• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

George Yeo: "We should draw strength from Hwei Yen's sacrifice."????

Porfirio Rubirosa

Dec 2, 2008
S'porean hostage victim
Outpourings of support
By Judith Tan

The site on the social networking site, entitled 'In Memoriam: Ms Lo Hwei Yen', now has nearly 6,700 members and is still growing. -- PHOTO: INTERNET

THE spontaneous outpourings of grief and support for slain Singaporean lawyer Lo Hwei Yen have inundated one group on Facebook in just two days.

The site on the social networking site, entitled 'In Memoriam: Ms Lo Hwei Yen', now has nearly 6,700 members and is still growing.

On Monday alone, the group which was set up last Saturday, saw more than 3,000 members sign up.

Two other Facebook groups were also created in memory of Ms Lo, 28.

The group, 'Memorial for Lo Hwei Yin, the Singaporean killed in Mumbai terrorist attack' enmassed 1,348 members; while the third, 'Lo Hwei Yin - first Singaporean victim to international terrorism' - has 214 members.

Ms Lo was taken hostage and killed by terrorists during a working trip in Mumbai last week. Her husband, Mr Michael Puhaindran, 37, flew there and brought her body back on Sunday morning.

Thousands of condolence messages have been posted for Ms Lo and her family members through these Facebook groups and also on The Straits Times online discussion board.

Many of these messages come from Singaporeans who do not know the victim and her family personally.

Foreign Minister George Yeo, who is an avid Facebook user, also penned his thoughts after attending Ms Lo's wake on Monday.

Mr Yeo wrote how helpless 'we in MFA (Ministry of Foreign Affairs) felt'.

'Our hearts go out to Michael and the family. All of us feel both sadness and anger,' he wrote.

'For us in Singapore, we should draw strength from Hwei-Yen's sacrifice. We will never know why the Lord called her back so early. But in our grief, we should renew our determination to fight the terrorist scourge and always cherish our racial and religious harmony.'

Scores of Singaporeans, many complete strangers, have turned up at Ms Lo's wake at her parents' condominium in Lower Delta Road over the past two days.

On Tuesday morning, a group from the inter-religious organisation dropped by to offer their condolences to Ms Lo's family members and prayed for the victim of the Mumbai terror attack.

The funeral service will take place at the Church of St Teresa on Thursday and she will be cremated at the Mandai Crematorium.

Dec 2, 2008
S'porean hostage victim
Outpourings of support
By Judith Tan

The site on the social networking site, entitled 'In Memoriam: Ms Lo Hwei Yen', now has nearly 6,700 members and is still growing. -- PHOTO: INTERNET

THE spontaneous outpourings of grief and support for slain Singaporean lawyer Lo Hwei Yen have inundated one group on Facebook in just two days.

The site on the social networking site, entitled 'In Memoriam: Ms Lo Hwei Yen', now has nearly 6,700 members and is still growing.

On Monday alone, the group which was set up last Saturday, saw more than 3,000 members sign up.

Two other Facebook groups were also created in memory of Ms Lo, 28.

The group, 'Memorial for Lo Hwei Yin, the Singaporean killed in Mumbai terrorist attack' enmassed 1,348 members; while the third, 'Lo Hwei Yin - first Singaporean victim to international terrorism' - has 214 members.

Ms Lo was taken hostage and killed by terrorists during a working trip in Mumbai last week. Her husband, Mr Michael Puhaindran, 37, flew there and brought her body back on Sunday morning.

Thousands of condolence messages have been posted for Ms Lo and her family members through these Facebook groups and also on The Straits Times online discussion board.

Many of these messages come from Singaporeans who do not know the victim and her family personally.

Foreign Minister George Yeo, who is an avid Facebook user, also penned his thoughts after attending Ms Lo's wake on Monday.

Mr Yeo wrote how helpless 'we in MFA (Ministry of Foreign Affairs) felt'.

'Our hearts go out to Michael and the family. All of us feel both sadness and anger,' he wrote.

'For us in Singapore, we should draw strength from Hwei-Yen's sacrifice. We will never know why the Lord called her back so early. But in our grief, we should renew our determination to fight the terrorist scourge and always cherish our racial and religious harmony.'

Scores of Singaporeans, many complete strangers, have turned up at Ms Lo's wake at her parents' condominium in Lower Delta Road over the past two days.

