• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gong Li becomes S'porean, Chinese TULAN!

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Gong Li becomes S'porean, Chinese TULAN!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">Nov-11 5:03 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 23) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>2389.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Nov 11, 2008
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Gong Li sparks outrage
<!--10 min-->
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
home-gongli-wb.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

The move requires her to forsake her Chinese citizenship, and the decision triggered some fierce condemnation of the 43-year-old star of 'Farewell My Concubine' and 'Memoirs of a Geisha'. -- PHOTO: LIANHE WANBAO
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->
BEIJING - CHINESE actress Gong Li's decision to become a Singapore citizen sparked an online debate in China on Tuesday, with many branding her a traitor but others defending the star.
Gong, who served recently as a Chinese parliament delegate, collected her Singaporean citizenship over the weekend, a lawmaker in the city-state said on Monday.
The move requires her to forsake her Chinese citizenship, and the decision triggered some fierce condemnation of the 43-year-old star of 'Farewell My Concubine' and 'Memoirs of a Geisha'.
'All traitors will be nailed to history's mast of shame. We should resolutely reject any futher contact with such people', one person said in a chat forum on the popular portal Sohu.com.
The state-run Xinhua news agency said speculation that she was actively seeking foreign citizenship resulted in Gong being left off the list of delegates for the 2008 session of parliament earlier this year.
However, many people also expressed understanding for Gong's decision, noting the pressure such stars face in China, and making veiled criticisms of life in the communist country.
'Why doesn't anyone ask why people want to emigrate? We see one Chinese person after another take US citizenship,' one person said on Sohu. 'Why don't we see Americans taking Chinese citizenship?'
Another suggested that many of the critics would leap at the chance to emigrate like a moth to the flame.
'My compatriots, as you blab here, can you really say you love your country? Ask yourself, how many of you are not moths as well?'
The backlash comes after a spike in nationalist sentiments in China this year.
Those passions were partly triggered by Western criticism of a military crackdown on Tibetans following an uprising against Chinese rule in March. Chinese Internet forums were then filled with anti-Western diatribes that the ruling Communist Party allowed to flourish. -- AFP

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

looks like over here iz milder comparatifly ...

over here, u r oni called a quitter ... in china, dey call u traitor ...

tis 1 gd question ... tink woodrow shld oso ask himself wifin sg context ...
'Why doesn't anyone ask why people want to emigrate? We see one Chinese person after another take US citizenship,' one person said on Sohu. 'Why don't we see Americans taking Chinese citizenship?'

char_jig_kar

looks like over here iz milder comparatifly ...

over here, u r oni called a quitter ... in china, dey call u traitor ...

tis 1 gd question ... tink woodrow shld oso ask himself wifin sg context ...

well, we are all too mild.

a person operated a successful black market selling glue, and worked as a transcriber for the japanese military regime during WW2, transcribing and translating news and info on the allied forces to the japanese military regime, could become a prominent political leader here?? sporeans are too mild. too mild to the extend we look like goondus.

tiulehloumoh

well, we are all too mild.

a person operated a successful black market selling glue, and worked as a transcriber for the japanese military regime during WW2, transcribing and translating news and info on the allied forces to the japanese military regime, could become a prominent political leader here?? sporeans are too mild. too mild to the extend we look like goondus.

Yeah, sinkee people like you are to mild and goodo... always kena assed left and right......due to bad karma......:wink:

char_jig_kar

Yeah, sinkee people like you are to mild and goodo... always kena assed left and right......due to bad karma......:wink:

i am doing fine with my life. its u goondu papist who don't know better, keep voting for a traitor. ganna assed by the traitor and still keep voting for the traitor.

tiulehloumoh

i am doing fine with my life. its u goondu papist who don't know better, keep voting for a traitor. ganna assed by the traitor and still keep voting for the traitor.

ha ha ha don't twist lah.....early said "too mild to the extend we look like goondus." The word "we" u mention include you......now kena ass left and right and want to twist it to me.....:biggrin:

char_jig_kar

ha ha ha don't twist lah.....early said "too mild to the extend we look like goondus." The word "we" u mention include you......now kena ass left and right and want to twist it to me.....:biggrin:

singaporeans all ganna assed. its just that when u choose to vote for a traitor who arsed this country, that makes u a goondu. i didn't vote for PAP. not once.

tiulehloumoh

Want to talk cock, also must know how to cover your own ass lah..... don't kena assed alreadi ...then anyhow twist ......:wink:

tiulehloumoh

singaporeans all ganna assed. its just that when u choose to vote for a traitor who arsed this country, that makes u a goondu. i didn't vote for PAP. not once.

