• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Google in talks to acquire Whatsapp

Whatsapp is again in an acquisition rumor for the second time in two years. Earlier it was Facebook, now its Google. Its not a monkey and banana game anymore, the bananas just got costlier.

whatsapp-feature-1024x640.jpg

An inside source told Digital Trends that Google has been in talks to buy the widely popular messaging app Whatsapp for as high as $1 billion.

If this sounds familiar, it’s because Facebook was rumored to be interested in buying WhatsApp at the end of last year, though the price tag was never publicized for that rumor. If the $1 billion figure is correct, it would put WhatsApp in the same ballpark as Instagram, which was acquired by Facebook last year.

WhatsApp Messenger is a smartphone messenger available for Android and other smartphones. WhatsApp uses your 3G or WiFi (when available) to message with friends and family. It’s currently the No. 1 app in Apple’s App Store in dozens of countries, and it has been downloaded more than 100 million times on Google Play.

A rep for Google says the company does not comment on rumor or speculation. WhatsApp did not immediately respond to our request for comment.

fuckng idiots could have bought wechat and garnered china market for one third the money....fucking fools

i think you miss the cue here, nobody gives a shit to 3rd world software who has a history of being a copycat. It is not good for reputation and stocks.

Same as nobody gives a shit to sinkies who complain here and there daily but no balls to go to the street.

orh...only angmor is goood big and long hor.....have they seen tuayapeh's tongue or not???

nbccb many a woman have creamed in their g strings when they imgined wtf i can do t them with my pinky snake heeheeheehe

anyways its a good waY to "squander"corporate cash by siphnn it out through bs deals like this....... buy something for some overpriced amount and then get a huge chunk of it back under the table...everybody wins right??

orh...only angmor is goood big and long hor.....have they seen tuayapeh's tongue or not???

nbccb many a woman have creamed in their g strings when they imgined wtf i can do t them with my pinky snake heeheeheehe

anyways its a good waY to "squander"corporate cash by siphnn it out through bs deals like this....... buy something for some overpriced amount and then get a huge chunk of it back under the table...everybody wins right??

sinkie, dun know anything dun act smart here..

google is where he is today is because of good business acumen and sound business strategy...It is all about expanding its reached in the virtual world and to more people.

WhatsApp CEO Jan Koum revealed that the smartphone app is even more popular than microblogging site Twitter. It currently has over 200 million monthly active users, who send out and receive over 20 billion messages each day. WhatsApp now processes an estimated total of 12 billion outbound messages and 8 billion inbound messages on a daily basis.

Back in December, Twitter announced it had reached over 200 million monthly active users. A monumental feat, it’s impressive that WhatsApp has apparently trumped that number. While Mr. Koum didn’t offer exact figures for WhatsApp, but he did mention that since charging users 99 cents per year, usage has not dropped off.

Being installed on millions of smartphones, and available on all major platforms like iOS, Android and Windows Phone, WhatsApp has a huge opportunity to take advantage of its user base by implementing ads. But Koum said that will never happen.

“We do have a manifesto opposing advertising,” Koum said. “We’re proud of that. Who likes advertising? We’re so bombarded with ads so much in our daily lives and we felt that smartphones aren’t the place for that. Our phones are so intimately connected to us, to our lives. Putting advertising on a device like that is a bad idea. You don’t want to be interrupted by ads when you’re chatting with your loved ones.”

Koum also addressed the rumors that WhatsApp would be acquired, reiterating that the company wants to remain independent and doesn’t really think about acquisition as an exit strategy. He added that, “Our goal is to build a sustainable, independent company. We want to build a business.”

He also revealed partnerships with a number of carriers, including local data deals in India, have helped drive adoption and usage. He also revealed access to a “roaming pass” with a Hong Kong-based partner has allowed its users to use WhatsApp across Asia without extra fees.

WhatsApp is certainly one of the most popular messaging apps despite all the tough competition it faces from rivals like Facebook Messenger, KakaoTalk, Nimbuzz and others. The app recently expanded to Blackberry 10 platform.

I really hope Koum sticks to what he said and keeps ads away from the platform as they can be a big turn off. Also, I would like to see some updates in Whats App like a more simple and beautiful UI. What do you think?

Who gives a shit to China... please take note of the word "active" rather than just "user".

Line also going places. It's jap and has about more than half the downloads of whasapp.

We CHAT mush better that WhatApp.
With so many choice out there LINE, Tango, Viber..............................

Many Chinese companies are seeking foreign investments, PRC government welcome foreign investments too. Problem is foreign companies are very cautious now a days because of transparency and strong arm tactics by PRC government after any investments. Rules changed too many times. Google for one I am sure will be a lot more cautious especially after the arm wrestling with PRC government on censorship which google finally gave in to them with much disgust from their shareholders and the public particularly.

This is what happen when you deal with 3rd world shit.. worse off if they are chinks.

whatsapp is nothing when compared to BlackBerry Messenger