• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FAPee Dogs Blame Flooding on Bontanic Garden Now + Wants Sporns to Move On!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=452><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Published June 18, 2010
c.gif

</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Flood mystery solved; retailers pick up the pieces
Culvert near Delfi Orchard blocked up by Botanic Gardens vegetation, litter

By UMA SHANKARI AND FELDA CHAY
(SINGAPORE) The culprit behind the Orchard Road flash flood that may have caused millions of dollars of damage has been pin-pointed - a drain choked by vegetation at Tanglin.

<TABLE class=picBoxL cellSpacing=2 width=100 align=left><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR class=caption><TD>Clearance job: Workers loading a truck with discarded items in Orchard yesterday. Many outlets say that they are still assessing damage </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>The enclosed drain, or culvert, near Delfi Orchard diverts water from Nassim and Cuscaden roads into two sections of Stamford Canal which run along Orchard Road.
The heavy build-up of debris (vegetation from the Singapore Botanic Gardens and elsewhere as well as litter) in the culvert caused the heavy rainwater on Wednesday to be diverted into only one section of the canal. The overworked lone canal section then overflowed, causing rainwater to overflow onto Orchard Road, said PUB yesterday.
PUB revealed this after a thorough investigation. The agency will now install more litter traps in the open sections of drains from Singapore Botanic Gardens all the way down to Tanglin to trap debris carried into the drains during a downpour.
More water level sensors will also be installed along Stamford Canal for closer monitoring of unusual water levels.
PUB also said that Stamford Canal's capacity was adequate as the water was not in danger of overflowing after the two canal sections rejoin near Somerset.
Rather, the flood was caused by heavy rain that brought along with it a lot of vegetation, said Yap Kheng Guan, director of the PUB's 3P Network department. The department oversees the strategic communications and community relations efforts for PUB.
'There were two bursts of very heavy, intense rainfall. The first peak may have brought in some vegetation which could have been trapped inside the culvert. And the second peak came along, brought in more vegetation and caused more debris to be trapped.'
Almost 100 mm of rain - more than 60 per cent of the monthly average for June - fell between 9am and 11am on Wednesday. This caused flood water as deep as 30cm deep at the junction of Orchard and Scotts roads, which last saw major flooding in 1984. Businesses may be hit with millions of dollars in damage and lost sales as water seeped into building basements and stores.
Yesterday, affected businesses at badly hit properties such as Lucky Plaza, Liat Towers, Tong Building and Delfi Orchard started taking stock of the damage after water was pumped out on Wednesday.
A few re-opened for business. McDonald's at Lucky Plaza opened its doors to fast food fans at 8.30 am yesterday after clean-up was carried out overnight.
But others remained closed. Fast food restaurant Wendy's said that losses are likely to stand at more than half a million dollars 'from damaged equipment and physical infrastructure, not including perishable items'.
The franchise, operating under the Kopitiam Group here, also said that its other two stores at Lau Pa Sat and Jurong Point would open for 24 hours from today till July 12. It will be deploying staff originally stationed at Liat Towers to Jurong Point, and Lau Pa Sat.
Said Kopitiam managing director Alden Tan: 'We hope to make the best out of a bad situation.'
Hermès, Massimo Dutti and Starbucks said that they were still assessing damage. At Hermès, staff on Wednesday managed to save the French label's luxury goods by quickly forming a human chain and moving the merchandise from the first level to the second.
'But while our products escaped unscathed, the walls, window decoration, furniture and furnishings were badly damaged,' said a spokeswoman. 'Restoration will take some time as a substantial portion of the fittings have to be imported. We are presently in consultation with our insurers. As of now, we cannot confirm when the store will reopen.'
Like Hermès, other affected businesses - and owners of motor vehicles stuck in the floods - are expected to seek some form of compensation. Insurers told BT that claims are filtering in.
'MSIG has received notification of several claims following yesterday's Orchard Road floods. These relate to property and motor vehicle damage,' said a spokeswoman for MSIG Insurance. 'It is too early to estimate the total number of claims we will receive or the estimated payout. This is because those insured who have suffered losses need time to report claims.'
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

So basically, what the PAP is saying is that they did not clear or clean the culvert often enough, dispite the immense budget and pay available to them. They FUCKING COULDN'T PAY $40 AND GET AN FT BANGLA WORKER TO SPEND 2 HOURS TO CLEAR THE CULVERT, AND THE RESULT IS $MILLION LOSSES. In other countries, the minister responsible would have been sacked/resigned/or commit hara kiri. Fucking PAP.

That is other countries...this is UNIQUELY, YOUR sinGAPORE!

I don't understand why the culverts are cleaned on a fixed schedule. I think some NEA spokesman said once every 3 months. Logic will dictate that during the monsoon months you must clean more often, right? Also, these fuckers don't consult the weather forecasts or what? If forecast calls for rain the next 3 days, you better go and make sure the fucking culverts are all cleared now, before the rain starts right? Is it too logical or is Yacock too stupid? Install more cameras for fuck? So, they can film the flooding in more details and masturbate to it later on? When it's not raining, is it so difficult to find a menial labourer, give him a gloves, a rake and a garbage bag, crawl inside the culvert near Botanic Gardens, make sure all the debris is cleared up? It cost what? $20 in labour? Can do 5 days a week also and still worth it. Fucking PAP take million dollars salaries to sit there and jerk off.

