• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Guess the Nationailty?

Family in Tampines hangs raw chicken and pork meat out to dry from window

2s12kj9.jpg

Reader from Stomp was appalled at see the resident of this flat hang raw pork legs and whole chickens out to dry. She feels the resident's act is unsanitary and insensitive to her neighbours.

In her email:

"Lately, I've been seeing a resident on the sixth floor at Block 493D Tampines Street 43 hanging pork legs and whole chicken.

"The meats are hung on bamboo poles outside the resident's bedroom windows.

v5bw9k.jpg

"The resident will only hang them on sunny days around 4-5.30pm.

"The sight of it is really disgusting.

"I called Town Council to inform about this matter too.

"This should really be shared amongst all the citizens."

Agoraphobic

Hmmm, I don't think there is a law against private practice of seasoning meat is there? Such processes are usually carried out by commercial enterprises who have the expertise, equipment and are licensed to carry it out. But I also know of individuals who make their own home-made seasoned meats and sausages - not for resale but own consumption. And they are not disallowed from doing so. So what's the fuss?

Nope. But there is also no law against cooking curry right? Imagine the blood from the meat dripping onto your parapet and the smell of blood getting into your house.

Hmmm, I don't think there is a law against private practice of seasoning meat is there? Such processes are usually carried out by commercial enterprises who have the expertise, equipment and are licensed to carry it out. But I also know of individuals who make their own home-made seasoned meats and sausages - not for resale but own consumption. And they are not disallowed from doing so. So what's the fuss?

I am doing that at my backyard in my malaysian semi-D but usually its duck/ chicken

that woman stay hdb all her life and dunno how to make preserved meat. bet her kitchen is for show only, at most can cook maggie mee.

paiseh, forgotten about the game.

new stinkie lah, who else.

soIsee

Fuck lah.

You mean EVERYTHING needs a law meh?

What time and sort of living environemnt are you in?

If you are in Tiong land or Ah neh land, this is of course standard fare in their daily living.

melzp

But then, pls be sensitive to Muslims.

1. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
2. me just hope that my neighbours dry its abalone and/or sharkfins in the open too.
3. oops! real abalone hoh:biggrin:

Agoraphobic

Nope. But there is also no law against cooking curry right? Imagine the blood from the meat dripping onto your parapet and the smell of blood getting into your house.

Cooking curry is a common thing - much more common than meat left out to dry in the open. I don't think the NEA can regulate what people cook in their kitchens, but they should come up with laws and policies about what people hang out in open/common spaces. Although I doubt if laws exisi to deal with this case mentioned here, but the authorities should. Disease could be spread/started by such practices. And if blood spillage causes inconvenience to others - there is a case for police to take action. So if there are no laws to curb such actions, complains (via Stomp or other) come to nothing.

Seriously our highrise pigeonholes are ideal for this purpose. Nothing wrong la. I hope the oil drip on some PAP Malay dogs

Everyone got the right to do what they want in their home . But HDB is share by so many family . So must be considerate . If he or she is staying in landed then they can do anything in their backyard .

Agoraphobic

Fuck lah.

You mean EVERYTHING needs a law meh?

What time and sort of living environemnt are you in?

If you are in Tiong land or Ah neh land, this is of course standard fare in their daily living.

Laws help. So if someone complains, and there isn't a law regulating the practice, what are the cops to do? I do not want to live in a place like Ah Tiong or Ah Neh Land, I live in a place that is orderly, and where people place the law above eveyone's else "rights," whatever they may be so that general society continues its way of unhindered progress. I believe most civilized people prefer this.

leetahbah

Problem #1 - the meat can be contaminated when hung out like that. Further more in the middle floor, the upper floor may spit, throw dirt and end up on the meat. Or birds may poo on the meat. Or just the plain wind can blow dirt on the meat. Because of high risk of contamination, the person may fall sick. We don't want him sick, contributing to the crowds in the hospital, medical system that would otherwise be used for people who are genuine in need.

Problem #2 - the person may not be having all the meat for own consumption. He may be a part time supplier to restaurant, or he may give away to friends and we don't want people falling sick from unhygenic meat curing. From the quantity of meat hanging out, it may looks like the meat is for distribution outside the family as well.