• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat HDB is a Ponzi Scheme.

bic_cherry

HDB is a Ponzi Scheme.

Why can't HWZ forumers just be frank, call a spade a spade and say Mah Bow Tan turned HDB into a ponzi scheme?

Would be good too for Singapore if housing prices didn't hit the roof: would attract more talented professionals to Singapore rather than greedy and fleet footed property punters and make Singapore less attractive to terrorist attack because less spectacular would the outcome of the subsequent economic crash be: i.e. the bigger the bubble, the more spectacularly it explodes, so the smaller the property price bubble, the less bang for the buck the terrorist get when executing a terror attack without fleet footed property punters to absolutely deflate the economy at any sign of terrorist upper hand.

Besides, high property prices become an anti-climax factor to younger generation because when they compare LKY generation HDB price appreciation/ inflation (e.g. $10k to $300k over say 30yrs), they see only price deflation (certainly in real terms) in their own case as well as escalating costs of living, which gives them a sour mood about the capabilities and competence of the PAP, which means that PAP political mandate would be much weakened.

So silly of PAP to allow Mah Bow Tan to have driven the train off the track, now have to correct HDB property prices and cool down the expectations of elderly who think HDB flat can provide retirement $$$.

PAP sowed the seeds of its own extinction.

Soulhacker(HWZ) said:
To be fair to the earlier leaders, their vision ish really just about providing cheap and affordable public housing for the peasants. It was never in their plans and vision to use HDB to help peasant become millionaires, that why the need of a short limitation of 99yrs lease cause such public housing are not supposed to be misuse by people as long term investment. It supposed to be just a cheap affordable housing scheme to house one or at most two generations in each family. The cost of public housing under the earlier leadership ish only increase over the years in proportion to the income of sinkie but not as a form of investment.

But when a certain someone take over, then the public housing scheme ish suddenly ganna mutated into some kind of ponzi scheme and one of the vote buying tool. It work in the same way such as the later investors entering the market then the need to pump in more $$$ so it can benefit the earlier pumper to help them become millionaires and keep the scheme sustainable. That why after that someone take over, we start seeing cost of housing jump by large margin over years and longer proportion to peasant wage increase.

And the longer this kind of ponzi scheme drag each later pumper will need to pump in even more $$$ so the scheme can appear profitable to the earlier pumpers. It will however eventually hit a point where future gen won't be able to afford to pump in that kind of $$$ anymore and all the earlier investor are nao stuck with some worthless paper value $hit that can't sell anymore and the whole scheme will just collapse. Don't use brain just use kar chng to think also should know this kind of bubble how can be sustainable in the long run?

But too bad as always, people are simply too greedy and fail to see through such an obvious flaw. That why regardless of so many cases people are still falling for new ponzi schemes, all cause of Greed. :(

That someone is Mah Bow Tan, just say it lah.

Thats why PAP made it very difficult for sinkies to relocate to jb. MRT link to jb to be completed only in 2024. 14 years after ktm land in Singapore was returned.

Might as well say all taxes are ponzi schemes.

Ppl w jobs pay taxes to support the jobless. The scheme will fall apart if everyone demands to be paid the same way.

Aiyo why keep calling HDB ponzi when we already know it is for a very long time.

Ponzi is ok as long as you cash out before the Ponzi is exposed and insolvent.

Stupid sinkies. Dunno how to protect yourselves. Act to benefit yourselves. Just know how to kpkb.

No difference how you kpkb is just kpkb.

I cashed out all the Sinkie ponzi schemes already. HDB CPF.

HDB is a good policy.. sorry was a good policy to give housing to the populace....but now with pap greed etc feeding into the people..it has become a rent seeking entity. HDB sustainable appreciation is ok and that the private banks are kept out of the public market..the pap wants HDB to go up..it wants the populace to pay market rate for housing..but still wants to control the ppl living in public housing...good they take..bad the ppl deal with it themselves.

I was browsing some property sites and a DBSS at yishun (adora green or adora something) 92sqm (4-room flat) going for........ wait for it................................ $650k!!!

It's ok...can sell for 1 million in 5 years

Might as well say all taxes are ponzi schemes.

Ppl w jobs pay taxes to support the jobless. The scheme will fall apart if everyone demands to be paid the same way.
Taxes are robbery if politicians pocket the $$$.

Ponzi schemes usually have a voluntary element but are fueled by fake demand premised on faked outcomes (dividends secretly paid out from principal sum but undeclared as such): the consequence being just an empty shell company sustained solely by faked accounts.

