• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Flight crew member busy with phone while landing

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Flight crew member busy with phone while landing
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->ON TUESDAY, I took Valueair flight VF 504 from Jakarta to Singapore, with an all-Singaporean cabin crew. I sat in the last-row seat 28D.
The crew were good, exhibiting great efficiency. That is, until towards the end of the flight.
Upon approaching for landing at Changi Airport, all the lights were dimmed. As I was in the last row, I noticed a small beam of light. I turned round to see a male cabin crew member, sitting facing the front of the aircraft, using his mobile phone. I was shocked. I turned round a few more times and not only was he oblivious to me, but he was engrossed in fingering his handset.
Two more announcements were made seconds before landing to keep all electronic devices switched off, one in English and another in Malay. But this attendant was still on his handset, approaching landing, during landing, and taxi-ing all the way to the aerobridge.
I wish my cellphone had been switched on as it has a camera function and I could have provided proof, but I was told to keep it switched off.
I have a few questions:
- How dangerous is it to use mobile phones during takeoff and landing?
- Why must MP3 players be switched off since they have no navigational functions, not even Bluetooth?
- Why was this attendant not trained to set an example to passengers?
Kelvin Chow

ah kelvin ...

ze fact dat u can live 2 tel hv proven dat iz xtremely safe ...

heck care dose useless announcements ...

:p

Is this passenger a retard? Live in S'pore, still dun know there always two set of rules for everything. e.g. PAP has one set of rules, and the common people have another set. Same for the airline. One set for passenger and another for crew. This also dun know meh.

Frankiestine

Goodness lah it all just one big hoohaa over nothing...there is nothing wrong with using handphones in a plane....both are using two different set of frequencies....aircraft operates on UHF and handphones on SHF...how to interfere with each other...

UseYourBrain

I think this swaku still using nokia banana shape phone or simply the one selling at sheng shiong. Doesn't he knows that most latest phone, PDA iPhone etc come with a airplane mode that when turn on can be used to read mail watch video do excel and words program. No wonder LKY is bringing more FTs

This is very strange behavior. If he really believes that it's dangerous, he should raise alarm there and then, get the crew to verify whether was it safe and allowed. He waited till the aircraft has safely landed, he got off, then write complain.

cleareyes

This is very strange behavior. If he really believes that it's dangerous, he should raise alarm there and then, get the crew to verify whether was it safe and allowed. He waited till the aircraft has safely landed, he got off, then write complain.

Bo liao behavior

myo539

Obviously he didn't know that the flight attendant was giving instructions to the pilot how to land, how to taxi and how to navigate to the aerobridge. He should thank the flight attendant for his safe flight home.