Who the hell care who you vote.... you are a assed goondo, doesnt mean everyone is the same goondo as you OK......:rolleyes:

char_jig_kar

Who the hell care who you vote.... you are a assed goondo, doesnt mean everyone is the same goondo as you OK......:rolleyes:

hahah... u ganna assed liao angry liao! hahha!!! tiulehloumoh ah tiulehloumoh.... u voted for people who ARSED YOUR ARSE! muahhahha...

tiulehloumoh

haha... still in denial mode? u voted for people who arsed u! hahhaha...... pathetic.

What is there to denial....... it is clearly that you had been assed left and right by , sinkie drink operator....or any gov agency.... that cause you to talk cock here and again assed by forummer here......:wink:

char_jig_kar

What is there to denial....... it is clearly that you had been assed left and right by , sinkie drink operator....or any gov agency.... that cause you to talk cock here and again assed by forummer here......:wink:

Hahaha... jangan marah lah (don't be angry)... u had been arsing your own ass all over here in this forum. that is the behavior of a retard. i don't have much to say to a confirmed retard. haha... please carry on enjoying these antic of fisting and fucking your own arse. knock yourself out. hahhahhaha!!!

tiulehloumoh

Hahaha... jangan marah lah (don't be angry)... u had been arsing your own ass all over here in this forum. that is the behavior of a retard. i don't have much to say to a confirmed retard. haha... please carry on enjoying these antic of fisting and fucking your own arse. knock yourself out. hahhahhaha!!!

Oh oh lack of words now, now used my quote "jangan marah"....ha ha.... hey use your own word lah.. cby cat...... Yea, but I am enjoying contradicking what you talk cock :rolleyes:......

Seeking a passport to a new life

By Jennifer Pak
BBC News, Beijing

One of China's most famous actresses has been accused of being unpatriotic after becoming a Singaporean citizen.

Some say Gong Li, star of the film Memoirs of a Geisha, has turned her back on her Chinese fans.

But the actress is not the only Chinese citizen to seek another country's passport.

They do it for convenience, to improve job prospects and as a safety net.

Despite China's increasing economic and political power, a Chinese passport is still seen as restrictive by many of its citizens.

Gong Li, whose husband is from Singapore, is just one of many film stars who have given up their Chinese passport.

According to news reports, Hong Kong film star Jet Li holds US citizenship.

And Zhang Ziyi, the star of kung fu movie Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, holds a Hong Kong residency card.

Gong Li's passport switch led to a commentary in the Beijing Youth Daily newspaper.

"We should think about why our laws, our system and cultural society have churned out so many of these so-called 'super citizens', people who live in China but their hearts are set on being a citizen in another country," it said.

'Still Chinese'

Kong Ting, who was born in China but is now a US citizen, is not surprised that Gong Li switched to a Singaporean passport.

"A lot of times when Chinese do things it's for practical reasons, to make life easier and for more financial gain," she said
Ms Kong, 36, has lived in the US for 15 years, and became an American citizen two years ago to make travelling to other countries easier.

"I don't think getting a US citizenship makes me feel any less Chinese," she said.

With the exception of a few dozen south-east Asian and African countries, Chinese passport holders need to apply for visas in advance to go abroad which are sometimes difficult to get.

Most ordinary Chinese can only go abroad by joining tour groups, sometimes at very high costs.

Some tour companies reportedly charge up to 50,000 yuan ($7,300:£4,880) as a deposit to go to Japan.

This acts as a deterrent for people who are thinking of not returning to China after the trip.

Another reason Ms Kong wanted an American passport was for security reasons.

"Maybe I feel safer when I come back to China and I say certain things that the Chinese government doesn't like," she said. "They can't really hold it against me."

Tax reasons

Wu Hao, from Sichuan Province, has studied and worked in the US, and soon hopes to get his hands on a US passport.

