• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FTrash Dirt World Hygiene, But Blame Sporns! Fark U, PAPee!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>12 ill after steamboat meal
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Shuli Sudderuddin
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->Yet another case of food poisoning has cropped up, this time in an eatery in Lorong 9 Geylang.
A joint statement from the Ministry of Health (MOH) and the National Environment Agency (NEA) said 12 people suffered vomiting, diarrhoea and abdominal pain after eating at the Ba Shu Ren Jia steamboat restaurant last Friday night.
They were all treated as outpatients and one person, who was supposed to be hospitalised, went home to rest.
When The Sunday Times visited the restaurant last night, it was business as usual and it was half-full.
The supervisor, Mr He Min, 27, said the NEA had sent about four or five officers there in the afternoon and had taken food samples.
'They told me some customers had complained about stomach trouble so they checked the premises and reminded me to be more careful about cleanliness,' he said.
'We had about 300 customers between Friday and now, and only 12 have complained. Ma la steamboat can sometimes cause diarrhoea so that may have been the problem,' he added.
Ma la steamboat uses very spicy soup stock. Mr He said the officers later put up a B grade certificate at the restaurant entrance. Customers last night did not seem bothered by the incident.
Said software engineer Ma Liu Chuan, 24: 'My friends and I come every week because the food is good. People may get sick from steamboat as they don't cook the food properly.' The MOH and NEA are investigating and advise patrons to seek medical attention if necessary.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Hygiene is 'part of gracious living'
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>SM Goh says mass food poisoning case shows how poor hygiene can affect public health </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Zakir Hussain
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
SMGoh-ST.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

SM Goh sharing a joke with Mr Abu Bakar Shaik Yusof, 46, a contestant in the Mr Muscleman competition. -- ST PHOTO: SAMUEL HE
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
The recent food poisoning incident at the Geylang Serai market shows how poor hygiene can have a wide impact on public health, said Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong yesterday.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->RELATED LINKS
<!-- Audio --><!-- Video --><!-- PDF -->
ico_pdf.gif
SOME DIRTY HABITS OF HAWKERS 1
ico_pdf.gif
SOME DIRTY HABITS OF HAWKERS 2
<!-- Photo Gallery -->
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>During a community event to welcome new residents of his Marine Parade GRC, he urged Singaporeans to view hygiene as part of gracious behaviour.
'If you have poor hygiene, spitting in public places, littering, food all over the place, rats running around the market, that's very ungracious behaviour,' he said.
Mr Goh also extended his condolences to the families of the two women who died after eating rojak from a stall in the Geylang Serai Temporary Market, in what is possibly Singapore's worst case of mass food poisoning. The market is located in Marine Parade GRC.
Some 150 people also fell ill and four are still in hospital.
Mr Goh said he hoped they would recover quickly.
He said the incident suggested that something was amiss but stressed that Members of Parliament for the area were quick to respond and were not absent as some rumours had it.
Dr Ong Seh Hong, the MP in charge of the Kampong Ubi-Kembangan ward where the temporary market stands, was at the site 'very early on' after news of the food poisoning broke, Mr Goh said.
'He also visited the family of the deceased, who happened to be a constituent in the GRC,' he said, referring to Madam Aminah Samijo who died last Monday.
'But it's off the news because you don't expect people to follow you when you pay your respects to the family.'
Dr Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim, MP for the GRC's Kaki Bukit ward, had also visited the site, while Dr Fatimah Lateef, MP for the GRC's Geylang Serai ward, did not as she was abroad.
'Otherwise, she would also have been there,' Mr Goh added.
Dr Ong, who spoke to reporters at the market last Friday, had also refuted rumours that he was not to be found after news of the incident broke.
Yesterday, Mr Goh said it was to be expected that the food poisoning case had attracted a lot of attention in the Malay daily and within the Malay community as more than 95 per cent of those affected were Malays.
He said the Government, stallholders serving food and the public had to cooperate to ensure such incidents did not recur.
The Government must reinforce measures to ensure eating establishments maintained the highest standard of cleanliness, he said.
These measures should include regular inspections to ensure food handlers practise personal hygiene.
'The way they store the food, keep the food fresh, all this must be looked into to ensure that good, hygienic practices are enforced,' he said.
Stallholders and food handlers should consider using hand sanitisers or other cleaning fluids to constantly clean their hands.
Members of the public also need to practise personal hygiene at home and in public, he said.
Mr Goh's slide show of photographs capturing examples of ungracious behaviour by Singaporeans drew much laughter.
These included instances of people putting up their feet on bus seats, failing to clean up after their dogs and storing personal items in common areas of HDB blocks.
He announced that the chairman of the Marine Parade Citizens Consultative Committee, Dr Chua Ee Chek, would set up a task force to work with residents to nurture a more gracious community.
[email protected]

<HR width="50%" SIZE=1>
It's ungracious
'If you have poor hygiene, spitting in public places, littering, food all over the place, rats running around the market, that's very ungracious behaviour.'
SM GOH, urging Singaporeans to see hygiene as a part of graciousness

takcheksian

This has no Farking Thing to do with Gracious Living, Bodoh Goh!

NEA's job is to keep the environment clean. Otherwise what for pay NEA officials millions of dollars? To chiau kar and lecture people on Gracious Living?

Food poisoning has NOTHING to do with people putting feet on bus seats and storing personal items in common areas!

Rojak Poisoner cook his rojak on bus seats where normal people put backside aa? You bluff who? The retarded 66.6?

And how he know the people who put feet on bus seats are Sinkies? We got more Bangla and PRC here than citizens!

OK, I also tulan neighbours who put personal items in common areas. But these people don't store their rojak ingredients there. How to kenna food poisoning from my neighbour's altar? Are you suggesting that the Malays who kenna food poisoning like to steal the Chinese people's food offerings from their altars?

WTF you talking about? You senile already, Senile Minister? :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

rodent2005

'If you have poor hygiene, spitting in public places, littering, food all over the place, rats running around the market, that's very ungracious behaviour,' he said.

Wah lao "rats running around the market" also SINKEES' fault!!!

Yeah!, your fault lah!...didn't some wise man, told you not to be complacent? You have dirty habits, go to toliets (30% of 66.6%) do not wash their hands. Dig their noses, spits, sneezes, coughs, burps & farts loudly & never clear the tables, after eating. Throw waste all over the tables & floors. Have some dieases & yet, eat at the hawker's centres..food courts, coffeeshops?

Our ungracious , dirty habits caused the food centres to be infested with Rattus NEA & Rattus pappies,

IT IS YOUR FAULT!..just like MSK, your fault...SINgaporeans are just complacent!.

:rolleyes: