• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'Good news': MM Lee to contest in Tanjong Pagar GRC again

cooleo

Screen-shot-2011-04-18-at-AM-11.25.46.png

Minister Mentor (MM) Lee Kuan Yew indicated he would contest in the Tanjong Pagar group representation constituency this coming General Election (GE), putting to rest any question on whether the so-called father of modern Singapore, who turns 88 in September, would do so given his age.

In his video released on the ruling People's Action Party's website on Sunday, MM Lee said, "I'm happy to be still representing Tanjong Pagar."

MM Lee, the founding member and first secretary-general of the PAP, first won his Tanjong Pagar seat in May 1955, and he has retained it ever since. He is now in his 11th term since Singapore's independence.

A total of 18 Members of Parliament will be retiring this GE, including Senior Minister S Jayakumar and Minister Lim Boon Heng, who have served as Members of Parliament (MPs) since 1980.

"I've seen Tanjong Pagar transform in three generations. It's no longer a scruffy area," he said in the video in which he also recalled how his son Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong used to follow him during his campaigning.

"It's now as good a constituency as any in Singapore," he said.

Senior research fellow at the Institute of Policy Studies Gillian Koh said it is no surprise that MM Lee is contesting in the GE. "It would be a surprise if he were not running," she said.

"His conviction about Singapore, passion for Singapore still remains very strong as we can see in the volume he put up recently, Hard Truths."

In the book, published by Singapore Press Holdings and launched in January, MM Lee shared his insights into various issues ranging from the future of Singapore's political system, immigration, the rise of China and climate change.

Dr Koh noted that MM Lee is also renewing his team in Tanjong Pagar and grooming younger leaders.

With MM Lee contesting, "the older voters may be happy, they may feel a strong sense of comfort that he's still there," said Dr Koh.

"He has his support and he's still strong in Tanjong Pagar. So the key thing is to see who will come to challenge him," she added.

The five-man team for Tanjong Pagar GRC consists of Members of Parliament Indranee Rajah (Tanglin-Cairnhill), Dr Lily Neo (Kreta Ayer-Kim Seng), Baey Yam Keng (Queenstown) and new candidate Major-General Chan Chun Sing (Buona Vista).

Videos of other PAP candidates can be found in the microsites for the 27 constituencies under the PAP website. The PAP's GE website went live at noon on Sunday, timed to coincide with the launch of the party's manifesto.

cooleo

unhappy 21 hours ago Report Abuse

I have been reading alot of singaporeans are supporting the oppositions and I am one of them. When I was a employee, I did not feel the hardship of life. When I move on and become a employer, I faced alot of problem with all government agencies... ICA, CPF, MOM and so on. I only run the business for 2 years. I struggled my way and did not get any help or chance from any of these govenment agencies. Those people who has alot of money can run business, survive and can have luxury life. I know I got my own talents and with my little saving I could not even run a business nor see any profilts. All the money I earn only gone to the 3rd party, rental so high, levy, bonds. ... and so on. I could not effort to pay my credit card bills as I run into heavy lost by paying fines after compond fines and so on. I went thru credit cousellors assistance. The consultant said, my income is so low and my expenses are too high and therefore they cannot help me. My question here, if I had the money wouldn't I pay my bills, why the hell I go to them for assistance. I wanted to talk to the banks to negotiate the interest charges. After this, I went to CDC, providing them all my documentations telling them that I am the only one who is working and supporting my daughter who is 7 yrs old, my mum who needs to take care of my father who is handicap and has alot of medical problems. Over here they said my income is high and therefore they cannot help me. Now i do not know where I stand. I am not shame to reveal my income. I am only earning $1550 and after cpf deduction my salary is only $1200. With this income, I got to pay the utilities, groceries and so on. I am not living in a luxury life. I asked myself, like any other human kind... I too wanted to come up in life and a single woman i strugle my way up. I did not cheat anyone. But yet I did not get the right support till now. People who are living in luxury life will not know the difficulties. I started to hate the PAP when i deal with them directly and even put up a request for waivers and so on. I did not get any proper ans from them. All they need from us is money money money.. They never let us live & archieve. Housing prices are too expensive... with this amount of income i have.. when I applied for house.. they only grant me $88k... they asked me to look for a house within my means. Can anyone tell me if I can get a house for eighty eight thousand. Any 3 rms flats are costing 300+++k now. With the money they give us this may 1st, can it assist us for the entire year. I think the amount will just gone to pay them back thru the bills and so on that i have..

