• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

For Coffee Lovers Only!!!

BANGKOK (AFP) - For those who like their coffee with a strong nose Thailand could be the ideal destination, after a blend made from elephant dung was put on sale by an upmarket hotel chain.

The Black Ivory blend, made from coffee beans digested and excreted by Thai elephants, is billed as producing a particularly smooth cup.

But it is not cheap, with Anantara Hotels saying the "naturally refined" coffee costs a staggering US$1,100 (S$1342) per kg - making it one of the most expensive blends in the world.

"Research indicates that during digestion, the enzymes of the elephant break down coffee protein," the Thai-based hotel group, which is selling the pungent brew at around US$50 for two cups, said in a statement sent to AFP on Thursday.

elephant2510e.jpg

When I was there, there did not have this Elephant Coffee yet. Wow, the Black Ivory must be damned good! Anyone tried?

First it was civets cat dropping coffee that are the world's most expensive, now it's elephant dropping coming up. Wahlau, I should start eating coffee beans and shit it out. Who knows it could become the next best coffee!

Plucked from civet feces, 'cat poo coffee' is NYC's most expensive at $30 per cup
BY EDGAR SANDOVAL
DAILY NEWS STAFF WRITER
Tuesday, July 27, 2010

New York's crappiest cup of coffee is also its most expensive.

At $30 a cup, "Kopi Luwak" is made from beans collected from the droppings of a small, cat-like mammal called a civet.

The java - often called "cat poo coffee" - isn't everyone's cup of tea and was nearly banned in Indonesia this month for being unsanitary.

Some New Yorkers, though, are saying bottom's up to the strange brew. At coffee shops like Porto Rico in the West Village, the orders come about once a week, said owner Peter Longo, 58.

First it was civets cat dropping coffee that are the world's most expensive, now it's elephant dropping coming up. Wahlau, I should start eating coffee beans and shit it out. Who knows it could become the next best coffee!

You are quicker on the draw than I. I had wanted to post something similar to yours to highlight how ridiculous this thing has become.
You are absolutely right, what next.

wauhahhaaa!!!..good one!!!

:D

Sorry no offence but who would want to drink Glaringly's Droppings Coffee?:D even the name does't sound very appealing! very hard to market this product leh. But if the Queen did it & brewed her own kopi sai.. that one at least got royal sai of approval, can market it as official HRH Royal Kopi Poo Beans, some more exclusively go through Buckingham Palace gold plated jamban :eek:, yours sure got no fight, how to win right? :D

TaLking about coffees, wonder if anyone heard of 'opium coffee' being served at Boat/CLarke Quays during the
eraLy 70's ?..i was toLd it was the norm of cooLies' being served a cuppa of ah-pien-sai infused kopi-O reguLarLy
at 3pm each noon; once tea-time comes..:eek::)

I will start new business. Get the cina kways in geylang to ingest some coffee beans, then get the indian FT to collect the beans from the shit.

Process it and sell at $30 per cup. Got benefit of powerful aphrodisiac effect in addition to strong aroma.

I will start new business. Get the cina kways in geylang to ingest some coffee beans, then get the indian FT to collect the beans from the shit. Process it and sell at $30 per cup. Got benefit of powerful aphrodisiac effect in addition to strong aroma.

You use Cina Kway first batch sure best seller, subsequent batches all guaranteed Fakes! :D

lianbeng asked uncle: did u know that coffee was 1st discovered by a mountain goat? :D

very interesting....coffee seems to have many benefits.....many now use it regularly to delay the onset of dementia....

Another story involves a goat-herd, Kaldi, who, noticing the energizing effects when his flock nibbled on the bright red berries of a certain bush, chewed on the fruit himself. His exhilaration prompted him to bring the berries to a Monk in a nearby monastery. But the monk disapproved of their use and threw them into the fire, from which an enticing aroma billowed and the monks came out to investigate. The roasted beans were quickly raked from the embers, ground up, and dissolved in hot water, yielding the world's first cup of coffee. The Ethiopian ancestors of today's Oromo ethnic group, were the first to have recognized the energizing effect of the native coffee plant.[1] Studies of genetic diversity have been performed on Coffea arabica varieties, found to be of low diversity but which retained some residual heterozygosity from ancestral materials, and closely related diploid species Coffea canephora and C. liberica;[7] however, no direct evidence has ever been found indicating where in Africa coffee grew or who among the natives might have used it as a stimulant, or known about it there earlier than the seventeenth century.