Support for jobless can have ponzi elements I guess if gahmen budgets are unbalanced and faked accounts reported such as by Greece in causing the Eurozone debt crisis. As such, it was not just an issue about subsidies to jobless people but an issue of gahmen spending and the veracity of gahmen declared accounts as a whole.

anikin2(sgfuck) said:
To tell you abit of history to understand :at about 1995 onwards. The govt aggressively built HDB until it 1998 to 2000. It collapse till senkang and jurong resale flat cheaper than new HDB. 200k can get a 5 room.
So HDB gana Sc--wed upside down.
So after that HDB become very conservative and built slowly. Although Ah mah know they are behind the curve.
With the explosive housing price from the blessing of our chinaman... It went uncontrollable.
If u want it to collapse...
All owner will hate u.
If u want it to go up.. Our future generation will hate ourself.
So the best thing is let it collapse at a gradual pace...

Didn't u see that they are still trying to bring it down. Like limiting the tenants in a flat...

Limiting tenants/flat increases rental demand for HDB flats... more HDB flats now have to be rented to house the SAME number of tenants because fewer can stay in EACH flat... Prevents 'vacant HDB for rent openings(advertisements)' from sky rocketing, thus proping up resale HDB prices.

But yes, HDB now regrets the ponzi elements of their past decisions to turn HDB into cash bonanzas to 'buy' votes, which is why they are silently cooling down HDB prices to match median salary scales. Perhaps the only winner were the 2 Singapore casinos: Singaporeans who gambled n lost decided to sell their HDB to gamble even more because the HDB price was good, then decided to rent 1rm rental from HDB ($19/mth/pax last I heard) or else live @ Changi beach/ECP (FOC)(even wrt $19/pax/mth: its still a HDB 'rental' flat anyhow)... thus the casinos outsmarted the HDB and only gave HDB more headaches to solve.

Main_Balances_Desktop.png

Hdb ponzi or not I dun know. What I know is that foreigners come here get PR buy subsidised flats and later sell off for profit and return home stay bungalow whereas blur fuck sinkies no where to run and have to reverse mortgage to gahmen to survive old age.

zeebjii(HWZ) said:
Yes, and it's too late to reverse course without causing great pain to existing owners. Still can't get over that fact that countless malaysians have profited from the ridiculous siblings scheme.

Add to that the other stupid policy of allowing public flat owners to buy private properties.

Public housing should be reserved for singaporeans only, and when you are well off enough to buy private, you shouldn't be allowed to keep your subsidized public flat.

We all know how ponzi scheme works. Once you start you can't stop, otherwise the whole scheme will collapse on itself. Why do you think HDB is still building so many flats every year when govt claims our local population is declining?

Guess it was Mah bow Tan which injected the ponzi philosophy into HDB which is now trying to reverse the damage that Mah Bow Tan caused to HDB and public housing in Singapore.

PAP also wants younger Singaporeans to see gradual appreciation in value of their HDB flats at least for the 1st 20years of the 99yr lease, thus the need to either increase salary scales, or else sell BTO HDB cheap, as well as invite more PR to come in to be new citizens etc to create a demand for resale HDB flats.

Thus the open arms welcome of foreign friends who want to be citizens of Singapore and earlier access to BTO HDB flats for young Singaporeans to encourage more babies to feed the future defence and labor needs of Singapore.

Fuck this Marboky! Fuck the PAP!

HDB is far better than any public housing policy in the world.

Compare to HK, public housing is deliberately insufficient to meet supply. And whatever supply there is, the apartments are very small. Housing prices is off the charts in HK because the government's main revenue is from land sales.

In mudland, public housing is for the very poor, and many of the kids who stay in public housing are malnourished and stunted.

In Singapore, HDB dwellers live well and their apartments are an asset, which has been repeatedly enhanced.

HDB is far better than any public housing policy in the world.

Compare to HK, public housing is deliberately insufficient to meet supply. And whatever supply there is, the apartments are very small. Housing prices is off the charts in HK because the government's main revenue is from land sales.

In mudland, public housing is for the very poor, and many of the kids who stay in public housing are malnourished and stunted.

In Singapore, HDB dwellers live well and their apartments are an asset, which has been repeatedly enhanced.

Rubbish I never see any malnourished and stunted kids in Malaysia. In fact their new public housing look pretty decent although no fight with HDB standard but very money worth for the price.

You clearly haven't been walking the grounds like what grassroots leaders do.

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/m...urban-poor-at-crisis-level-unicef-report-says

This stunted children report criteria so complex to include obese children. No wonder I can’t see them. Need to be nutrition expert to see this kind of malnourished and stunted kids.

“Consequentially, obesity has become a huge problem — the survey found 23 per cent of the children in these flats to be either overweight or obese, which is six times higher than the entire city, which averaged at just six per cent.”