• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Flavors of the wok hey...

I think we can agree that stir-fried food with good wok hey tastes better, and I think that’s one of the reasons why our Sinkie hawker food had been in the shadows of Malaysian street food.

If we happened to come across any good Sinkie hawker stir-fried food, good chance they used very high heat, as with those tze char stalls with those jet burners.

Then you take a look at the small cubicles in the hawker centres, how many stall owners can tahan the heat from those jet burners in that small space?

You recall why some pasar malam stir-fried beehoon or noodles tasted better? Take a look at the open-air cooking stoves with those jet burners. Wok hey is important, my fellow connoisseurs...

knnccb

look like german crispy pork knuckles, looks good too jah?

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2F_%2Fmedia%2FImages%2FKitchen%2F2014%2F07%2F17%2F04%2F24%2Fhaverickporkknuckle-recipe.jpg

knnccb

wok hei hor fun no horse run the bestest, nowdays hard to find liao

knn its not just the fire and heat but the constant 1 hand flipping of the wok damn heavy, how the fuck he can tahan, the forearm power must be sibeh tok kong

tobelightlight

I think we can agree that stir-fried food with good wok hey tastes better, and I think that’s one of the reasons why our Sinkie hawker food had been in the shadows of Malaysian street food.

If we happened to come across any good Sinkie hawker stir-fried food, good chance they used very high heat, as with those tze char stalls with those jet burners.

Then you take a look at the small cubicles in the hawker centres, how many stall owners can tahan the heat from those jet burners in that small space?

You recall why some pasar malam stir-fried beehoon or noodles tasted better? Take a look at the open-air cooking stoves with those jet burners. Wok hey is important, my fellow connoisseurs...
Good wok hey does not offset any lousy cooking skill. I had eaten sze char that taste horrible too.

Heard no such thing in Le Condom Blue. :cautious:

KNN some have high BP with history of stroke is committing suicide to earn that money KNN rast time my neighbour's husband was 1 of the victim to explode in the heat KNN

Nice-Gook

I have my opinion on stir frying as a means of cooking ,it’s quite exclusively China’s ... because in colder climate fire material were short in supplies and you need to get your food very hot in quick time too ...but that is totally unnecessary in tropics where fire wood is aplenty and food cooked can be kep for hours if not days , so a slow method of heating for a longer duration became more tenable locally

How about claypot-hei?

These are the top three claypot rice eateries in KL, in my opinion:

Not in order:
1) Heun Kee, near the red light district and a busy highway flyover.
2) Hong Kee, Chinatown area, push cart.
3) Wei Ji, northeast KL suburbs, opposite a Chinese school.

Heun+Kee.JPG

31436745991_f419d891bc_b.jpg

AF1QipOYH4lSu4QcLHXklpqy9msBhvhso1AB03VC4yDp=s800

Wei-Ji-Front-View.jpg

knnccb

How about claypot-hei?

Not in order:

Heun+Kee.JPG

Wei-Ji-Front-View.jpg

sio heun kee ?

CPTMiller

How about claypot-hei?

Not in order:

Heun+Kee.JPG

Wei-Ji-Front-View.jpg
Hong kee I tried.
The others not yet.
Have to wait till the travel restriction is over.

liamricci

In the past, I relied on Tefal and Le Creuset cookware, hoping to find the perfect wok that would last for years. However, despite the reputable brands, I never quite achieved the longevity I desired. That's when I stumbled upon Yosukata https://yosukata.com/, and it turned out to be a game-changer for my cooking experience. Since I started using Yosukata's wok, I have never had to worry about replacing it, as its quality has exceeded all my expectations.
The lesson I learned from this experience is the importance of conducting thorough research and reading reviews before investing in kitchen essentials. While popular brand names can be tempting, they don't always guarantee the best performance or durability.