• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Great News! Sinkies can have IKEA Decorate their 99 Years Leased Pigeon Holes!

Pinkieslut

IKEA branches into Singapore's interior design market with new Jurong outlet
Dec. 15, 2020, 12:14 p.m.
ikea-jurong-point_q2n4.620.png

Let's not beat around the bush. When paired together with a bit of careful planning and coordination, the products from IKEA's range of home furniture can end up becoming a real treat for the eyes.

Anyone who's visited one of their stores will know just how pretty a living space decked out with full IKEA furniture can be. The shapes flow, the colors pop, and everything just blends together in a way that makes you feel right at home.

ezgif-7-97b41b381144_wkqu.jpg
IMAGE: IKEA
And soon enough, Singaporeans who have always dreamed of living in a home with the distinct IKEA touch can do just that.

In 2021, IKEA will open a new outlet in Singapore's Jurong Point that will offer interior design services exclusively for Housing and Development Board (HDB) flats.

ikea-2_4wke.jpg
IMAGE: Mothership
Dubbed a "planning and renovation studio", the new outlet will differ significantly from its other two current locations in Alexandra and Tampines as well as its upcoming Jem outlet in the sense that it will be much smaller – only spanning two storeys – and without all the usual trimmings of a giant IKEA complex.

Like living in an IKEA.
Opening in January 2021, the outlet will be operated in partnership with Bangalore-based design firm Livspace, and will offer Singaporean HDB flat owners full-service interior design services for their homes, with Livspace overseeing completion from initial design to renovation works and the installation of fittings.

IMAGE: Livespace
On the Singaporean Livspace webpagededicated to the service, the company announced their partnership with IKEA while explaining the concept of "hygge", or the feeling of warmth or coziness you get when walking into an IKEA store.

IMAGE: Livspace
"The ‘it’ word for Scandinavian design, this Danish term stands for wellness and contentment we often associate with IKEA furniture," read the copy on the webpage. "And now, you could come out of IKEA stores feeling even more excited because Livspace is adding elation to the mix!"

"Livspace is now the official renovation partner of IKEA in Singapore and you can come to either of their stores to get a free consultation with our interior designer."

For starters, the partnership will aim to introduce a range of Built-To-Order packages for HDB flat owners with relatively affordable prices, beginning with a package for two rooms at US$7,409 (SG$9,900) and going all the way to a package for five rooms at US$11,975 (SG$16,000).

According to Livspace, options for fittings will be entirely customizable and allow for mixing and matching of products from IKEA's catalog.

And to sweeten the deal, the company has also guaranteed on-time delivery of each project, with any delay of completion beyond 15 days being compensated by them paying the client's rent or $500 per week.

What next for IKEA?
While this move by IKEA is certainly something quite new in the Southeast Asian market, the company has already rolled out similar interior design services elsewhere, namely a business interior design consultancy in India.

Similarly, it has also branched out into other niches such as a clothing and apparel line and a partnership with ASUS ROG to create gaming chairs and other gamer-related furniture.

IMAGE: IKEA Japan
Looking at this new move into Singapore's design space, the question to ask right now is what other product categories IKEA will look to enter next. Electronics? Snack food?

We'll just have to wait and see.

Ikea looks nice, beautiful and modern design BUT quality is not there i bought a dining table and my wife just put her 1 of the thick book (something like yellow pages)
after 2 months later we notice the table is bend because of the book weight lol.

Ikea furniture only lasts about 4 to 5 years so be prepared to fork out $ for a makeover very often.

Ikea looks nice, beautiful and modern design BUT quality is not there i bought a dining table and my wife just put her 1 of the thick book (something like yellow pages)
after 2 months later we notice the table is bend because of the book weight lol.
Of course, the alternative is australian designed furniture which costs a bomb,

Australian made furniture it cost expensive but worth the money bro.
in my old house i bought a recliner sofa very solid and very comfortable and everytime my inlaw visit us he like to sit on the recliner sofa chair he will fall asleep very fast.

The Ikea armchair in my house has been there for 20yrs already. It comes in metal frame with pvc upholstery, the frame is still strong n sturdy but of coz the pvc started peeling off a few years ago n I got it newly upholstered. Some Ikea stuffs are quite durable in fact!

Why ikea don’t sell coffin ? Just right for their type of quality.

Ikea furniture only lasts about 4 to 5 years so be prepared to fork out $ for a makeover very often.
KNN my uncle think ikea has many furnitures range and made from different quality materials KNN we must check carefully first before buying KNN my uncle bought 2 items with solid wood and cheap and already >10 years still solid KNN 1 is a dining set wooden kind and 1 is a desktop table big solid heavy wood KNN while some are totally cannot make it KNN the same kind of wood at hdb would cost at least 2x the price KNN my uncle leelised hdb furniture shops are mostly con job fucking expensive KNN most of ikea chest of drawers cannot even last 3 years KNN

Sometimes from the outside the wood looks very durable and solid but inside the wood actually it’s not so good I don’t really how to explain but it looks like imagine u saw a plank of wood and the cut u made drop tiny power like that and that power the gather it and press it and they made into a wood.

That is why if we compare the price it is half the price or more.

Well some is very lucky buy from ikea furniture can last long. For me I bought 2 table one for dining bigger size and the other one for study half the size both also abit bend after afew months.

I bought sofa on sale from courts it lasted for 6 years till the day I left Sg.

Sometimes from the outside the wood looks very durable and solid but inside the wood actually it’s not so good I don’t really how to explain but it looks like imagine u saw a plank of wood and the cut u made drop tiny power like that and that power the gather it and press it and they made into a wood.

That is why if we compare the price it is half the price or more.

Well some is very lucky buy from ikea furniture can last long. For me I bought 2 table one for dining bigger size and the other one for study half the size both also abit bend after afew months.

I bought sofa on sale from courts it lasted for 6 years till the day I left Sg.
My uncle do agree that usually is jit hoon ji jit hoon hay KNN hdb kind mostly very durable but old fashion and very expensive KNN if you know my uncle well he would rather spend lesser and find a mid durable kind and change leesign if spoilt rather than buy a very expensive kind and later become old fashioned leesign then he will see liao sian KNN

Why ikea don’t sell coffin ? Just right for their type of quality.

Only if the deceased is going to be cremated, then go for a cheap coffin but a quality vase or urn. For proper burial, you want a long lasting and durable final resting place.

There are many things to buy from Ikea but furniture isn't one of them. :wink:

If ur home not fully air-con don't get their designers, their interior only look nice in an air-con envioroment played by the lighting. If you ask the Banglas which is the most discarded furniture at the rubbish bin, Ikea top all.

Indeed. There are many local Sinkie independent furniture shops, some have been in business for decades. Good quality, great value for money. Support them.

Same for bakeries. Instead of giving your money to FT employees at Breadtalk, support your local independent bakeries in the heartlands.

IKEA is for people use a few year throw away one. Obviously new thing is for FT lunch stealers, not you. :cautious: