• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Guess What I Saw at Job Fair Today?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Mar-26 9:24 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (14 of 33) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30679.14 in reply to 30679.13 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-100732 class=alt>Incredulous on Fri, 26th Mar 2010 5:37 pm
2acac913972cb66176ab360f6089eb3c

To my born and bred Singaporean Bros and Sis; I have some bad news.
I was at the JobsDB job fair today looking for job opportunities.
In my 2 hours there (11am to 1pm), majority I saw are Indian Foreigners, (crowding booths looking for IT and Engineering jobs) Filipino girls (crowding booths looking for admin & HR & service jobs)
and China Girls (at booths for service jobs).
I don’t know if more foreigners will come for tomorrow and Sunday, but I don’t think I will get the job I submitted (Admin Support Officer) even though I reduced my asking salary to $1600
This is just my observation when I was there. I hope I am wrong.
But seeing how Singaporeans were outnumbered at that time, I felt really alienated.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Mar-26 9:24 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (14 of 33) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30679.14 in reply to 30679.13 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-100732 class=alt>Incredulous on Fri, 26th Mar 2010 5:37 pm
2acac913972cb66176ab360f6089eb3c

To my born and bred Singaporean Bros and Sis; I have some bad news.
I was at the JobsDB job fair today looking for job opportunities.
In my 2 hours there (11am to 1pm), majority I saw are Indian Foreigners, (crowding booths looking for IT and Engineering jobs) Filipino girls (crowding booths looking for admin & HR & service jobs)
and China Girls (at booths for service jobs).
I don’t know if more foreigners will come for tomorrow and Sunday, but I don’t think I will get the job I submitted (Admin Support Officer) even though I reduced my asking salary to $1600
This is just my observation when I was there. I hope I am wrong.
But seeing how Singaporeans were outnumbered at that time, I felt really alienated.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

bro u be lucky if u get that job..heaps of competition son...... i have 2 deg and 1 dip and as from friday i have submited 227 job applications and still jobless for 8mths....

i m probably going to get a cab drive license and drive cab soon or be a security guard

if you can't be the cheapest, you have to be the best... remember this...

To all Singaporeans Job Hunters...

I was in this form of predicament before...

However, here is a recommendation and suggestion.

Make sure your pay request is as low as possible; say SGD 1,200 to SGD 1,500 Range.

This is to ensure you get into the HR Recruiter's Radar Screen First.

When you get a chance for Interview, MAKE SURE YOU STUDY the Company's INDUSTRY, and it's Market, and it's business interest.

Most importantly, find out what does the JOB SCOPE's Objectives, and what results does it want the employee to perform.

Once you have all the information at your finger tips.

When your interviewer asked you why you want this job, tell them that it's always your ambition to be in that industry, and what you know about the industry, and what kind of contribution you can give to the prospective employer.

Once you are in the job, work passionately, and do the best you can.

I can assure you that when you build value larger than what you receive, you will surely get a pay raise, and promotion...

The most important thing is to get the chance to be interviewed, and once you got the chance, make sure you do your due deligence in learning everything you can about the company's business, competition, competive edge, etc... Remember, INTERNET, BOOKS, and People are all around you, use it to your best advantage!

Good Luck :cool:

At $1,200 job what career advancement can you hope to get and how long to climb?

Hi Xebay11,

you are missing the point.

It's important to get the CHANCE to PROVE yourself by getting the Job FIRST.

If one is not even confident of his/her own abilities, then why ask for more?

It's no longer about career advancement when one wants to seek a job.

It's more important to secure a cash flow in life first, and only when you can feed your stomach, and perhaps some other mouths to feed, then you can focus all your attention to career development.

Get the Job first, and then prove yourself, and the pay increase, and promotions will certainly come. Just believe and succeed...

I have a Engineering Degree, and I hold a job as a sales man for SGD 1,000 back in 2002... back then, jobs were scarce... I took the chance, and grown from there...

:cool:

you ar one against the manys of cheap, young and desperate. you WONT WIN even if u have homeground advantage.

Time for u to consider moving overseas.

you ar one against the manys of cheap, young and desperate. you WONT WIN even if u have homeground advantage.

Time for u to consider moving overseas.

I concur. I suggest you venture overseas even if its on local terms. You will be better off in the long term in terms of your career and your personal life.

I took a paycut to come to Beijing 3 years back, which seems rediculous to some people. I worked hard, got promoted every year, gained a lot of experience/exposure, got to visit a couple of cities and got to watch the Olympics and their 60th National Day Parade!

Last but not least, I get to work with real PRC talents (not those desperate whores you see in job fair!) and there are no Ah Nehs here!

Actually what u said is true. But u need to get a job that adds value when your experience increases. If u talk about retail job like work in McDonalds, then forget about it cos the experience doesn't add value.

Remember a $1k job is still better than a $0 Zor Bo Lan job at home! And there is no such thing as a dignified bum. Lol

bro u be lucky if u get that job..heaps of competition son...... i have 2 deg and 1 dip and as from friday i have submited 227 job applications and still jobless for 8mths....

i m probably going to get a cab drive license and drive cab soon or be a security guard

hmm... in 1999 (asia financial crisis) met a old classmate he was a production supervisor but the company moved oversea so he was jobless for more than 1 year, end up working as security guard.

an ns fren lost his job in 2001 (tech bubble) only managed to secure a job after more than 2 years and with big paycut.

another ns fren took big paycut in 2008 (subprime crisis), job mkt poor so cont to work...

If you can't get a job, don't blame it on others.

Anyway PRC meimeis can be hardworking and cute. Can give them a vocation if they can do some jobs - odd-job, paper job, hand-job (I mean work with their hands), blow-job (I mean hair-blowing at salon), etc.

if he can think clearly and move backwards, it all started out from the loser freaking PAP and their incompetent and coward FT policies.

He should stage a protest with the rest of the sinkies, like those thais and confront the PAP. btw, you need human character and balls to do that, i wonder if he has any.

I am going to the job fair today and see if I can get any job from there.

bro, get a job overseas and dont look back. u can do it! :)

I concur. I suggest you venture overseas even if its on local terms. You will be better off in the long term in terms of your career and your personal life.

I took a paycut to come to Beijing 3 years back, which seems rediculous to some people. I worked hard, got promoted every year, gained a lot of experience/exposure, got to visit a couple of cities and got to watch the Olympics and their 60th National Day Parade!

Last but not least, I get to work with real PRC talents (not those desperate whores you see in job fair!) [COLOR="_______"]and there are no Ah Nehs[/COLOR] here!

You damn lucky don't have to tolerate snakes

Probably senior <whatever> supervisor, then after that kena tekan like shit and die of heart attack at salary $2000. No mimumum wage lah!

bro, get a job overseas and dont look back. u can do it! :)

I would fly to new zealand, auckland. Rent an apt for 1 month and start applying for jobs there. There is a work to residency visa, when you get an interview, tell employer about the work visa.

You got nothing to lose. Instead of wasting time here and go for those Jobsdb fair and get innundated by assholes foreigners. You can't beat them, they are united, you are dis-united, you better hide one corner in Suntec City. Look at the sad, disgraceful state we are in now.