CCB....GIVE PEASANT $88K BUY DOG HOLE TO STAY IS IT?! :oIo:

cooleo

Park Jun-onn Mon 18 Apr 2011 18:05 SGT Report Abuse

No disrespect but MM Lee should retire from politics once and for all. Let the next generation of candidates to have a go at the GE instead of hogging the seats. Does PAP have no faith in their new crop of candidates that they need MM Lee to hold the fort at Tanjong Pagar Constituency?

Further to the above, in what phyiscal and mental condition can our MM Lee cope with attending the weekly meet the people session or is he sending someone else in his place to attend to these matters? Personally as a resident in Tanjong Pagar Constituency, if a MP cannot even attend the weekly meet the resident session, i dont see a need to have that MP around. Its like have a MP's name around only to see someone else attending to the matter in proxy.

cooleo

Jason Mon 18 Apr 2011 18:07 SGT Report Abuse

The great leader of Deng Xiao Peng of China knew how to exit graciously and handover the baton to his successor, tho he may still be consulted behind the scenes.

Thot MM Lee would be doing the same in this GE2011...and retire gracefully.

Sometimes power is hard to give up...

cooleo

Mani Mon 18 Apr 2011 19:53 SGT Report Abuse

l put to PAP MM & PM & all MPs of PAP pls look into this ?????

@ HDB housing pricing is high poor,old,needy people family & etc cant buy?

@ your new face PAP are talking the same things all MPs & Ministers ask to say somthing new?

@ cars,food,transport,housing,water,pub & etc school fee are all high the poor & old people cant pay the bills then gon jail.

@ Jobs have been taken by foreigner and they''re salary from $1800 to $5000 pmt but our s'pore born s,prean take home $600 for labours & for pro from $1,200 so we are lower then the foreign laobours and the old have to eat so they need to support themself so they work hard for $ ?.

@ foreigner from china & india & others come here they become citizen in one mth to 3 mth time but they also they are first class citizen so what are we s'pore born s'porean 2rd class citizen and come to give $ from your PAP govt you pay the same amount? for your information you PAP should give the poor,old,needy Family more not the familys or newly become citizen of s'pore cause they born to politics or they are from political country and is running on thier blood & one day they will bite us and the PAP of S'pore take my advise be aware ?

@ people of S'pore knows that when come to GE always we have $ to cause the PAP govt give us $ but if other country give $ to the public that says that the govt buying people with $ but we here in s'pore the Govt give us $ when GE time what you have say about this helping the poor,needy family,needy people & the olds ???

@ PAP pay high salary to MPs & Ministers & for new MPs from $15.000 pmt,sir l tell you what you pay me $5000 a mth l make sure i can run a GRC for the Govt & people you see by doing so the govt save $10,000 pmt and if we talk about 20 to 50 MPs the govt or PAP can save million od $ in a year??? hahaha

@ GE anyway that is sure you PAP will win cause about 2million of foreigne will vote for PAP or the ruling govt cause you have given them citizenship just to vote for you??? hahaha i'm i wrong?

@ international ICA law anyone who stay in the country for 5 years they will be a citizen but here in s'pore 1 to 3 mths they become citizen and also have $ from govt and PAP Govt But i put to you PAP & PM & MM if you could answer me this question then i think you & your goodwill govt dept doing a good job & also you people should be the next govt of the world not s'pore cause you law are good??? see below?>

Qa) are you aware that in s'pore there is a case of a poor s'pore born s'porean who married a foreigner and have 3 childrens all citizen and at poly school and they married for 22 years and his wife stay here in s'pore for the pass 22 years without pr or citizenship.

b) she cant work or support her family cause the law say so cause she hold a long termpass and your ICA dept ask her to go for work permit so that she can work here in s'pore but after her workpermit is over must she go home the ICA said yes then what laws are in s'pore.?

c) she can work as work permit said the MOM then when we ask give or show us that in s'pore there is a case that a long trempass holder have change into work permit and after the permits is over he or she can take back or can stay in s'pore cause her family are here in s'pore so do her childrens are s'porean then we the ICA & MOM have a laws that alway the poor,olds & needy people have problem with them pls PAP and the govt dont take big salary and eat,sleep or set at office if PAP lost is all because of ICA & MOM and the laws in s'pore ????