On Tuesday morning, a group from the inter-religious organisation dropped by to offer their condolences to Ms Lo's family members and prayed for the victim of the Mumbai terror attack.

The funeral service will take place at the Church of St Teresa on Thursday and she will be cremated at the Mandai Crematorium.

I take George Yeo's regrets as a reminder on why we must do more to protect the lives of ordinary S'poreans. This is such to ensure that we don't take anyone for granted.

I hope his Foreign ministry will continue to do more, and do much better to ensure this. Its his and his staff's responsibility and he has to do more, because its what God had tasked him to do.

i will be a bloody hypocrite if i pretend to be griefing.. she is your fren? u know her?

george and other pap dogs, dun farking pretend:oIo:

Draw strength to do what? What is our role in global terrorism?

Sinkapore is too small to kowpeh, yet big enough to be a target

The gahmen should just STFU and grief silently like the people

He say want religious harmony. But used religion in his "LORD called her home early". What a paradox.

I am still wondering what GY means by "sacrifice"? With all due respect to the late Ms Lo and her bereaving husband & family, what "sacrifice" did the late Ms Lo make?:confused:

Getting shot and killed in the wrong moment of terror, I guess. The ultimate sacrifice of losing one's life. *shrugs*

i think deep inside ms lo's family's heart, they also wonder why ms lo suddenly become national icon/hero:confused:

Abit mountain out of mole hill scenario !! Over-milked until not plausible.

hahahaha... y m i not surprised?

especially so, after the many pages of newspaper that her article had been splashed all over with;

with references to her wedding being attended by GCT + some grassroots connection + multi-racial hint, blah blah blah.

condolences to u ms. ho.
i sincerely hope that you rest well wherever you are.

however, i hope all that coverage was not because you were the first singaporean to be killed by a terrorist - it would be an insult to you as a human being, like anyone else.

on the side, i too, wonder why the poor private / ns-men who gave their lives in service of the nation had not receive similar level of coverage in the newspaper / news.

blatant exhibition of hypocrisy at its best here.

First few days' remarks ok already. Now too overdone already !!

Again where is the "sacrifice"? Wrong place, wrong time, bad luck, yes...but "sacrifice", I don't think so.

George Yeo got his own way of saying stuff that is his own responsibility. I don't intend to defend him because I had stated my opinions subtly in my own reply anyway.

Tend to agree with you Bro...appears like a melodrama and the funeral is still 2 days off.

hahahaha... y m i not surprised?

especially so, after the many pages of newspaper that her article had been splashed all over with;

with references to her wedding being attended by GCT + some grassroots connection + multi-racial hint, blah blah blah.

condolences to u ms. ho.
i sincerely hope that you rest well wherever you are.

however, i hope all that coverage was not because you were the first singaporean to be killed by a terrorist - it would be an insult to you as a human being, like anyone else.

on the side, i too, wonder why the poor private / ns-men who gave their lives in service of the nation had not receive similar level of coverage in the newspaper / news.

blatant exhibition of hypocrisy at its best here.

i will be a bloody hypocrite if i pretend to be griefing.. she is your fren? u know her?

This George is milking Hwei Yen to score his own political points. These people are what I call highly educated low life.

Hwei Yen is in the wrong place at the wrong time, nothing or what so ever to draw from, she live a nice life and that's that.

Bloody MFA should find out if they did any screw up on their part that could have prevent her death.

like I said earlier, over-milk until incredulous. Once this happens, the previous accolades lost its' strength.

after what the mda had done, now we hear more sacrifices and fights...please lah...a condolence is a condolence...please don't politicise it and add more fuel to the fire...i damned scare you know!!!

This stunt is out of the old bag of PR tricks to detract public attention away from the REAL issues such as, the economic crisis, increasing jobless rate, the mini-bond saga, Tan Kin Lian, town councils sinking funds, etc. You name it.

Use Lo Hwei Yen, the protest in Bangkok and Mumbai terror attack to detract attention. Btw, the moniker, Clinton666 uses the same trick in this forum and people fall for it.

Let's be frank. Ms Lo happened to be at the wrong place at the wrong time. It tragic and unfortunate but then how many Singaporeans die of natural death, accident or commit suicide daily?

Did the govt controlled media ran a serialized edition of the poor man with 2 young kids who jumped off the MRT track some time back with $8 in his pocket. This happened just about the time that MP's daughter uttered "get out of my elitist face"???