• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Flaw in Singapore's education system

MarrickG

20091006.174110_st_lillian-foo.jpg

I refer to Miss Jane Chan's letter, "Why we can't speak English - or Mandarin - well", as well as Miss Jessica Walker's letter, "Teachers can't do it alone".

While I agree with Miss Chan and Miss Walker that it's a combination of societal influence, family, and educators that make up the language abilities of a child, I also think that we're missing something huge in this picture.

For years I have been bemoaning the fact that the Ministry of Education has a huge flaw in it's language education system. What many don't know is how teachers are trained.

Firstly, some background information: Recent studies by Patricia A. Duff from the University of British Columbia have shown that it is important to develop a child's first language literacy, before introducing a second. The optimal age for a child to develop its first language skills are between the age of 1 to 13.

Granted, in Singapore, both languages (English and a 'mother tongue') should ideally be developed as first languages, the important point to take away here is that the optimal age for first language acquisition, which is between age 1-13.

Secondly, as we all know, Singapore's primary school teachers are known to teach at least two out of the three core subjects, that is, English, Mathematics, and Science (EMS).

What most people don't know is that teachers who undergo training to be a primary school educator enter the National Institute of Education and major in only one subject - either English, Chinese, Malay, Tamil, Physics/Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, History, Geography, Music, Art, or Physical Education.

With the exception of Mother Tongue, Music and Art teachers, all other trainee teachers are also expected to take some modules of other subjects, which really barely skim the surface of those subjects, and from there, they are then expected to be able to teach those other subjects well, too.

While that is highly disturbing, let's focus a bit here on trainee teachers who major in English. In order to seek admission to NIE, the minimum requirement is a pass in English Language at O Levels.

In order to major in English, the requirement is to obtain a good pass the English Proficiency Test (which is honestly a piece of cake). From here, we already know that there is little or no pre-requisites at all, for one to major in English at NIE.

Of course, teachers who score higher on the EPT will be of a better position to apply for a major in English. However, upon graduation from NIE with a BA (Education) or BSc (Education), all newly installed teachers are sent to schools and assigned to teach at least 2 subjects, with 1 being a subject of their university major, and the other, any of the other remaining 2 subjects of the EMS group.

Which means teachers who barely scraped a pass in English at O Levels, could now be teaching your children English - and mind you, some of them really have no grasp of grammar rules at all.

These teachers are then going to be passing on their lack of understanding of the English Language and its rules, to students aged between 6-13, during the typical primary school years of an average child, whereby language acquisition is at its optimum.

Isn't this something MOE should look into, first, if it is now becoming an irrefutable fact that Singaporeans are growing up with an incorrigible command of the English Language (and add to that equation, their Mandarin is no where near first language mastery either)?

I say, don't blame the teachers, don't blame the families, and don't blame society. Blame the ones who crafted our language education and general education policies.

Daphne Maia Loo

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20091006-172158.html

... I say, don't blame the teachers, don't blame the families, and don't blame society. Blame the ones who crafted our language education and general education policies.

Daphne Maia Loo
ah daphne ...

u r rite ...

brame oso dose who brag sg is world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1 ... bestest in engrish, bestest in chinese ... sg bestest of both ...

n oso brame dose who r so gullible 2 believe wat dose boasters brag ...

>I say, don't blame the teachers, don't blame the families, and don't blame society. Blame the ones who crafted our language education and general education policies.

Blame on "the TANCHO MAN" (.Minister of Education from January 1985 to December 1991)...the 'father' of the Ah Lian , AH Beng..today..

"you got see the picture or not?" or BOOMZ!
"kan mai de....wo buay heow giang, ching chu, ma!"

just an example..."half a bucket of water"..in Englisg & Mandarin..!! go listen carefully how the heartlanders students speak...

HALF A BUCK OF WATER...thanks to "THE TANCHO MAN"..heh heh heh

MarrickG

This is true but what do you expect when the salary of a teacher is only $1000 (some start only at $850) and a diploma holder only at $1200? You pay peanut get monkey loh.

Which means teachers who barely scraped a pass in English at O Levels, could now be teaching your children English - and mind you, some of them really have no grasp of grammar rules at all.

Sperminator

Dear MarrickG and all forumers who are reading this;

I am posting a real question here.

1. For those Singaporeans who are having a family overseas, say like in China, and have gotten married, wanted to have a child.

In your honest opinion, could anyone out there share their view, where should the child be educated?

2. In terms of situation where the Singaporean family is in Canada, where do you think the CHILD should be educated?

3. In terms of situation where the Singaporean family is in Europe, where do you think the CHILD should be educated?

I think I am realizing something very interesting which I will share with you folks... it's just for discussion, nothing more...

exSINgaporean

You think it is bad now, wait for another generation, it will be worse.

In the 1960s when I was in ACS, we spoke good English. A year ago I was back to Singapore for a month with with Canadian born 12 year old son. To be frank, ACS (and even MGS) spoken English standard is still OK.

But not other schools? It hurts my ear to listen to my son's peers in Singapore. They tend to corrupt the language by mising Mandarin with some Singlish. they can't speak proper full sentence in standard English. some tend to speak fast trying to "cover up" their English pronuciations or grammtical mistakes.

The younger kids (age 4 to 6) mainly speak in Pinyin or some high pitch English.

Even the younger doctors sound "funny" to my son. They might be smart but when they speak, it is like shit coming out of their mouth. They just cannot inject the type of confidence in me. Just go to any Canadian, USA,UK, Australian and NZ schools and listen to the way the young students speak and you will know what I mean.

I am not an expert in any form of language let alone English, but I sure know the difference the spoken English in Canadian and Singapore schools.

It is sad; very sad. It is a kind of "handicap" to speak like the Singapore kids. Very sad indeed.

kiwibird7

20091006.174110_st_lillian-foo.jpg

I refer to Miss Jane Chan's letter, "Why we can't speak English - or Mandarin - well", as well as Miss Jessica Walker's letter, "Teachers can't do it alone".

Daphne Maia Loo

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20091006-172158.html

I have yet to hear school teachers speak good English or Members of Parliament deliver their speeches in Good English for that matter before one can even hope that students can have any chance of improving their standards of spoken English.

Lee Kuan Yew and J.B. Jeyaretnam are not bad. For non-MP politicians, Francis Seow, Tang Liang Hong and Chee Soon Juan are not bad too.