• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Foreign-Student say Sg-Mother is wrong !

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Foreign-Student say Sg-Mother is wrong !</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>LauZoeTay <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:37 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 28) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>31867.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC100415-0000324/Food-court-encounter-leaves-bitter-taste-in-mouth

Food court encounter leaves bitter taste in mouth

[FONT=Verdana,Geneva,Arial,Helvetica,Sans-Serif]Letter from Jia Yangyang [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana,Geneva,Arial,Helvetica,Sans-Serif]09:10 PM Apr 15, 2010[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana,Geneva,Arial,Helvetica,Sans-Serif][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana,Geneva,Arial,Helvetica,Sans-Serif]I AM writing in as a junior college student, but also as a foreigner who has meaningfully spent his life in Singapore for more than three years, and as a young adult who is ready to enter society and take on corresponding social responsibilities.

What happened to my friends and I could indeed be deemed a small incident but it nevertheless it got me thinking.

On the evening of April 12, I has having dinner with some friends at Bishan Junction 8 food court in Bishan.

A mother and her young daughter sat across from me and put their bulky belongings on the empty seat next to them. My friend politely asked the mother if the latter could remove her belongings so that she (my friend) could sit across from me. The mother refused to do so outright. My friend went to find another seat.

The mother, however, went on to tell her daughter that foreign students like us lack basic courtesy.

It appears that she thought my friends and I are Indonesian Chinese. She spoke loudly about how impolite we are and how we feel elitist.

What worries me is the way she "taught" her daughter. The mother held such a firm belief that foreign students are ungrateful, impolite, elitist and that they do not understand English that well. The young girl seemed to accept whatever her mother was saying - right in front of me.

Another friend of mine later came by and the mother refused the same request again. Again, she made similar comments.

My friends and I refrained from defending ourselves because that would have potentially led to a meaningless quarrel and damaged our school's image.

However, this does not mean we feel such behaviour on her part is acceptable. We soon finished dinner, and one of my friends broke into tears.

As a foreign student (on scholarship) in Singapore, I know that asking people to accept us naturally is very difficult.

I also believe that, with mutual trust, we can build friendship and understanding as most of us have done with our classmates, teachers, guardians and the countless number of people who have offered care and help.

I sincerely hope that what we encountered is an isolated case, otherwise the efforts of so many people can easily go to waste.

Unity and tolerance are what made Singapore a great country and I would like to contribute to it with all I have.

I am an ordinary student and there is nothing elitist about me at all.

The mother had, just by looking at our uniforms, talked about our arrogance and lack of etiquette as if she knew us personally.

What I think is essential in building strong bonds among the people in Singapore is social awareness.

Adults, especially parents, should be mature and free from prejudice. What they should pass on to their children are responsibility, tolerance and, above all, a caring heart.

The writer is a student at Raffles Institution - Boarding.
[/FONT]
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

as a young adult who is ready to enter society and take on corresponding social responsibilities.

=> Is it wrong for this FTrash not to serve NS despite being given freebies since young?

Another friend of mine later came by and the mother refused the same request again. Again, she made similar comments.

My friends and I refrained from defending ourselves because that would have potentially led to a meaningless quarrel and damaged our school's image.

=> It sure looks like there is a huge FTrash gathering at the food court in typical PRC enclave-like fashion and this made the mother see beh doo lan! And they purposely came over to challenge the mother. And just like those PRC FTrash NOKs who came over to cry father cry mother to demand compensation/donation after drowning, etc., they would wail loudly if they could not get their way!

as a young adult who is ready to enter society and take on corresponding social responsibilities.

=> Is it wrong for this FTrash not to serve NS despite being given freebies since young?

------------------------------------------------
my friend, this incident was basically about misunderstanding/pre-conceived ideas/judgemental/prejudice. Nothing to do with NS. Pls stay within the context of the question.
Thanks.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>LauZoeTay <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:52 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (8 of 30) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>31867.8 in reply to 31867.7 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>How did your friends asked for the position, and what did they do after they are rejected?

Did they just walk away or did they thank the lady or apologised for taking up her time?

Little things and action counts, a little things.

Ok then, thanks. or a No problem after being rejected by the lady could have helped.

After all you are asking the Lady with a daughter in tow to stop their dinner and remove their BULKY belongings just because you want to seat together or facing each another.

I'm sure there are plenty of other places to seat at and you can, not face each another for that 30 minutes or so. And instead practice that tolerances you are are preaching in this letter.

As for the parent, she not all without fault and should have restraint from such shameful practices. Especially the part about talking loudly in public and affecting others.

But I sure hope the daughter learns to think for others after knowing how making an irresponsible request can ruin a person's mood.

Don't be mistaken, I'm not xenophobic, I'm just hoping people don't trouble other people just so they can Face each other other for that 30 minutes.

The writer is a member of the Public.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>thinkall <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:58 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>singtakboleh <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (26 of 30) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>31867.26 in reply to 31867.25 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>If a heartland mother is doing this, imagine what is happening throughout the country?

Thinkall

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>singtakboleh <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>9:22 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>thinkall <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (27 of 30) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>31867.27 in reply to 31867.26 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Yes, and as Wooden once said, THE GROUND IS SWEET, but this time its sweet for the APs, not the FUCKPEES. I can't wait to vote. Cheers.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

And that's why the FAPee TRAITORS can only win the next GE through rigging the votes!

I see a negative repercussion in future. A future where FT scholars who will be asked to sit in to make big decision fr spore future will take his revenge and send all singkies to a concentration for mass slavery. Good luck peasants your future is inthe hands of these future commies.

ah yang ...

y u comprain so much? ... u shud b grateful dat u hv a place 2 sit n eat but u sum mor wanna choose how u wanna sit ... :mad:

u shud oso b grateful dat sg has allowed u 2 cum here 4 a world-crass, world-bestest, world lumpar 1 education ... otherwise, u wud still b picking up pig dung @ ur kampung in china ...

now u oredi make so much noise ... wait u later bcum pr or citizen, how? ... sure ur compraints lagi worse! ... but den, u cud join ze swelling ranks of ze so-called ungrateful sporeans ...

Makapaaa!!
This FTrash Ms Jia Yang Yang is a female PRC on scholarship at the Raffles Junior College....... as afar as I am aware Singkieland has not implemented NS for females yet. :D

And I am willing to bet my last dollar that she will run road back to PRC or another Ang Mo country after obtaining her Degree/Masters/Phd using our taxpayers money which our stoopid MIW gahmen is giving away freely as scholarships for FTrash. :mad:

This is another reason for me to give my vote to the opposition ! !