The news article said that the blockage is partly caused by litter. I just want to ask the Minister Yacock one question. Who is the likely one to litter the most? The native born singaporean indoctrinated since birth not to litter and fined heavily when caught? Or the recently imported FT trash like from India and PRC who treat the streets like a personal garbage dump? CAN WE NOW BLAME THIS FLOOD ON FTS? YES!!!!

Rubbish in the drain, there you have it, mystery solved, let's move on and continue taking my big fat bonus without shame.

Same for SMRT CEO

Same for Wong KS, who is now on paid holiday in China.

Same for Ho Jinx for loosing billions of other people's money

This is Singapore. You want to clean out all the rotten apple, start by voting them out.

Fucking PAP take million dollars salaries to sit there and jerk off.

1. bro, just one word for it: complacent man!
2. oh! yes, sheepishland has the best stuffs & calibre in the world.

demolish ze botanical gardens! ...

iz taken up 2 much xpensif land anyway ...

Oh, I have moved on already.
Away from them.

I don't understand why the culverts are cleaned on a fixed schedule. I think some NEA spokesman said once every 3 months. Logic will dictate that during the monsoon months you must clean more often, right? Also, these fuckers don't consult the weather forecasts or what? If forecast calls for rain the next 3 days, you better go and make sure the fucking culverts are all cleared now, before the rain starts right? Is it too logical or is Yacock too stupid? Install more cameras for fuck? So, they can film the flooding in more details and masturbate to it later on? When it's not raining, is it so difficult to find a menial labourer, give him a gloves, a rake and a garbage bag, crawl inside the culvert near Botanic Gardens, make sure all the debris is cleared up? It cost what? $20 in labour? Can do 5 days a week also and still worth it. Fucking PAP take million dollars salaries to sit there and jerk off.

And it's doubtful if they they also ensure the subcons do their job. The OVERPAID FAT CAT CIVIL SERPENTS probably just outsource the job away to their kakis and wash their hands off completely and kiao kar everyday.

This should not have happened after the big one at Bt Timah recently if they really had woken up and did their job. Instead an even bigger and more damaging flood came about. Any more doubt that as long as the CCB FAPee Traitors are not held accountable despite being the BEST PAID in the world, nothing will change? In fact, it would only get worse!

Till now the CCB Yaboob is still hiding and pushing his kakias to take the rap.

The bottom line is cost - PAP style. Just like not wanting to install door gate along the open platform of MRT line until everyone started to fall down than they realised they made mistake. Same here, not wanting to conduct regular check for choked drain because of cost even thought bangala is damned dirt cheap. I wonder if MRT depot also faced similar cost issue of not being able to conduct regular check along the depot. Who suffer? Of course not the highest paid ministers in the world but those peasansts living in 3rd world Sink-a-pore.

wahlaneh...
now blame trees n leaves liao ah?
they keep hacking those trees away no wonder so much flood lah.
by the way, the word "orchard" means "fruit plantation" u know?

And it's doubtful if they they also ensure the subcons do their job. The OVERPAID FAT CAT CIVIL SERPENTS probably just outsource the job away to their kakis and wash their hands off completely and kiao kar everyday.

I think there is something much deeper here. We have to examine how the PUB awards the subcontractors. Obviously, the job is not done. But why? Is the PUB in bed with the subcontractors? i.e. I give you some kopi money and u give me the contract, and after that u just bo chap what I do.

Rubbish in the drain, there you have it, mystery solved, let's move on and continue taking my big fat bonus without shame.

Same for SMRT CEO

Same for Wong KS, who is now on paid holiday in China.

Same for Ho Jinx for loosing billions of other people's money

This is Singapore. You want to clean out all the rotten apple, start by voting them out.

This is corruption right? Take money for doing nothing. Or demand more money for doing your job badly.

The bottom line is cost - PAP style. Just like not wanting to install door gate along the open platform of MRT line until everyone started to fall down than they realised they made mistake. Same here, not wanting to conduct regular check for choked drain because of cost even thought bangala is damned dirt cheap. I wonder if MRT depot also faced similar cost issue of not being able to conduct regular check along the depot. Who suffer? Of course not the highest paid ministers in the world but those peasansts living in 3rd world Sink-a-pore.

The PAP style is to make money for all their enterprises. They treat govt. as a for profit org. In other words maximize profits by raising prices eg MRT, fees here and there, ERP etc. but at the same time reduce cost as you pointed above. The only constant is their lack of accountability and acceptance of responsibility and their ability to pay themselves very well.

This is Mafia, They extort money from you, control everything under the sun that make money, intimidate you so you live in fear.
And the God Father is usually a very old man.

This is corruption right? Take money for doing nothing. Or demand more money for doing your job badly.

This should not have happened after the big one at Bt Timah recently if they really had woken up and did their job. Instead an even bigger and more damaging flood came about. Any more doubt that as long as the CCB FAPee Traitors are not held accountable despite being the BEST PAID in the world, nothing will change? In fact, it would only get worse!

Till now the CCB Yaboob is still hiding and pushing his kakias to take the rap.

U hear from every tom dick and harry kakia, but never from any PAP ministers. Yacock is full of shit. He is busy getting sodomized somewhere. Is Anwar in town?