• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Free World Cup Broadcast in Other Countries

Dec 12, 2009

Show World Cup matches for free

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I REFER to Tuesday's report, 'SingTel, StarHub battle for World Cup rights', on the bid to win rights to beam June 2010's World Cup football matches.
I wonder why MediaCorp did not bid for the rights or at least make a joint bid with StarHub or SingTel. Free-to-air stations in other Asean countries such as Indonesia, Thailand and the Philippines broadcast for free and people in those countries do not pay an annual TV licence fee.
Even countries like Britain and China also broadcast for free. Why couldn't MediaCorp secure the rights and broadcast for free?
The only silver lining in the cloud in Singapore is Fifa's ruling to make four key World Cup games free to air in every country. But that is not enough for football-hungry Singapore.
Advin Kwok
<!-- story content : end -->

Romagnum

advin is so naive

this is singapore

in singapore it is MONEY MONEY MONEY

singtel starhub free market competition

when we have free market consumers pay more

well done

... I wonder why MediaCorp did not bid for the rights or at least make a joint bid with StarHub or SingTel. Free-to-air stations in other Asean countries such as Indonesia, Thailand and the Philippines broadcast for free and people in those countries do not pay an annual TV licence fee.
Advin Kwok
ah advin ...

dat million $ salary fella had said b4 ... no moni? f-o 2 jb ...

u shud hv asked nicely laidis ... wat? me pay annual tv licence fee, y still got no world cup 2 watch? ... pay u burgers 4 wat? ...

SamuelStalin

Asians are poor and they enjoy using their own useless people for their own gains.

China is becoming more civilized though, which is saying a lot.

oli9

The day MEDIA COCK shows more than 4 live telecasts of WC is when Lucas Chow (Mediacorpse's CEO) become straight again. And screw the MDA too for the dacronian TV licence fee.
I wonder what's their definition of "free-to-air"? Still must pay TV licence?

ccchia

This is nothing new, as in Sinkapore everything is Pay and Pay because of the PAPPies.

Actually, there is no "competition" between Singtel and Starhub. It is a fake competition to fool gullible Sinkies, since both these companies belong to Temasik and the gahmen. Ever wondered why Sinkapore is the only country in the world that does not allow the public to use satellite dishes?

And to think they went ahead Goal2010 campaign, say want to improve Sports, but dun want to promote sports for free, pui!!! :oIo::oIo::oIo:

angie

Why nobody calls for liberalisation of 133th by unbanning satellite dishes?

eticsm.jpg

152th

garlic

This bidding war is a farking joke!! LMAO!!!

The winner of the WC2010 broadcast will be starhub. People will have to subscribe 2 set top boxes to watch their regular football league matches and WC. People who signed up for singtel for next season, will want to let go of starhub set top, but with WC coming, they will keep it. This will be the trend, EPL and Star sports etc on singnet and other major football events on starhub and for one reason or the other, cannot use a common box (which actually can be done) thus, we will be stuck with two boxes.

Uniquely singapore, where competition does not really benefit people.

This bidding war is a farking joke!! LMAO!!!

The winner of the WC2010 broadcast will be starhub. People will have to subscribe 2 set top boxes to watch their regular football league matches and WC. People who signed up for singtel for next season, will want to let go of starhub set top, but with WC coming, they will keep it. This will be the trend, EPL and Star sports etc on singnet and other major football events on starhub and for one reason or the other, cannot use a common box (which actually can be done) thus, we will be stuck with two boxes.

Uniquely singapore, where competition does not really benefit people.
How do you intend to handle this football on cable tv issue?
Cancel starhub next year, subscribe to singtel?
Or refuse to watch at all?

SamuelStalin

Dec 12, 2009

Show World Cup matches for free

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I REFER to Tuesday's report, 'SingTel, StarHub battle for World Cup rights', on the bid to win rights to beam June 2010's World Cup football matches.
I wonder why MediaCorp did not bid for the rights or at least make a joint bid with StarHub or SingTel. Free-to-air stations in other Asean countries such as Indonesia, Thailand and the Philippines broadcast for free and people in those countries do not pay an annual TV licence fee.
Even countries like Britain and China also broadcast for free. Why couldn't MediaCorp secure the rights and broadcast for free?
The only silver lining in the cloud in Singapore is Fifa's ruling to make four key World Cup games free to air in every country. But that is not enough for football-hungry Singapore.
Advin Kwok
<!-- story content : end -->

Shingapore people are rich in the entirety of Southeast Asia. Stop being so shameless to ask for handouts like that!!!