PAP & Govt i have so many of questing to ask but i have no change but you people PAP bring people to tv question & answer show or talking show and the people ask the same question or they are not deep inside even in court i saw judge are yawning & rapping the eyes wiping the face cause for my point of view is the judge must be in drugs or lack of sleep and even AG,courts govt dept do wrong then why people thinking of voting to opp.?

LAPONDO

cooleo

Sparrow101 Mon 18 Apr 2011 18:17 SGT Report Abuse

The only reason why MM is standing for re-election because he wants to die in office that will accord him state funeral.

He wants to die with a Minister status and not as a oridnary citizen (unlike our Mat in neighbouring country)

He wants the world to know that he serves for Singapore till he drop dead.

I remember him saying that those older minister must step down to give way to younger one, but why isn't he steping down at 88 years old, he should be enjoying his final years in armchair comfy.

Although we salute him for his past achievement, but that is now in history book and I like to use PAP favourite word "Let's move on"

cooleo

Wu Renhe Tue 19 Apr 2011 04:01 SGT Report Abuse

1) ERP does not mitigate the traffice jam.
Measures like impose taxes on family with more than a vechicle should be more advisable and to ppl who does not requires transport for work related purpose shod be encourage to take publice transport. there shod not be 0$ drive away if a downpayment is impose i believe this shod have some impact.

alternatives you can encourage companies to execute flexible working hours.
Example 1st shift from 8-5 , 2nd shift from 9-6 and so on this will also ease the crowd during lunch

2) FT - pls take in only reasonable FT. Indian can easily purchase a anoymous degree and they can set foot in singapore with better pay than singaporean ridiculous. FT messing up our life , kindly refers to the crime rate now to back then. PRC are well protect by PAPIES izzit it.

I had seen ample times our old folks and fellow mates being bullied by foreigners.
Even indians / PRC etc look down on us in our country . We are being mock at. They can work for 10yrs and retire in their countries , we in contrast and to work till we drop dead.

Are you doing anyting when our poor grandparents are con by PRC of their CPF ?
Are you taking action against those fruad to con our poor citizens?
Are you taking up measure against foriegners to speculate our housing price?
Are you taking up any preventives measure to stop our citizen being bullied/

Are you not best at imposing levies / taxes and fines if yes pls act according to the above with this measure.

My 2cents worth - Impose extremely high taxes on foreigners for those who owns houses in singapore and are selling off when they are leaving singapore for good. Portion of the sales shod be lock in CPF untill they purchase the next flat. Sound familiar ? this is what you have been acting on us !!! what turn @#$% when u are facing foreigners? This will not affect ppl who are sincere in residing in singapore.

Foreigners shod be paying levies too and hefty 1 for moonlighting in Singapore. If they ever commit crime then they should be forfeited of the levies. this can address to those cheaters who are out to con us singaporeans

Get them off our grounds those that are not sincere in shaping singapore.

3) Lastly pls get urself out of parliment , you can make minor mistakes but not a mistake whereby we are not take care of or rather abuse and manipulate.
Pls go china / india etc to be PM , you be shower with love there since you treat them as nice.

cooleo

Roland Mon 18 Apr 2011 19:03 SGT Report Abuse

Ask other PAP members to retire for new young generation but yet himself still dun!!
Always Full of Rubbish!!
1959....People Action Party = People's action against all odds.
Present.....People Action Party = Gov over people against all odds.
Where is the people's power? Where is our past people's action??
Time to change....
One party ruling = Communism (Can Communism survive??)