• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Farked Up Govt Talks About Graciousness. Insult?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>May 26, 2009
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Teach character values <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Derrick Ho
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
sg-mas.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Masagos Zulkifli, Senior Parilamentary Secretatary for Education and Home Affairs, urged the government and society not to lose sight of its principles and 'fundamentals' during tough times and ensure that children continue to attend school and focus on their studies.' -- PHOTO: BH
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->THE apparent lack of civility and gracious behaviour during the recent Association of Women for Action and Research (Aware) saga is a clear indication that Singapore is still lagging behind in graciousness, said MP Lim Biow Chuan (Maine Parade GRC) on Tuesday.

He urged schools to teach basic character values to students all the way till university level.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->RELATED LINKS
<!-- Audio --><!-- Video --><!-- PDF -->
ico_pdf.gif
FULL SPEECH BY MR LIM BIOW CHUAN
ico_pdf.gif
FULL SPEECH BY MR MASAGOS ZULKIFLI
<!-- Photo Gallery -->
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>'It is not for me to judge which side was right,' Mr Lim said referring to the tussle between Aware's old and new guard.
'The only point which I wish to make is that if the reports are accurate, then civility and gracious behaviour during the Aware extraordinary general meeting was clearly missing. While I accept that emotions were highly charged.... I would submit that this cannot be the level of behaviour which we should promote as acceptable,' he said of the 'raucous behaviour' during the EGM.
Citing other examples, Mr Lim said graciousness among Singaporeans seems to 'be an elusive target which is moving further and further away'.
Unruly road behaviour and the need to still rely on campaigns to encourage commuters to give up seats to the elderly, and shoppers to return their trolleys, were some instances Mr Lim raised in his speech during the debate on the President's address.

=> Why no mention of this mafia head n his hatchet men?
th_pvhmx.jpg

He said regardless of Singapore's economic situation, 'well-mannered, courteous and considerate' fellow citizens will make life more pleasant'.
Mr Lim said if Singapore is serious about wanting to promote a more civil society, parents must play a part in inculcating values themselves and not 'sub-contract' it to their domestic helper or rely solely on teachers.

=> While the Familee n its dogs can take a back seat n are allowed to 'fix' critics?

Raising a similar point, Mr Masagos Zulkifli, Senior Parilamentary Secretatary for Education and Home Affairs, urged the government and society not to lose sight of its principles and 'fundamentals' during tough times and ensure that children continue to attend school and focus on their studies.'
He noted that a good number of youths drop out of school because they can get by, working at McDonald's for $4 per hour by leaving school immediately rather than wait 12 long years of education to earn a trade certificate.

=> Smart kids indeed! Better to make as much as possible before being replaced by FTrash!

Acknowledging that dual income families may not be able to spend more time with their children, Mr Lim urged the Ministry of Education to consider teaching basic character values through the entire school curriculum from primary school level all the way to university.
'We should make character education an integral part of the education system and not just another non-examinable subject. We must evaluate out school principals and administrators not on how many students that they can produce with outstanding academic results but how well they mould their students.'
Mr Lim also asked the government to take the lead in nurturing graciousness by showing more compassion to the poor. Citing an example, he said many HDB tenants were asked to pay a higher rental when their family income goes up, regardless of the number of family members the tenant has to support. 'When it comes to dealing with the poorer segment of our society, we take quite a tough approach with these tenants,' Mr Lim said. 'We have failed to come across as being compassionate and mindful of their difficulties... Can we not afford these people a greater sense of compassion by the government? Can we not give our residents more encouragement when they try to better their lives to earn a higher income?'