He said as a student, getting a US passport was the ultimate goal in life.
"For my generation and older, we wanted a foreign passport so bad," said the 36-year-old.

"We grew up in an environment when China was not secure, when things changed so fast in China. Everyone just wanted to get out as soon as we could back in those days," he said.

Mr Wu moved back to China four years ago.

He will be eligible for an American passport in a few years time, but a small part of him hesitates about trading in his Chinese passport.

"I wonder if I really want to abandon my Chinese identity. I don't know," he added.

Mr Wu said many of his friends are much more practical about citizenship.

"I have a friend who recently gave up his American green card status in order not to pay US tax," said Mr Wu.

"A lot of Chinese friends I know who make a decent or relatively high salary in China, they're considering alternatives, trying to evade tax," he said.

Mr Wu said people who were outraged by Gong Li's switch to Singaporean citizenship are blowing it out of proportion.

"If they got the chance [to get a foreign passport] they would immediately jump on it."

Story from BBC NEWS:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/2/hi/asia-pacific/7754179.stm

Published: 2008/11/28 15:52:27 GMT

Leegimeremover

seeking a passport to a new life

by jennifer pak
bbc news, beijing

one of china's most famous actresses has been accused of being unpatriotic after becoming a singaporean citizen.

Some say gong li, star of the film memoirs of a geisha, has turned her back on her chinese fans.

But the actress is not the only chinese citizen to seek another country's passport.

They do it for convenience, to improve job prospects and as a safety net.

Despite china's increasing economic and political power, a chinese passport is still seen as restrictive by many of its citizens.

Gong li, whose husband is from singapore, is just one of many film stars who have given up their chinese passport.

According to news reports, hong kong film star jet li holds us citizenship.

And zhang ziyi, the star of kung fu movie crouching tiger hidden dragon, holds a hong kong residency card.

Gong li's passport switch led to a commentary in the beijing youth daily newspaper.

"we should think about why our laws, our system and cultural society have churned out so many of these so-called 'super citizens', people who live in china but their hearts are set on being a citizen in another country," it said.

'still chinese'

kong ting, who was born in china but is now a us citizen, is not surprised that gong li switched to a singaporean passport.

"a lot of times when chinese do things it's for practical reasons, to make life easier and for more financial gain," she said
ms kong, 36, has lived in the us for 15 years, and became an american citizen two years ago to make travelling to other countries easier.

"i don't think getting a us citizenship makes me feel any less chinese," she said.

With the exception of a few dozen south-east asian and african countries, chinese passport holders need to apply for visas in advance to go abroad which are sometimes difficult to get.

Most ordinary chinese can only go abroad by joining tour groups, sometimes at very high costs.

Some tour companies reportedly charge up to 50,000 yuan ($7,300:£4,880) as a deposit to go to japan.

This acts as a deterrent for people who are thinking of not returning to china after the trip.

Another reason ms kong wanted an american passport was for security reasons.

"maybe i feel safer when i come back to china and i say certain things that the chinese government doesn't like," she said. "they can't really hold it against me."

tax reasons

wu hao, from sichuan province, has studied and worked in the us, and soon hopes to get his hands on a us passport.

He said as a student, getting a us passport was the ultimate goal in life.
"for my generation and older, we wanted a foreign passport so bad," said the 36-year-old.

"we grew up in an environment when china was not secure, when things changed so fast in china. Everyone just wanted to get out as soon as we could back in those days," he said.

Mr wu moved back to china four years ago.

He will be eligible for an american passport in a few years time, but a small part of him hesitates about trading in his chinese passport.

"i wonder if i really want to abandon my chinese identity. I don't know," he added.

Mr wu said many of his friends are much more practical about citizenship.

"i have a friend who recently gave up his american green card status in order not to pay us tax," said mr wu.

"a lot of chinese friends i know who make a decent or relatively high salary in china, they're considering alternatives, trying to evade tax," he said.

Mr wu said people who were outraged by gong li's switch to singaporean citizenship are blowing it out of proportion.

"if they got the chance [to get a foreign passport] they would immediately jump on it."

story from bbc news:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/2/hi/asia-pacific/7754179.stm

published: 2008/11/28 15:52:27 gmt

爱我中国
前进前进
不怕敌火
前进前进
改换国籍
前进前进
逃税藏财
前进前进
骂倒中央