.

This put things into perspective for Price. He was a millionaire at the age of 31, with a million-dollar company with 2,000 costumers. However, he realized that most of his employees had to be struggling, just like his friend was.

After reading a paper that stated earning $75,000 a year can make people's emotional well-being better, he decided to increase the minimum salary to $70,000 for all of his 120 employees and slashed his $1 million salary by 90% to make this happen.

His decision was made at a time where Seattle was debating an increase to the minimum wage to $15. That increase would make it the highest in the U.S; however, it was opposed by small business owners since they thought it would make them bankrupt.

When his decision made it to the media, radio pundit Rush Limbaugh said, "I hope this company is a case study in MBA programmes on how socialism does not work, because it's going to fail."

Moreover, two of his senior employees resigned in protest since they didn't like that the salaries of the junior staff jumping overnight. According to them, this would "make them lazy, and the company uncompetitive."

Most recently, on August 22, 2020, Dan Price took to Twitter to share how well his company has been doing since the fateful decision.

1598716385131.png

He wrote that since 2015, his company has tripled and the turnover dropped in half. The staff who own homes had grown 10 times with 76% of staff being more engaged at work which is double the national average.

1598716416443.png

When the company faced a 50% revenue loss, there were no layoffs, instead, the employees volunteered for temporary pay cuts which were paid back after 5 months. He wrote, "Amazing what treating your employees like people can do[.]"

1598716442026.png

Moreover, according to BBC, the headcount has doubled with the value of payments processed by the company going from $3.8 billion a year to $10.2 billion.

1598716472381.png

Another unexpected outcome was the baby count. Price said, "Before the $70,000 minimum wage, we were having between zero and two babies born per year amongst the team. And since the announcement - and it's been only about four-and-a-half years - we've had more than 40 babies."

According to him, that's the best thing to come out of his decision. He stated, "I can’t think of anything better that I could get in return out of it than that, and that’s the impact. That’s the legacy. Because, those babies, they carry with them almost infinite potential, solving some of the existential crises of humanity, curing cancer, solving things like global warming. You name it. Who knows what those babies are going to do, and probably I won’t be around to find out all the cascading effects that will come from that."

While Price had hoped that his decision would catch up in the U.S. business, that hasn't been the case yet.

Five years have passed, and Price is still on Gravity's minimum salary. He says that he still has moments of doubt and the greedy things can be tempting. However, according to Price, "[his] life is so much better."

1598716692734.png

When you can afford it, you can have children. Over here it is about increase in salary so they can have children.

Same to say, the cost of living is too high, people cannot afford to have children. Those who already have children will have to deal with thrift or lack in life if their salary is not that satisfied to them.

This is a good article. A good policy.

Even before this happened the good PAP in Singapore had already made Singapore the country with the lost millionaires per capital which is why Singapore is such a rich country having such great productivity among it’s citizens. Singapore don’t need such policy as it’s only for poor people

Nice fairy tale but bless the man...one can only have so much and one dies only his legacy and name is left behind...
This is not a fairy tale, it is a true account. check that company out. Unselfishness and Grace have ripple effect to produce goodness in many folds. This is the type of leader the world needs.

potentially every hdb pigeon hole “owner-renter” has asset of at least $696k. if he or she were to save another $369k including balance in his or her cpf account, he she would already becum a millionaire. sg and pap are truly good to sinkie shitizens. huat ah!

This is the type of Boss who truly believes in this- ALTOGETHER NOW!!! HUAT AH!!!

Amazing.. If only humanity can put aside greed for self, then it will result in so much better outcomes for society. Reduction of the wealth gap

potentially every hdb pigeon hole “owner-renter” has asset of at least $696k. if he or she were to save another $369k including balance in his or her cpf account, he she would already becum a millionaire. sg and pap are truly good to sinkie shitizens. huat ah!
once again, your maths is half pass 6 bullshit. No wonder u move to the US. How to survive in singapore, with maths like yours?

HDB flat is not owned by one person, ok? U have to apply with your spouse. If the HDB is worth $696k, then each spouse share is $348K. Even if you add in each spouse CPF, its still well short of $1 million per spouse. Even the CPF, $186K is not theirs due to minimum sum. Therefore, these fuckers are not millionaires.

Its not s listed company so the boss can do this.
If its listed, the hedge funds will protest and the boss will get the sack.

This is a good article. A good policy.

Even before this happened the good PAP in Singapore had already made Singapore the country with the lost millionaires per capital which is why Singapore is such a rich country having such great productivity among it’s citizens. Singapore don’t need such policy as it’s only for poor people

Singaporean knows we are living with thousands millionaire among us.
61% love it

We can only dream of becoming millionaires

Sinkies who are single aged 35 above can purchase a HDB pigeon hole. Sole ownership.:)

1598756999238.png