th_12053030hochingm.jpg

Who will pay for my shopping expenses then? *Grrr...*

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Lawyer fined over SDP's Parliament protest rally
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Elena Chong, Courts Correspondent
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
b4-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Chia Ti Lik, who pleaded guilty midway through the 13-day trial, was fined $1,600. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->A LAWYER who took part in a protest rally in front of Parliament House last year was fined a total of $1,600 yesterday.
Chia Ti Lik, 35, pleaded guilty to two charges, together with housewife Surayah Akbar, 26, midway through the 13-day trial.
Of the 19 involved, four have each been fined $1,200. The 13 remaining are still on trial.
They include Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) secretary-general Chee Soon Juan, 46; his sister, executive committee member Chee Siok Chin, 42; and chairman Gandhi Ambalam, 66.
Deputy Public Prosecutor Isaac Tan said police had rejected the SDP's application for a permit to stage a protest rally on March 15 last year at Parliament House. Despite this, the SDP decided to proceed with the assembly, publicising the fact that they had not been granted a permit while still protesting against 'exploitative price hikes'.
Dressed in red T-shirts, Chia and Surayah were among the group taking part in the assembly.
During the protest that lasted less than an hour, Chia and other participants delivered speeches and shouted slogans. Five others held up placards.
Police warned them to stop and disperse but Chia, Surayah and the rest, except one, began a procession towards North Bridge Road. The DPP said the participants ignored a further warning by police to cease and stop displaying the placards.

jim007jimmyboy

[COLOR="_______"]MP Cythia Phua jail low IQ boy for slamming chair - wat about her being gracious 1st???

Never set example always ask sinkie do this do that knnbccb

ask us take a 42% pay cut nebei u got conscience or not farking immortals earning millions - a 42% pay cut u guy can still live a extravagant life.

For a peasant earning $2,000 a 42% pay cut will be $1,100 b4 CPF ccb eat what???

Eat ur BS from 154???[/COLOR]

Eurekas

Oh Singaporeans are not gracious because the government is not gracious themselves... Fear mongering and suing opposition members until bankrupt. With so much foreign prostitutes, gigilos, bar girls, bangla trash coming here, its no wonder we have a great sense of distrust for these trash. Simi gracious behavior?

theblackhole

The day Singaporeans gracious, my arrowana fish can ride bicycle

good one brother! graciousness is cultivated through the decades, centuries and history - one people, one country, one aim, one purpose, one fate and one destiny...

look at our singapore today. look at the population...look at the foreigners here...look at the heartlanders..look at the elites...look at our MPs...look at our scholars...look at our talents and the gifted....look at the toto queues...look at our hawkers....look at the top pedestal.... look at the grounds. look at the big divide. look at the salary divide. just look....enough said....look no further....

graciousness??? my 11 toes laughing oleidi!!!

good one brother! graciousness is cultivated through the decades, centuries and history - one people, one country, one aim, one purpose, one fate and one destiny...

look at our singapore today. look at the population...look at the foreigners here...look at the heartlanders..look at the elites...look at our MPs...look at our scholars...look at our talents and the gifted....look at the toto queues...look at our hawkers....look at the top pedestal.... look at the grounds. look at the big divide. look at the salary divide. just look....enough said....look no further....

graciousness??? my 11 toes laughing oleidi!!!

besotted is a shanghai bitch... not a brother:cool:

The only way to be gracious for a sinkie is to understand why he has sinkie behavior in the first place. Then, remove the sinkieness, after that the transformation to be gracious will be a success.

speak for yourself CB kia tonychat:oIo::oIo:

i know u everyday suck thai emperor's dick, lick ang mor's balls, eat ah neh's cum:oIo::oIo::oIo:

MentisMortis

When you bring in people from the third world you expect Sgeans to be gracious??

These uncouth idiots tear up the whole place that Sgeans bled and sweat for and you expect us to sit there and do nothing? If Sgeans scold and badger the morons that flood this country I think it's getting them to act within our perceived norms.

So please Mas Agos, when one your kind decides to blow up Sg should we all just be gracious?

When we see third world "suakus" peeing and eating in the MRT and don't do much, isn't that gracious?

Oh please...graciousness is when MPs don't print their faces on useless materials and hand them out for promotional purposes.

Graciousness is when you get caught for buying high and selling low and squandering the national reserves without apology?

Graciousness is when one takes the mantle of speaking for the poor. Graciousness is when one ensures the senior generation that helped built this nation are taken care of.

Finally, graciousness' antonym is selfishness. Can the PAP truly say that they have not been selfish and put their interests before the peoples'?

Sheesh! Talking through both sides of the mouth seems like a talent, doesn't it?

Cheers,

MentisMortis